We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill CO vibe at Murphy's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Murphy's Resort at Estes Park to your Saves list
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-1466 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sip and paint class
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Palatine, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Chill CO vibe at Murphy's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at Murphy's over a long weekend. My husband and I were greeted right away and given our room (202) within minutes of arriving. We loved the chill Colorado vibe we experienced at Murphy's from the availability to rent bags or horseshoes at night, to relaxing on the porch of our room. We traveled to Estes Park for a wedding which was hosted at the new hotel right across the parking lot from Murphy's and were so pleased that we did not spend the extra money to stay at the other hotel (the other hotel did not have any of the Awesome amenities of Murphy's) While the rooms at Murphy's could use some updating, for the amount of time that we spent in our room, we did not care...for traveling to Estes one should be out in the beauty the national park has to offer!! My husband and I hope one day to return to Estes with our children- we definitely will be excited to return to Murphy's, too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. It's our desire to have a comfortable fun resort. We have been updating for over a year and have made huge progress. We have so many to-do lists. This hotel is really emerging and it has changed tremendously in a short year since we took over ownership. We do want to keep some of the old because that's kind of what historical Estes Park is about. We have brought a lot of new in such as new beds, new flat screen TVs, WIFI, new linens and towels and more. Our staff wants to see people happy. With the beauty of the mountains and lake this is a great place to rest and relax. We do want you and your children to come back. When you come back don't be surprised to see more fun activities and a lot more progression on our updating.
Once again, Thank You for your great review. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    41
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
89
73
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Just completed a two night stay at Murphy's in mid-July and enjoyed our stay. The rooms are fairly good sized and each offers a flat panel display, DVD player (with a library of DVDs to borrow at the front desk), and a small refrigerator. There are plenty of things for kids to do there and the staff is incredibly friendly and helpful. In hindsight, I think we'd prefer to have stayed closer to the center of town where all the shopping and restaurants are as this resort is located a few miles away, but if you're okay with the short drive (and sometimes challenging parking situation) and you have kids, I would highly recommend Murphy's.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Wow it's so wonderful you loved our hotel and all the activities available.
Again we are so proud of our staff, they are extremely friendly and accommodating.
We see your point on the location. It's kind of a give and take with the Murphy hotels.
You can stay at Murphy's River Lodge and be close to downtown and walk everywhere or
you can stay at Murphy's Resort and be away from all the hustle and bustle. The Resort has
6 acres and activities such as horseshoes, shuffle board, playground, outdoor pool and more.
The resort is walking distance to Lake Estes so that can be a plus. We encourage people to
use the free shuttle or trolly to get downtown. The stops are right across the street.
We would like to mention we have various types of rooms. Some have 2 rooms, they are
very nice for families. Good things are going on at Murphy's Resort. We hope you stay
again or stay at Murphy's River Lodge to be close to downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan ks
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

I would rate this five stars but it had poor wifi, the house was overall good. Good service etc. I like the rooms but the wifi was bad I couldn't even get on YouTube or netflix. I loved the pool and hot tub! They were awesome even the deck was awesome, by the way the pool is heated!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We would like to acknowledge your concern about the WiFI. We use a professional company to
install the WIFI. Shortly after the WiFI was installed we found out that we needed an additional tower.
The tower has been installed and we have had NO problems since. We have made tons of improvements over the last year. Our great, fantastic staff has kept on top of the whole transformation of our Resort. They also do a fantastic job at keeping our resort in order. Our managers set high standards. We continue to change and make improvements. We want everyone to have a fulfilling and successful vacation. We hope you stay again because good things are going on at Murphy's Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Council Bluffs, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

When I initially pulled into the hotel lot, I wasn't sure if I would like it. But it ended up being a great place for a family. The room was your standard room. It did have a refrigerator, microwave and DVD player so that was nice. The service was good. What we liked the best was the resort feel. There was a pool my kids loved, hot tub, swing set, outdoor shuffle board, frisbee golf, etc.

