We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So so!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain Park Inn to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Pierce, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So so!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Good hotel only a short distance from town and amenities are very good. Clean and comfortable! Love the indoor pool and hot tub. CON: the front desk is against answering their phone. On my way there I tried 10 times to get ahold of them to get times for the restraunt. Then when I am there I check in, have a 3 year old daughter, get to my room and keys don't work. Got luggage and a child that needs to go potty and a room key on the 3rd floor to a door that don't work. 25 minutes and 15 calls later they answer while I'm running around trying to find a restroom for my daughter. So case and point, poor customer service!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, April 6, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for your keys not working, and the front desk staff not being prompt in answering your call. We (as with all of Estes Park) had an exceptionally busy spring break, and have since added more hotel staff to eliminate future issues. I hope you and your kids were able to enjoy Estes Park's largest and deepest indoor pool, 1pm check out, new 10 person hot tub, fitness center, restaurant & lounge, and hopefully booked directly through our hotel and received a $20 restaurant breakfast credit. We hope you'll try us again on a future visit to beautiful Estes Park!

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    128
    124
    35
    31
See reviews for
120
135
21
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

The location of this hotel was very good, literally 1-2 miles from everything. The staff was very nice. Upon arrival to the hotel, realized the TV wasn't working properly, we went back down to the office to let them know and there was someone there to fix it before we could even bring our bags up to our 4th floor room. It was pretty quiet, as it is not super busy this time of year. The only complaints I have are that there was no refrigerator or microwave in the room (I realize there is a restaurant downstairs, but it's a little on the pricy side and we brought our own drinks and popcorn for watching a movie at night), the towels are pretty rough and the toilet paper is pretty much the equivalent of wiping with newspaper. I wouldn't mind staying here again if I got a good deal, but I would also like to check out other hotels next time.

Room Tip: We had a room on the top floor. I prefer top floor rooms so you don't have to deal with heavy wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, March 15, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased that you enjoyed our terrific location with easy access to downtown Estes Park and Lake Estes. We do offer fridge rentals for only $5 should you need one, however, our terric restaurant offers wonderful meals for you - right under the same roof or in the comfort of your room. Our all-you-can-eat breakfast buffet is only $9.75 including your choice of beverage which we think is a terrific value. Our menu prices are quite camparable to others in Estes. You are always welcome to let us know of any floor you prefer to stay on. Being a green certified hotel, our amenities usually consist of all natural or 100% recycled materials. We hope to see you once again on your next trip to Estes Park!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Called ahead to reserve a room,called again within minutes and decided to change it to a poolside room. This is were the trouble began. We arrived, our reservation had not been changed, the room was not ready and the staff was unable to tell me how long it would be until it was ready so we just decided on a regular room, hauled all our stuff in up to the 2nd floor, tried to get in our room and it was already occupied. Hauled all our stuff back down and had to wait quite a long time to fix the problem and get a room.We were road weary and not in the best of moods at this point. However they knocked $30 off the room and we had breakfast on the house, and the front desk girls were very friendly and apologized profusely. The room said 2 queens but they were full sized beds, it was alittle cramped for our family but we did sleep well. Wait staff in dining room was awful and the breakfast buffet wasn't even warm...but hey it was free right? Too bad for those paying for it though! Of course we wake to find the bill under the door had not been adjusted to reflect the discount, I called down and gave them a heads up. Went down to check out hours later and the bill still had not been adjusted and this caused another LONG drawn out ordeal....The front desk staff, aIthough very nice, needs more training...I was definately ready to leave!

Room Tip: Call ahead and then call again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback. We certainly regret the human error at check in time that you encountered. It appears that you made your reservation for two double beds (we have no queens - your emailed confirmation should show your booking of two doubles) at 12:25pm on 2/19 and it was changed to a poolside room at 12:50pm the same day. Since you arrived before check in time, our Guest Services Representative tried to accomodate you in another room type and committed the room error you mention. Due to the error, you received prompt attention, apologies, and a belated promised room credit from a couple of wonderful ladies. I hope you enjoyed your stay once you were settled in and took advantage of our free wi-fi, indoor pool, hot tub, and 1pm check out. We hope you'll try us once again in the future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Planned a last minute trip. Called a head of time to request a quiet room. The staff was very kind and the woman hooked me up! I highly recommend that you stay in room 250 or 350. Thise are the best rooms. The room was very nice..modern and clean and it was quiet. The only thing is the eggs in the mroning were kind of gross but I will stay at thhis hotel every time I go to Estes. The staff works hard and I appreciate too that they are a "green" friendly hotel. That is rare. But, request either of those rooms..and enjoy the pool. Great for kids..My 9 year old played for hours with other kids that were also staying there. Enjoy!

