We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain Park Inn to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Most rooms in this hotel are at some distance from the lobby, but there are side entrances for carrying luggage and so on. Our room was spacious and clean, and had a separate door into the adjoining room where our friends stayed, and that was convenient.
Breakfast was not included, so we walked down to the Egg and I where breakfast was plentiful and inexpensive. A nice surprise was a herd of 11 elks wandering around the hotel one morning, not distracted by onlookers nor cars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We offer one of the best locations in Estes Park, being just three blocks from downtown and the riverwalk, as well as being across the street from the Lake Estes 4 mile loop trail. Please visit us again and be sure to take advantage of our winter Buy One Get One 75% off special through May 2013.

Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    136
    132
    41
    33
See reviews for
132
142
21
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We had a king sized bed. The pilows or pillow etts are too small for my giant head. Get some real pillows. The bartender is really slow. We booked through Expedia so we did not get the breakfast voucher. That sucked.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. Please visit us again and book directly with our hotel to receive free daily breakfast. Most hotel chains reward direct bookings with extra perks such as reward points, etc, while we offer a free daily hot breakfast in our restaurant. We will be upgrading our pillows in 2013, as well, but we always offer a pillow menu so you are welcome to upgrade to down pillows, neck pillows, etc during your stay.

Thank you and hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, CO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Not a bad place to stay. The room was good-sized and clean; bed was moderately comfortable. Toiletries are high quality although towels are slightly skimpy and scratchy, but they were spotlessly white. It was quiet enough; I never did hear other room doors slam. Heater was loud and difficult to adjust with any precision, but it could warm up the room quickly. Inside corridors are a bit dingy but at least they're warm. Pool area looked clean. Staff was always pleasant. Plenty of free parking. I was there for a conference but would stay there if in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the many kudos in your review and hope to see you again soon! We offer our Buy One Get One 75% Off special all winter, so please be sure to come back and enjoy all that Estes Park has to offer!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Attractive, older, well-maintained facility . Our second floor room was spacious, clean, comfortable, and quiet. Breakfast was NOT included, although there is a restaurant onsite. We choose to drive three blocks to McDonald's for breakfast, then got Subway sandwiches nearby, and in just 15 min we were in Rocky Mtn Nat'l Park viewing some magnificent bull elk. Later we enjoyed our delicious lunch at a scenic overlook, before heading back to the hotel hot-tub.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to see you enjoyed our clean hotel and our wildlife-filled town! We include breakfast when booking directly with our hotel via our website. Please return again soon!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We recently stayed here for two nights and will definitely be back! We had a quiet room on the third floor. Its an older hotel, but very clean, big room, nice size bathroom & at a great location. We had a king size bed & the mattress was nice & comfortable. It was cold out & the room had a great heater. The hotel has a big parking area that was well lit & we felt very safe coming in late at night. There seemed to be three seperate buildings with seperate entrances. We had a secure entry door that you use your room key to unlock the glass door into the building.. Its very near the downtown area with restaurants nearby. We saw the elks at the lake across the road & even had a huge elk in our parking lot the morning we were leaving. Very much enjoyed this hotel & looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Hello:

Thak you for your feedback. I'm pleased to see you enjoyed your stay and your big, comfortable room. Estes Park has Colorado's most watchable wildlfe, so I'm glad you spotted lots of wildlife on your trip, including in our own parking lot! Please visit again and be sure to take advantage our Buy One, Get One 75% Off special through this spring.

Thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here last week on our first trip to Rocky Mountain National Park. The hotel is convenient to downtown Estes Park, close to the walking path around the lake and to the river walk path that skirts shops in town. The hotel itself is sprawling (it is a conference center as well) but once inside there are passageways that allow one to get from a far-flung room (like ours) to the lobby without going outside. The room was comfortable and very clean. My only issue was the bathroom did not have an exhaust fan so it got very steamy. Despite being close to a parking area (first floor on the wing in the back of the property) we rarely heard others. The interior pool and hot tub setup were great, we used the hot tub several times, but the workout room was small and equipment (tv included) needs upgrading. No breakfast included, and the coffee provided in rooms and in the lobby was quite weak. Overall, we got what we paid for and were satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased that you saw the value in your stay as we are typically 50-100% less expensive than the other two full service hotels in town. Breakfast is included when booking directly through our hotel website.

Thank you and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is my first time to Estes Park, CO. We have one more night at The Rocky Mountain Park Inn, wish we had a few more day! We've been travelling with our small dog, and located our lodging via Priceline.com. I cannot say enough about our experience! Since we have our dog, we were placed on the first floor, which is great, as there is a nice dog area just outside our room! Our room itself is more than adequate. We have a room with double beds, after a long day of hiking, perfect comfort!

Each and every staff member that we have been in contact with, were more than accomodating.

Since we've done a bit of hiking, it would have been nice to have a frig/small kitchen. But we are not complaining, as we have a cooler and have had nice picnics!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad to see you that you noticed our terrific staff. We all love living in Estes Park and hosting visitors from around the world. We're happy to be pet friendly with a nominal $15 nightly fee.

Please visit us again soon!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#10 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 796 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#21 of 28 in Estes Park
3.0 of 5 stars 246 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#17 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Address: 101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Park Inn is a 100% nonsmoking hotel with everything under one roof! Enjoy free high speed wireless Internet access throughout our hotel and pets are welcome on our first floor with a $15 nightly fee. We are the only ISO 14001 (environmentally friendly) certified green hotel in Estes Park and have a recycling bin in every room. Located just 3 blocks from downtown & the riverwalk, and surrounded by two national treasures, Rocky Mountain Nat. Park. and Roosevelt Nat. Forest. With no mountain passes to cross, Estes Park's ideal location ensures an easy winter or summer 60-mile drive from metro Denver and Denver International Airport, yet we're only minutes from world-class hiking, biking, rock climbing, and fishing. Adjacent to the Estes Park Conference Center and directly across the street from the 4 mile long concrete trail surrounding Lake Estes, we offer amenities such as a large indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and LongZ - A Mountain Grill. Enjoy indoor climbing gyms, snow tubing, sledding, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and plenty of nearby wildlife watching in the winter. Summer brings scooter, boat, & bike rentals, as well as National Park Tours, mini-golf/go-carts, aerial tramway, fishing and rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Rocky Mountain Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Park Hotel Estes Park
Holiday Inn Estes Park
Estes Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.