We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable & Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain Park Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Thornton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Affordable & Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

It is very difficult to book a hotel under 21, & even more difficult to get the same service as others because of our age. After a lot of effort to look for a nice and affordable hotel in Estes Park, I settled on RMPI. I was a little wary because, our party of 3 was made up of 20 year olds. The very friendly lady at the front desk had us sign and confirm that we won't do any damage to the property or have a party. However, after doing that our experience was great. The staff was extremely friendly and even the other guests we talked to seemed very happy with their reservation. We booked the room one night on our way to Steamboat. The room was nice and quiet however I wish they could've been cleaner.(Keep in mind that I am a clean freak.) A couple of rooms overlook the indoor pool, so make sure you ask about noise in those rooms or those might be a good choice for guests with children. I will definitely recommend to anyone traveling to Estes Park & will book again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for you feedback. I'm pleased that you were able to secure accomodations with us with minimal fuss. Our reservation process is also the most liberal in Estes Park, with no deposits required, 6pm day of arrival cancellation policy, and no credit card needed to reserve a room. Booking directly via our hotel also includes a free $20 daily breakfast credit for use in our lobby restaurant, Longz Mountain Grill. Come back next summer when you turn 21 and you can enjoy our free afternoon beer and wine reception, too!

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Estes!

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    93
    87
    20
    18
See reviews for
78
99
12
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
VT
Top Contributor
256 reviews 256 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Nice enough property but not special except for the service. All the people answering the phone were super. Saw a refrigerator in the hall and asked if it was available for use. The sent one to our room, arrived in ten minutes. Can-do staff. Property dated but fine. Good location relative to both the national park and to downtown. Elk in front yard!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, especially Estes Park's best staff! We are pleased to offer a daily $20 breakfast buffet credit and noon check out if you book directly with our hotel, and we also offer a complimentary daily afternoon beer and wine reception from 3:30-5pm thorugh Labor Day. We do have a terrific location with easy access to downtown Estes Park, the riverwalk, and Lake Estes. Please visit us again as we're the only hotel in town to offer so many amenities, and all under one roof!

Thank you and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We recently spent two nights at the Rocky Mountain Park Inn and were very satisfied! Our check in went very smooth, we requested a refrigerator (which you can rent for $5 per day) and as soon as we arrived to our room it arrived and then a follow up phone call to make sure we had received it. Our room was very large and so quiet we never heard a thing. The hotel is a old building but kept very clean. As we were leaving there was a elk in the parking lot. We ate breakfast there and it was fantastic! If you make your reservation directly through them (800) 803-7837 or www.RockyMountainParkInn.com you will receive a coupon for free breakfast. We also ate at the lounge area and had the Colorado burger and it was the best hamburger I have ever had. Our stay was perfect and we will be returning again!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We're all very pleased to see that you were very happy with your stay, restaurant quality, and our excellent staff! I hope you were also able to take advantage of our free afternoon beer and wine reception. We are one of three full service hotels in Estes Park, and we are at least $100 per night cheaper than either of them, so I am glad you chose to stay with us!. Please visit us again very soon.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while visiting RMNP. It was definitely convenient to the park - about a 5 minute drive. It is convenient to town as well and there is a nice walking path that goes directly to the main street. It is probably about a 1/2 mile or less.
The front desk was friendly and willing to answer questions. The room was very simple, but clean.
The rooms could use some "updating" as I see others have noted - the bedding is updated. I personally didn't consider it a big deal - a room is a room as long as it's clean.
Overall, I would recommend this hotel to a traveler looking for a reasonably priced room near the park.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Hello:

Hello:

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate our terrific location and staff! Hopefully you'll return once again this summer and enjoy our afternoon beer and wine reception daily from 3:30-5pm through Labor Day. You can also enjoy a free $20 breakfast buffet credit year-round simply by booking a qualifying rate directly through us! We're the ONLY hotel in Estes offering such fantastic amenities!

Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

I booked through Priceline and got a double queen room for $63 a night. Amazing.

This aging hotel is kid-friendly and pet-friendly and perfectly located for visits to Rocky Mountain National Park. Apparently it's simply out of fashion, because this is a lovely hotel with a great staff. Parking is ample and if you don't want to chance the restaurant, you can walk to man street and its rather oppressive noise and eateries.