Room Tip: room 250 or 350
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, February 22, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback and recognizing our hard working staff. You were here on a very busy weekend when everyone was giving 120%. Our unique "L" shaped rooms are a great choice and I'm glad you enjoyed our most popular amenity, our 25'x50' 9 feet deep indoor pool!

We hope to see you again soon on your next Estes Park getaway!

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

The hotel was very clean and the staff was very nice. It had the wonderful smell of a cabin lit by a fireplace. It was very warm and cozy. Had a great pool and the food in the restaurant was delish. When I vacation to the Rocky's again, I am booking my room here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Hello:

Thank you very much for your kind review! We're very happy you enjoyed your stay so much, and you visited at such a great time of year for Estes Park! We look forward to hosting you again this year.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We went to Estes Park during off-season. This hotel, which used to be a Holiday Inn, offered a BOGO deal - first night regular price, second night 75% off - which you can only get if you call them directly. They have a huge indoor pool and a nice, 10-person hot tub. In the same area, there are pool tables and foosball. There's a nice fitness center too. It's now a Forever Resort - recycling bins in each room and other eco-friendly touches. The room was very clean, the bed was perfection, Wolfgang Puck coffee provided.Toiletries were luxurious. Nice 32 inch flat screen and a big choice of cable stations.The staff was very kind and helpful in many ways. Close to downtown, across from the fairgrounds where Estes hosts lots of events throughout the year. The Estes Park Conference center is attached to the hotel.

The only negative we experienced is that the kitchen was undergoing some work, so the dinner menu was limited and we were served on sturdy paper plates. The breakfast buffet, including omeletes, was very good though. The work should be done within a week or so.

We will definitely return at least once more this winter or early spring.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st/2nd floor in main building by the pool will be noisy, and I could smell chlorine in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Hello:

Thank you very much for your very kind words and noticing just about everything that makes our property unique and a great choice for lodging in Estes Park. On your next visit, please be sure to visit our website for more deals including the Buy One Get One 75% Off offer you took advantage of!

Thanks and see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

A very good location for easy of getting around town let alone going to RMNP. Check in was smooth and easy and we asked about restuarants and she was very helpful. Gave us maps and suggestions. The building is probably 1970's Holiday Innish but VERY secure.
You could easily see the building is dated but they've kept up with the times quite well I thought. Electric banister heat ( we were here in January) which was kind of noisy but most are. Toiletries were very good and shower worked great. Nice hot tub and pool area. We didn't eat at the cafe because they had construction. Nice king bed but only had really small pillows.

Room Tip: Rooms facing East have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rockymtnpark, General Manager at Rocky Mountain Park Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Hello:

Thank you for your feedback! I'm very glad you enjoyed your stay. Please keep in mind that we do offer a terrific pillow menu including u-shape and down pillows if you would like to "change things up" during your stay. We are staffed 24/7 to deliver one whenever you like.

Thank you and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#10 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 769 reviews
0.9 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Silver Saddle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Estes Park Resort
The Estes Park Resort
#14 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
1.0 mi away
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
Rodeway Inn Estes Park
#21 of 28 in Estes Park
3.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Mountain Park Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Park Inn

Address: 101 South Saint Vrain Ave, PO Box 1468, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rocky Mountain Park Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rocky Mountain Park Inn is a 100% nonsmoking hotel with everything under one roof! Enjoy free high speed wireless Internet access throughout our hotel and pets are welcome on our first floor with a $15 nightly fee. We are the only ISO 14001 (environmentally friendly) certified green hotel in Estes Park and have a recycling bin in every room. Located just 3 blocks from downtown & the riverwalk, and surrounded by two national treasures, Rocky Mountain Nat. Park. and Roosevelt Nat. Forest. With no mountain passes to cross, Estes Park's ideal location ensures an easy winter or summer 60-mile drive from metro Denver and Denver International Airport, yet we're only minutes from world-class hiking, biking, rock climbing, and fishing. Adjacent to the Estes Park Conference Center and directly across the street from the 4 mile long concrete trail surrounding Lake Estes, we offer amenities such as a large indoor pool, whirlpool, fitness room, and LongZ - A Mountain Grill. Enjoy indoor climbing gyms, snow tubing, sledding, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, and plenty of nearby wildlife watching in the winter. Summer brings scooter, boat, & bike rentals, as well as National Park Tours, mini-golf/go-carts, aerial tramway, fishing and rafting excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Rocky Mountain Park Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Park Hotel Estes Park
Holiday Inn Estes Park
Estes Park Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Park Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.