We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation in the Rockies” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Carmel, Indiana
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Family Vacation in the Rockies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Nice place and kids loved the pool and hot tub. Friendly and helpful front desk staff. Clean rooms and very quick on providing a roll-out bed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate Estes Park's largest pool and newest hot tub! Hopefully you'll return again this summer and enjoy our free afternoon beer and wine reception daily from 3:30-5pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. You can also enjoy a free $20 breakfast buffet credit simply by booking a qualifying rate directly through us!

Thanks and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    98
    92
    25
    20
See reviews for
90
102
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leawood, Kansas
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Basically we experienced the same problems as the previous reviews. The room was dirty & smelled. The carpet in the room was gross. The hallways to the rooms are grim, outdated, and hot. I know they claim they are a "green" hotel, but seriously 2 bath towels for a family of 5. You should not need to call for a proper number of towels, this should always be included with your room. When you are on vacation it's nice to have a hassle free stay. We were not impressed with the breakfast at all. They had a very small selection on the buffet. The lower building did have a very, very strong chlorine smell, which gave me a headache after a bit of time.Lots and lots of noisy young adults, especially at the pool.

I know one thing for certain, we will never stay in this hotel again. Maybe the manager needs to stop responding to every complaint with an excuse ... and maybe put a little energy and money into fixing up this place and giving it a good cleaning!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I agree, your room should have had more than two towels and that surprised me, as well. The newest hotel in town is 14 years old and costs twice as much as ours, and most properties in this seasonal town are our age or older. Our last full renovation was in 2005, but we've had many, many updates just last year including new 32" LCD TV's in every room. Your complaint regarding your room and carpet are not descriptive enough to address, however, our rooms are cleaned by one person, and inspected by another to catch anything with a new set of eyes. Our carpeting cleaning is done on a constantly revolving, routine schedule. The hallway carpeting and wall treatments are barely one year old. The pool area is very large and and our pool is treated with chlorine, which tends to smell like....chlorine. It is in its own enclosed and vented space. Our pool is frequented by families with kids, and kids can be loud when they're having fun. Our buffet consists of scrambled eggs, sausage, country potatoes, bacon, pancakes or french toast, biscuits and gravy, quite a variety of fresh sliced fruit, a variety of pastries, bagels, english muffins, four types of bread, etc. We are not a Golden Corral if that's what you are looking for, but offer quite a bit for $9.75pp INCLUDING your choice of beverage and this is FREE with a direct hotel reservation.

I hope my response was factual and without excuses. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Although the Lonely Planet says that Estes Park has turned into the kind of place you’ll need to escape from, we liked it.

We made our reservation through internet and when we arrived at the hotel which, by the way, is a little bit away from the center and so it is advisable to take the car to reach it, we found it too be bigger than expected. The parking lot, for example, is very big. And we don’t know if it is because the hotel is big and has many rooms and many guests but the polite and correct reception we received was quite impersonal though.

Then, when we went to the room in one of the hotel’s wings, we were also surprised to find some pieces of paper on the corridor’s floor. Fortunately the cleanliness of the room was better. This was welcoming and pleasant (I’m attaching 2 pictures), it was spacious enough, beds were comfortable and the furniture was nice. However it was not as well equipped as other places we had stay before because, although it is true that there was a nice and modern flat-screen TV, there was neither refrigerator, nor microwave.
What we really liked was that the room had a bin to recycle glass, aluminium, steel, newspapers, office paper, cardboard, magazines and plastic. This is a fantastic idea and it would be great if other hotels copy it!

As mentioned above, this is a big place and has several facilities like a big indoor pool, a fitness, 2 guest computers free of charge and a restaurant. Let me mention that apparently we experienced a misunderstanding precisely in it because, although we had booked the room using a travel website, we had anyway the impression that our booking included the breakfast. That’s why we happily had breakfast although, to be honest, one of us only ate 1 toast and drank 1 cup of tea. Therefore we were quite surprised to find out that the breakfast was not included in our resevation and, even more surprised, that for 1 toast and 1 cup of tea we were also charged the price of a full breakfast. Obviously I went to the reception to clarify what it could had been a confusion from my side and they told me that the breakfast was indeed not included in the price if the booking had been made through a travel website.
Honestly I could not prove that our reservation included the breakfast because the printed copy I had with me didn’t mention it. However, other hotel reservations we had done before using a travel website did include a compliementary breakfast although the printed copy of our reservation didn’t specify it (the Val-U Inn, in Missoula, is an example). Therefore I’m still confused and therefore I would suggest you to always double-check if your reservation in this hotel includes the breakfast.

