We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super nice staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Murphy's Resort at Estes Park to your Saves list
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-1466 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“super nice staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

stayed here with our family on our way to Rocky Mountain national park. only stayed one night, but the staff was super nice and helpful. good breakfast. take a picture on the giant horse. they give you a free photo- framed!! seemed to have lots of activities - but we didn't have time to take advantage of all they had to offer.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    60
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
119
108
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Nice, clean and affordable place. Great place tot start your hike. We had the lake-view room. The price stayed the same despite Memorial day weekend, grant service! Even a hottub was availible for free use. Breakfast was decent

Room Tip: CHoose the lake-view room waking up seeing the snowy mountains was briljant!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, yesterday
We are happy to hear you loved our Resort, especially
the views of the lake and mountains. We always
recommend to go stand by our outdoor pool and
look at the majestic mountain views. It's pretty
amazing. We are glad you had a great stay at
Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The room was very large, clean, and remodeled. They had movies, games, and lots of outdoor games as well. The man helping in the breakfast room had great tips and advice about the town and Rocky Mountains. Will be staying there my next trip to town!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are happy to hear you had a great time at our Resort.
Our staff knows the Estes Park area well and we are glad
to hear they gave you some tips of where to go.
We hope you stay again at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leadville, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Murphys has it all! From the painting classes, to the pools, to all sorts of activities outside your door from tether ball to volleyball, Murphys is amazing! The room was clean and cozy. The staff makes you feel right at home and go above and behind to make sure your are comfortable and have everything you can possibly need. Thanks Casey for a wonderful time! I cant wait to come back!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 2 days ago
We are glad you felt at home at Murphy's Resort.
Our staff is wonderful, they do their best to make our
guests happy. We do have lots of fun stuff to do.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Good things are going on at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at Murphy's Resort for a short weekend getaway and really enjoyed it. From the outside it looks like an old 50's style motor hotel but everything has been redone recently so the rooms are very nice and very modern. The beds were very comfortable, there was a jetted bathtub, a large flat screen tv w/ dvd, and a sitting area with a gas fireplace so the room was cozy and comfortable. The continental breakfast was fairly standard but the dining area was large. There was also a large outdoor play area so it would be very suitable for families. In addition the location was close to town but not so close that you could hear traffic. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks for the review.
We are an old motor lodge. When first opened we were
the talk of the town, so we are told. We have kept the old
and brought in some new. Our staff is friendly and also
keeps our Resort very clean. We have many activities
and fun things to do at our Resort. We hope to
see you again at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

There are literally 100's of choices to stay in around Estes Park from corporate motels to luxury condos or rustic cabins. There are two properties with the Murphy name in Estes Park. One is a multistory brown building on the river north of downtown. This one is a former road motel on the extreme south end of town.

It is a large piece of property with 4 single story wings of rooms surrounding a central pool and entertainment area. You can BBQ, have a fire, and play games in this big area. It looked very pleasant but it rained every day we were there so we didn't use it. The buildings are far enough from the road that you don't hear any noise, and the views of the mountains are fantastic.

We stayed in the off season so the place was less than half full.The managers (owners?) were very pleasant, as was the rest of the staff we met. I booked our room online at a travel site and got a huge discount, I didn't see that same offer on the hotel's own site so shop around.

We reserved a double queen bed room but when we arrived they upgraded us for free to a king suite since they were not very full. That was nice and the room was very comfortable and twice the size of a regular room. Not sure if they made two normal hotel rooms into one but it felt like it. Our room had a separate living room with a small kitchenette and dining table with a sliding glass door to a patio with BBQ grill. There was a see through gas fireplace into the bedroom, where the king bed was placed diagonally in the corner with a built in headboard. Our suite also had a whirlpool tub with separate small shower in another room.

This is by no means a luxury hotel or spa, but it has a nice feel to it and was more personal than a corporate name. The room was very pleasant and we would stay here again, but there are just some things I need to mention.

The remodel was mostly well done, but there were some things I would have done different in our room. Little things like the mechanical timer switch on the gas fireplace. You listen to it tick as it winds down, and that takes away the charm of the fireplace. Kind of like playing "Beat the Clock" if you want a romantic evening. The light over the jacuzzi tub is connected to an exhaust fan in the ceiling, so you hear that if you have the light on. This may be a building code requirement but is still distracting. The light over the bathroom vanity is fluorescent tubing covered by a plastic grate, and not very bright or flattering. Then there is the small, cheap shower stall. It is a plastic pre-fab corner unit so it feels cheap and is quite small. The plastic floor flexes when you stand on it, and the shower head pointed right at the door so water got through the space for the hinges and soaked the floor. There was actually room to put in an oversized custom shower which would have looked great with nice tile, etc. That would have cost more of course (but even I have built one so it's not that tough) but would have really made the difference in the bathroom. Instead, there is this cheap plastic corner stall that doesn't fit in with the rest of the suite. There is decent wood flooring in the main room, but the bed room gets thin carpet squares which are more suitable for a high traffic hallway. Again, a budget choice that detracts from the rest of the room. Other budget choices include using 1x6 lumber with wood stain for the baseboards, a rustic cabin could pull that off but it seemed out of place here.

The leather sleeper/sofa was comfy to sit on, the bed was okay for me but my wife didn't like it as much. Others may love or hate it, everyone is different.

A final note, the free wifi was slow as molasses. It was so annoying to use we just used our 4g phones instead. They were much faster.

This is a nice place that has been upgraded from what it originally was. It is clean, pleasant, and well maintained overall. And even with the little things noted above I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thanks for all your compliments.
We have been updating like crazy in the last 2 years.
If the WIFI is slow it can be caused by our BAJA service,
we can always give them a call when this happens.
Murphy's Resort does have a lot of activities and
we also have a great staff that helps make everyones
experience at our Resort a great one.
We hope to see you again at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evans, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I absolutely loved this gem in paradise. The suite was gorgeous, clean and tastefully decorated. The grounds offered so many fun games and the best spa tub ever. Breakfast was very good, staff was excellent. Loved Eliza and the manager, they were absolutely the best people. Stay here everyone, you will be so happy!!!

Room Tip: Book one of the Deluxe King Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the compliments.
We do have a wonderful staff and managers.
Our staff welcomes our guests and our staff
keeps our Resort clean and running smoothly.
We are glad we could help create great
memories of your stay in Estes Park.
We hope visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Address: 1650 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-1466 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.