We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Paint & Sip Class was very fun & relaxing. The instructor was very good, friendly & helpful.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Murphy's Resort at Estes Park to your Saves list
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-1466 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Thornton, Colorado
1 review
“The Paint & Sip Class was very fun & relaxing. The instructor was very good, friendly & helpful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The hotel was very clean, the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. They have many activities for families. Restaurants are in close proximity. Beautiful views and close walk to Lake Estes. In the evening they have a fire that everyone can sit around and get to know some of the visitors. The management and office staff were very happy, hospitable people making their guests feel like they are at home. We love this place and will probably return many times.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. All of them on one level, no stairs to climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    60
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
119
109
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We only stayed here one night, but would have enjoyed staying longer! This is what you get with an independently owned operation that takes pride in their work! Very clean and up to date rooms. Outdoor living spaces were very nice! Literally something for the whole family including movies and games. We would have grilled out if we had realized there were gas grills in the common area to use! Would definitely stay here again. Friendly staff.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

stayed here with our family on our way to Rocky Mountain national park. only stayed one night, but the staff was super nice and helpful. good breakfast. take a picture on the giant horse. they give you a free photo- framed!! seemed to have lots of activities - but we didn't have time to take advantage of all they had to offer.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for the compliments.
Our staff wants everyone to have a
comfortable and wonderful time at our Resort.
We are happy to hear you had a positive
experience. We hope to see you again
at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Nice, clean and affordable place. Great place tot start your hike. We had the lake-view room. The price stayed the same despite Memorial day weekend, grant service! Even a hottub was availible for free use. Breakfast was decent

Room Tip: CHoose the lake-view room waking up seeing the snowy mountains was briljant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are happy to hear you loved our Resort, especially
the views of the lake and mountains. We always
recommend to go stand by our outdoor pool and
look at the majestic mountain views. It's pretty
amazing. We are glad you had a great stay at
Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The room was very large, clean, and remodeled. They had movies, games, and lots of outdoor games as well. The man helping in the breakfast room had great tips and advice about the town and Rocky Mountains. Will be staying there my next trip to town!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We are happy to hear you had a great time at our Resort.
Our staff knows the Estes Park area well and we are glad
to hear they gave you some tips of where to go.
We hope you stay again at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Murphys has it all! From the painting classes, to the pools, to all sorts of activities outside your door from tether ball to volleyball, Murphys is amazing! The room was clean and cozy. The staff makes you feel right at home and go above and behind to make sure your are comfortable and have everything you can possibly need. Thanks Casey for a wonderful time! I cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
We are glad you felt at home at Murphy's Resort.
Our staff is wonderful, they do their best to make our
guests happy. We do have lots of fun stuff to do.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Good things are going on at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed at Murphy's Resort for a short weekend getaway and really enjoyed it. From the outside it looks like an old 50's style motor hotel but everything has been redone recently so the rooms are very nice and very modern. The beds were very comfortable, there was a jetted bathtub, a large flat screen tv w/ dvd, and a sitting area with a gas fireplace so the room was cozy and comfortable. The continental breakfast was fairly standard but the dining area was large. There was also a large outdoor play area so it would be very suitable for families. In addition the location was close to town but not so close that you could hear traffic. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thanks for the review.
We are an old motor lodge. When first opened we were
the talk of the town, so we are told. We have kept the old
and brought in some new. Our staff is friendly and also
keeps our Resort very clean. We have many activities
and fun things to do at our Resort. We hope to
see you again at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Address: 1650 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-1466 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.