We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Murphy's Resort at Estes Park to your Saves list
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1650 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-1466 (Formerly Econo Lodge)   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sip and paint class
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We originally booked in for one night but following a wonderful night's sleep we extended our stay to a week. The resort is undergoing significant improvements since the new owners took over in May of this year and they are not sparing any expense when it comes to the finishes and furnishings. The resort has wonderful views over the lake and surrounding mountains and the rooms are very large and well-equipped with fridge, microwave, Flat screen TV and DVD player, safe and coffee machine. The heated outdoor swimming pool and huge indoor hot tub are sparkling and while we were there were receiving attention in the form of new carpet (AstroTurf). The pool area has lots of chairs, tables and umbrellas and pool towels are provided. There is a great play area for kids and 10 propane grills for your use and the rooms are all set well back from the road so there is no road noise. The breakfast was a substantial continental-style; certainly more choice than most other motels offer. All the staff, without exception, were very friendly and helpful and wanted to know if anything could be improved or done to make your stay any better. In the lobby there are hundreds of DVD's you can borrow. The location is less than a mile from the visitors centre but one of the free shuttle lines provided by Estes Park stops right outside the resort every 30 minutes. There is also a very good riding stables opposite (Sombrero), which offers trail rides from one hour to overnight (the 2 hour ride plus steak dinner was very good). We would highly recommend this resort to anybody wanting to stay in the Estes Park area and some of the rooms are connected internally to accommodate larger families or groups.

Room Tip: Rooms starting with a "3" have uninterrupted lake views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    41
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
89
73
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We choose to stay here after reading all of these wonderful reviews and boy were we wrong. The first room we checked into had not been cleaned so back o the front desk to learn they had new cleaning staff. The 2nd room we were given was clean for the most part mins the trash can full of rotten food which made the room stink. We left the trash out by the room to help remove the odor. The door didn't shut all the way which allowed bugs to enter as thy pleased. Lastly, the air conditioner was freezing up during the night which sounded as if someone was entering the room. After little to no sleep we decided to leave in the early morning but to our surprise the office didn't open til 8am. Needless to say we were not pleased with our stay and not sure where everyone else stayed but we did not have the same experience as the other reviewers a all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
I am sorry that you had a bad experience and your feedback is being used to correct the problem of your rooms trash not being emptied. Your air conditioner was replaced as soon as we knew their was a problem. Regarding your early checkout - since you pay when you check in all you have to do when leaving is either leave your key in the room or leave in the drop box by the front office. I really hope you come back again and give us a chance to show you that we have corrected those 2 problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Murphy's Resort offered a very nice stay with lots of space, views, and a great location next to the boat dock on the Lake. Walking distance to Lake Estes and close enough to town to enjoy all that Estes Park has to offer. We woke up to eight beautiful Elk grazing on the property for a perfect photo opportunity! The staff at Murphy's are very friendly and helpful and responsive. They have done a tremendous job renovating this property and creating quality rooms with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was included and a great start to our day in the area. Clean and bright, this place is a gem and perfect family gatherings! Lots of space, complementary grilling and picnic area, large pool, spa, jucuzzi and shower. We can't wait to see when they are done! The improvements are amazing and the service is excellent!

Room Tip: Wake up early and peak out your window to catch the Elk hanging out on the property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

All new rooms that can connect if wished. Spotlessly clean with all new fixtures, beds, bedding, pillows, TV and WIFI. View out over meadow to lake and mountains is beautiful. Staff helpful. The barbecue area, pool area and children's play area make this a very family friendly place. Prior requests can accommodate pets in some units. Friendly congenial people.We recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Lakeview best, roadside least
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We took a road trip from Chicago with our 3 kids (first time road trip!) and found Murphy's River Lodge on Trip Advisor which was sold out.

They told us about a new property very close by that they took over called Murphy's Resort. It was really great! The place is super new and was recently renovated - new beds, linens, breakfast room. Breakfast was great - kids loved it. The staff are super friendly especially - Melissa, Loretta, Bruce, and Bryan! We got a king and queen beds for a great price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Talk about beautiful!!! I had no idea what to expect having never been to Estes Park before, but once pulling into town and into Murphy's Resort I was in love! The rooms are big, clean and comfy and the staff, let alone the owners, were nothing short of amazing. We will DEFINITELY be back to Murphy's Resort!! Thankyou!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Another successful trip to Estes is in the books, and I did something I said I would never do...stay somewhere other than Murphy's River Lodge. For this trip, we stayed at Murphy's Resort (same owner as Murphy's River Lodge) and it was FABULOUS! We enjoyed the family friendly atmosphere and all the different activities right on site- pool (outdoors and perfect for summer, with indoor hot tub), playground, nice barbeque area with several picnic tables and gas grills, shuffle board, free dvd's to watch, continental breakfast. The rooms are super clean and spacious, furnished with fridge, microwave, coffee maker, tv, DVD player, hair dryer. Beds are comfy with down pillows and comforters. It was also nice to see some familiar faces from Murphy's River Lodge as well :) The location is great for fishing or a nice walk around the lake. We really enjoyed Murphy's Resort and are thrilled that we now have two options for lodging in Estes...Murphy's River Lodge and Murphy's Resort are the only lodging options we need :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's Resort at Estes Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's Resort at Estes Park

Address: 1650 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-1466 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#6 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Murphy's Resort at Estes Park 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park is near Rocky Mountain National Park, Colorado. Local points of interest like the Estes Park Fairgrounds, Estes Park Conference Center and Lake Estes are minutes from this Estes Park, CO hotel.Outdoor enthusiasts will enjoy being close to recreation areas like Rocky Mountain National Park that offers unparalleled scenery, numerous hiking and walking trails, lush valleys, a variety of wildlife and more. Several trails, horse stables and bike paths are close by. Hotel features include:Free continental breakfast Free wireless high-speed Internet, Some rooms are Pet-friendly. Guests of this Estes Park, CO hotel can also enjoy the seasonal outdoor heated pool, indoor hot tub, exercise room and children's playground during their stay.All guest rooms have coffee makers, microwaves, refrigerators, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards, safes, flat screen TV's, DVD players and cable television. Select rooms also have kitchen facilities, sofa sleepers, whirlpool bathtubs and spacious work desks, some offer great lake views. Connecting rooms can be requested.Laundry facilities are located on the premises. Ample free parking is provided and can accommodate most cars, trucks or buses.If you are looking for countless amenities and inviting accommodations, Murphy's Resort is the perfect place to call home in Colorado. We are close to a number of attractions and have an outstanding staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Murphy's Resort at Estes Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Estes Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's Resort at Estes Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.