I ate in the hotel's restaurant twice, and was surprised by the quality. The menu is limited but inventive -- and brave. Eating shrimp in the Rockies isn't always wise, but my meal was brilliant. The Inn also has a cozy bar frequented by friendly locals and NPS staff. It's altogether charming.

I saw eagles heading to Estes Lake from my room, at sunset. My room was immaculate. The wifi was great, except until peak time, but what the hell. I loved my stay.

My only quibble was the fight for the solo elevator for four flours -- that got a bit crowded over the peak times. C'est la vie. Still great.

Please tip housekeeping at Rocky Mountain Inn: they keep the place immaculate.

Room Tip: Higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for feedback! I couldn't be more pleased with your opinon of our value, accomodations, and excellent staff! Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a warm and thorough review. Our entire staff was very excited to read about your fantastic experience. Please visit us again and remember we offer a free $20 breakfast credit for hotel-direct bookings and we offer a free beer and wine reception every afternoon from 3:30-5pm.

Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

It's hard to say this place is great and it is hard to say this place isn't nice. Would I stay there again, maybe. Would I recommend to a friend, yes with caveats. It is an older hotel with very friendly staff. The room was available early. The room was CLEAN! The bathroom was clean, too. Parking is ample and free. The wi-fi worked just fine as did the air conditioner. You really need a hotel with a/c as it was in the 90s in early June when we were there. The bed was comfortable and lots of pillows.

Looked at the pool and the family in there seemed to be enjoying themselves. No zero entry, but it's a big pool. There really isn't any outdoor seating area to enjoy the views. Didn't go to the restaurant or the lounge; so, I can't comment. They do offer a free drink in the afternoons.

I booked via Hotwire and got a reasonable rate. It's a great location with friendly and helpful staff. You really don't spend much time in a hotel room when Rocky Mountain National Park beckons you.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us! Hopefully you'll be able to return again this summer and enjoy our free afternoon beer and wine reception daily from 3:30-5pm through Labor Day. Our bar has fantastic specials every day in summer. You can also enjoy a free $20 breakfast buffet credit simply by booking a qualifying rate directly through us! Wi-fi is free and available in all guest rooms and public areas.

We know you have a choice of lodging in Estes Park, and we thank you very much for your business.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg, FL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is well located for anyone planning to visit Rocky Mountain National Park. We booked our room on Hotwire and got a good rate. Free parking. Very good free Wi-Fi. Hotel is older and shows some wear. Air conditioned (which is not the case with all mountain hotels). Has an elevator. They have a free happy hour in the afternoon, which we did not attend. Breakfast was buffet-style, $10 each and was just so-so. Service was very good. Staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and our terrific location. Often times, when you end up at our hotel through Hotwire (there's no guarantee you will) we have the very best rate in town among any 1, 2, 3, or 4 star hotel in the valley! Our free summer afternoon reception runs through Labor Day each day from 3:30-5pm, so I hope you are able to visit once again very soon!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Mountain Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Address: 101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Park Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Park Inn is a 100% nonsmoking hotel with everything under one roof! Enjoy free high speed wireless Internet access throughout our hotel and pets are welcome on our first floor with a $15 nightly fee. We are the only ISO 14001 (environmentally friendly) certified green hotel in Estes Park and have a recycling bin in every room. Located just 3 blocks from downtown & the riverwalk, and surrounded by two national treasures, Rocky Mountain Nat. Park. and Roosevelt Nat. Forest. With no mountain passes to cross, Estes Park's ideal location ensures an easy winter or summer 60-mile drive from metro Denver and Denver International Airport, yet we're only minutes from world-class hiking, biking, rock climbing, and fishing. Adjacent to the Estes Park Conference Center and directly across the street from the 4 mile long concrete trail surrounding Lake Estes, we offer amenities such as a large indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and LongZ - A Mountain Grill. Enjoy indoor climbing gyms, snow tubing, sledding, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and plenty of nearby wildlife watching in the winter. Summer brings scooter, boat, & bike rentals, as well as National Park Tours, mini-golf/go-carts, aerial tramway, fishing and rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Rocky Mountain Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Park Hotel Estes Park
Holiday Inn Estes Park
Estes Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.