Considering then our experience, we definitely recommend this place because it is good. However, if we ever come back to Estes Park, we will probably try another one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hello:

Thank you very much for your feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and our "green" qualities that no other lodging in Estes offers. Since the first of the year, we began offering a free, daily $20 breakfast credit and Estes Park's latest check out time when booking directly with us, as well as Estes Park's only summer afternoon beer and wine reception - all free! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Pros- clean, centrally located to park and town, friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hello:

Thank you very much for your kind review! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay so much, and you visited at such a great time of year for Estes Park! We look forward to hosting you again this year.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Great place to stay. Convent location. Great staff. We recieved daily perks like free breakfast and cocktail hour. didn't use the pool or hot tub but it looked nice and clean. Only thing that could have been better for the price, of free in room fridge was included.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, especially our terrific staff! We know you have many lodging choices and ways to book online, and we very much appreciate your business. I'm glad you booked directly with our hotel and received a $20 credit towards our breakfast buffet. We also offer a complimentary daily afternoon beer and wine reception from 3:30-5pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. Coupled with Estes Park's best location, free wi-fi, and our no deposit & friendly cancellation policy, you'll enjoy another future stay with us!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, GA
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

The pool is the reason to stay here. It's indoors, it's clean and it's a ton of fun for the kids after a long day of hiking. Get up really early and walk across the street to the trail running through the golf course. You will see a whole bunch of Elk. The hotel was quiet at night. Our room was small and typical for the rate. Our view was worthless but we weren't in the room long enough for it to matter. It's a longer walk to town than some of the other hotel/motels, but it's not that far and te sidewalks are nice. Plus the pool makes up for that.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully you'll return again this summer and enjoy our free afternoon beer and wine reception daily from 3:30-5pm Memorial Day to Labor Day. Our bar has fantastic specials every day in summer. You can also enjoy a free $20 breakfast buffet credit simply by booking a qualifying rate directly through us!

We know you have a choice of lodging in Estes Park, and we thank you very much for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is no frills, and hasn't been updated in decades. But if you are like me, then you just want your hotel as a place to crash after a busy fun day! The location is great to both the rest of town, and easy to make a quick escape. The rooms are clean, smell fresh and the pool area is big with a nice hot tub. The staff behind the counter were so nice and helpful. Would definitely go back for the great value!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and our tremendous value! Our hotel was fully renovated just seven years ago, with very good public area updates just last year. All rooms have new 32" LCD TV's and our hot tub is also new. Of the three full service hotels in town, we are by far the most reasonable, we're air-conditioned, offer free wi-fi, interior corridors, no deposits and easy cancellation policy, free wine and beer each afternoon, and include a $20 breakfast credit with each direct booking. No other lodging in town can match us!

Hope to see you back soon!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Address: 101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Park Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Park Inn is a 100% nonsmoking hotel with everything under one roof! Enjoy free high speed wireless Internet access throughout our hotel and pets are welcome on our first floor with a $15 nightly fee. We are the only ISO 14001 (environmentally friendly) certified green hotel in Estes Park and have a recycling bin in every room. Located just 3 blocks from downtown & the riverwalk, and surrounded by two national treasures, Rocky Mountain Nat. Park. and Roosevelt Nat. Forest. With no mountain passes to cross, Estes Park's ideal location ensures an easy winter or summer 60-mile drive from metro Denver and Denver International Airport, yet we're only minutes from world-class hiking, biking, rock climbing, and fishing. Adjacent to the Estes Park Conference Center and directly across the street from the 4 mile long concrete trail surrounding Lake Estes, we offer amenities such as a large indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and LongZ - A Mountain Grill. Enjoy indoor climbing gyms, snow tubing, sledding, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and plenty of nearby wildlife watching in the winter. Summer brings scooter, boat, & bike rentals, as well as National Park Tours, mini-golf/go-carts, aerial tramway, fishing and rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Rocky Mountain Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Park Hotel Estes Park
Holiday Inn Estes Park
Estes Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.