Room Tip: There are grills available, so it would be a nice option to cook at lunch or dinner one day rather t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We are glad you shared your story about our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to write the
review. Thank you for mentioning the great things that are going on at our hotel. We have been creating a wonderful vacation place. We acquired this property about a year ago and have been
creating a wonderful vacation place since. We want it to be a fun place and we are glad you and your family were part of the fun place! Good things are going on at Murphy's Resort.
We hope you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed in this resort. We stayed about a year ago soon after the current owners bought the place. They had begun renovating the rooms and wow what a difference. The rooms were tastefully decorated and very very clean. Not surprised about this as we have stayed at the sister resort Murphy's River Lodge a number of times and have always had a great experience. The resort is in a perfect location right in town but has awesome views of the mountains in the distance and the lake just next door. I thought the price we paid was very reasonable especially considering it was high season. I noticed that the parking lot was pretty much full when we we were there. One of the best thing about both Murphy's Resort and Murphy's River lodge is how friendly the staff is. Loretta and Bruce are awesome! I highly recommend that someone stay at this resort next time they are in Estes Park!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We
are glad our managers, Loretta and Bruce welcomed you.
Our staff members are great hosts.
We are sure the majestic mountain views helped you
feel relaxed and invigorated.
We would love to have you stay at our Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
emhrnbsn
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We recently stayed three nights with our two young children (3 and under) in a two room jacuzzi suite. The rooms/beds were very clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was good and refreshed throughout the morning. It was nice to have the microwave and fridge in the room; between that and the grills on site we were able to pack lunches each day for a picnic and grill food for dinner in the evenings. The grounds were nice with many tables scattered around, lawn games, nice heated pool (with small unheated kiddie pool) and hot tub, fire pit, and playground ( a favorite of my family). The staff that we met were all nice and helpful, even the cleaning staff :) I wasn't sure looking at the pictures when I booked but I think it's just that the rooms could use better lighting....because they were fine :)

Few minute drive to store, restaurants, downtown, RMNP!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Exactly what we wanted to hear, a Young Family having fun.
We hope you have lasting memories from your stay with us.
We are glad your children had a great time. Our staff including the
cleaning staff are awesome. We appreciate them so much.
Our Resort does have older buildings and we have remodeled
the rooms. We have added modern conveniences. We continue to
make modifications and improvements. We would love
to have you stay at the Resort again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We recently had a 7-night stay here with my wife and 3 kids (6, 4, and 1). This was one of our favorite places we ever stayed at. The resort is on the east end of town, only a few minutes from Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park and right next to the marina. We could go hiking all morning, then come back and the kids would play tetherball, or play in the playset, or enjoy any of the enormous range of activities they have. My 6-year old loved playing beanbag toss with me. They also have shuffleboard, horseshoes, ladder ball, and lots of other stuff available. One of our favorite things was going the the farmers market (open every Thursday morning) and then bringing our food back and grilling it that night on one of their numerous grills.

The hot spa and pool were godsends after hiking all day - the facilities were always clean and never too crowded. I think we swam pretty much every night they liked it so much - and the spa is indoors so even when it was raining we could enjoy it! All the staff was extremely friendly and helpful, and the free breakfast each morning was a great way to start the day! Friendly tip: they put snacks for the kids in the drawer under the coffee that they can grab after eating. Also, there's a Safeway right down the road for anything you need.

The room was great as well. We stayed in a 2-bedroom suite with a tv and dvd player in each room. Brought some dvds for the kids and that helped keep the kids quiet and in their own room at night, which helped us enjoy out vacation all the more. The jacuzzi tub was also a wonderful way to relax.

All in all, one of the most pleasant places we've stayed at with our family. Great views of the rockies, good rooms, and a plethora of activities. I can't speak to how nice it would be for a couple, but for families I haven't seen anything like it!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suite great for families - rooms in the east side are right across from the hot spa for ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are so happy you had a wonderful vacation.
The hiking and the fun things you did sound amazing, and then the
Resort offered fun on sight. We are so happy you had
a great time and we would love for you to come back!
We are glad you had great family fun time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Address: 1650 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-1466 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.