We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Murphy's Resort at Estes Park to your Saves list
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-1466 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$99.00 plus Sip & Paint
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I came and stayed here for our winter wedding in estes park. We come in summer usually and have never been to this location. We couldn't be happier. The general managers were incredibly welcoming and made sure our stay was a great one. The staff went out of the way to meet our needs. I will definitely be returning to Murphys.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, yesterday
Thank you so much for the compliments.
We have awesome managers and our staff is awesome too.
We are happy you enjoyed your Winter getaway.
I think we are all looking forward to the Spring and Summer time.
We hope to see you again at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    47
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
101
95
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I enjoyed staying at this hotel. My room was very clean, comfortable bed, warm (individually controlled thermostat-big plus), great cable selection, and a free basic breakfast. Every room has a mini refrigerator and dvd player. The office offers free DVD rental and has a big selection of movies to choose from. I like that the mountains can been seen right from the parking lot. Priceline should give a higher star rating for this nice hotel. I would stay here again. Area for improvement: add deadbolt locks and better wall decor (ex: Marilyn Monroe pictures are not family friendly).

Room Tip: Room 205 (pet-free!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 4 days ago
We are very happy you loved our hotel.
We do have a variety of themed rooms, with musicians, movie stars etc.
Like you we absolutely love the mountains and you can stand outside and
see a 360 degree view of the mountains. Plus breathing the clean crisp mountain air
is the best. We believe we have a great hotel where you can rest, relax or
play. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Thank you for such a warm welcome. We arrived on Friday for our anniversary. Was greeted by the most happy individual. She explained where our room was and also recommended a great restaurant for dinner as it was late. The room we had was amazing. Felt right at home. Saturday was followed by their Sip N Paint. Never done anything like that before we will be doing it again. Can't wait to come back this summer early fall.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you for sharing you good news. We are very happy
you felt such a warm welcome.
It's great you enjoyed the Sip and Paint class.
We are looking forward to seeing you this Summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed one night, but the staff was nice. The room had two queen beds and clean. The floors were per-go and linoleum, so if your feet get cold easily bring slippers. We did the sip and paint, which was very enjoyable. I would do that again. It's a good location and would stay here again.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are happy you had a great time at Murphy's Resort.
Our Sip and Paint class is a lot of fun and we are glad
you enjoyed it. We hope you stay again and join the fun
and relaxation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We decided to get out of town (from Fort Collins) for a couple of days. We ended up staying at the "newly renovated" Murphy's. We went in the middle of the week in February and pretty much had the place to ourselves. The king suite was fantastic. Big rooms, great Jacuzzi and gas fire place. Loretta in the office is awesome and made us feel super welcome! Thanks, we'll be back!

Room Tip: King suite is awesome, not sure about others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are happy you had a great time.
Our Resort is a great place to go for a Winter getaway.
It's a great place to get some rest and relaxation.
Loretta is a great manager, she goes out of our
way to welcome all our guests and make sure they
are comfortable. We have a great staff they give
their all to make our Resort wonderful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, breakfast was great! Management interacts with guests, and the paint and sip was super fun! The rooms are clean, hot tub is huge, and location was perfect! We will definitely return and recommend to others!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
We are happy to hear you had a great experience.
Our staff wants everyone to enjoy and have the best possible
experience. We are glad you enjoyed the sip and paint
class too. Hope to see you soon at Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I arrived Friday to stay through today and it was simply AMAZING. From the moment I called to book it 2 weeks ago until I handed in our keys to check out. I originally spoke with Casey, he was so helpful getting everything booked for me exactly what I wanted and calling me back. When we arrived we were helped by Eliza. Talk about someone that LOVES her job! It is so rare to find people in this industry that love their job and get as excites to talk about everything Murphy's has to offer. We sat there and talked for 20 minutes! Definitely someone you do not want to lose on your staff! We got to our amazing LARGE king deluxe with fireplace and 2 person tub... I was blown away. Completely 110% passed what I was expecting. I was so excited about the amazing upgrades... the large patio deck.. amazing views from the front of our door as well as the back, even though it faced the highway. Talk about great amenities this place has. Sip and paint-- which we did not do, hot tub, shuffle board, DVD selection, breakfast, fire pit-- which was so awesome though it was so windy. Casey was so helpful when we told him we got cold. He brought us 2 more blankets to our room after he got off for the night! This place hands down has raised my standards for any place to stay, and it will be hard to beat to find anything like this again. The way the room was set up down to the way the housekeeper folded the towels and toilet paper. So cute! A few things that could be changed, but extremely minor are: better toilet paper, a larger TV in the living room and maybe a little thing of bubble bath next to the tub. Minor things. The TV isn't even a big deal- get outside and explore. If I could give 10 stars I would. I will be back!!!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
We love to hear the compliments and appreciation. We do have an awesome staff.
Everyday we thank our lucky stars, they are the best ever.
Thank you for mentioning the amenities of our Resort. Our managers are
always creating and adding new activities, decor and creating a fun place to
stay. The beauty of the mountains is awesome too.
We are glad you discovered Murphy's Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Address: 1650 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-1466 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.