We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the Fall River!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Murphy's River Lodge to your Saves list
Murphy's River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Sip and Paint class
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Right on the Fall River!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed at this property from July 5 through July 11, 2014. It came highly recommended and for the most part we were not disappointed. The only complaint we had, and this was minor considering the wonderful climate at 7500 feet, was that the AC unit was somewhat undersized for the nice large room we had. The king bed, lower floor room was spacious and comfortable. Immediately outside the back door was a small deck with table and chairs. 10 feet further on, the Fall River flowed right by our unit. At night you can open the windows and listen to the river flow lull you to sleep. I would recommend the lower units for this reason alone! The bath was conveniently outfitted with soap dispenser at sink as well as shampoo dispenser in shower. We do wish that the water pressure and temperature regulation of the shower was more uniform. Once, the temperature changed to ice-cold for 15 seconds or so! Brrr! I imagine the water heater is somewhat undersized for the number of rooms that it served. The breakfast included in the room rate was very nice. No hot items, but otherwise well stocked with a variety of bagels, English muffins, pastries, fruit, hard boiled eggs, cold cereals, milk, yogurt and juice. The coffee was not fresh brewed but they used an instant dispenser. Location is extremely convenient at the west end of the downtown area. You can walk to any of the downtown shops and restaurants in 10 minutes or less but there is also a convenient shuttle that has a stop right at the lodge. Additionally, a five minute drive takes you to the Estes Park entrance to Rocky Mt, National Park.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We are so happy you had a great experience at our lodge. Oh, yes the location is
awesome. The river is so beautiful and the sound of it is relaxing and peaceful. It is
true the short walk to downtown is a positive. We are not sure why your water turned cold so
fast. The only thing we can think of is that many people took showers at once. We have had
boilers replaced because of the flood last year. It may have been one of those flukes. We will be sure and have our managers check on this. We are happy you enjoyed our breakfast, unfortunately we cannot offer a hot breakfast because of Colorado State Laws. As and owner I love coffee, so much tasting went on when we chose the coffee Because of the volume of coffee drank, we chose that dispenser, but to me it tastes fresh brewed. We wanted the best of both worlds good taste and ease for our staff. We will check on the AC because that's important to keep the room cool. Thank you for the review and we hope you stay again. It's exciting to be by the river and have a wonderful vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    542
    158
    48
    14
    3
See reviews for
248
358
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at Murphy's River Lodge in Estes Park and it was wonderful. I was worried because it was more than we normally spend on a room but we did not get a vacation last year and so I splurged this year. It was totally worth it! Our room was right on the river with a deck we could sit on and enjoy it every day. I had chosen a lower level room and I'm glad I did. We could walk off our deck right up to the river and we had a huge elk outside our room one morning and evening! The bed was comfortable, there was a fireplace, kitchen, flat screen tv it was great. I know people expect some cons in a review so I will stretch and say the bathroom is small but the room so makes up for it you don't really notice. If there was anything the room needed to add it would be a couple of foldout luggage racks. The owners were so nice, I cannot say enough good things about this place and we will definitely stay here again. The owners say they have another property across town by a lake , how would I choose?!

Room Tip: The lower level you can walk out your door and be right at the rivers edge. We never heard any noise...
See more room tips
Green Features: They asked you to put a note on your door when you needed cleaning or towels ect. We were there 3 nights and only had housekeeping and towels once.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We love when we get compliments, it is music to our ears.
The greatest gift to us is to hear about your positive experience.
The river does give a feeling of peace and serenity. We do
have luggage racks, we wonder where yours was, we will check it
out for sure. Next time you want to create an awesome vacation we
hope you stay at Murphy's Lodge again. Thank you so much for
the positive and wonderful compliments. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Very clean and well maintained. Good location relative to river and Estes Park. Good continental breakfast. Bottom floor rooms can be noisy if there's a lot of activity in the rooms above. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
We are happy you made a decision to stay at Murphy's River Lodge, where people
are welcomed. With our location next the the river and close to downtown it's easy to go
with the flow. We are happy you were comfortable. Thanks for enjoying your stay at
our lodge. Please come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Murphy's River Lodge. Our family of 5 loved it! Our room was spacious with beds for everyone. The pool was nice, and the breakfast was well stocked every morning. The kids especially liked the in-room DVD player and the selection of DVDs to borrow so we could relax after a day of hiking. The location is ideal. We were able to easily walk to all the shops and restaurants downtown. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
We are very happy you enjoyed Estes Park. There are endless options of things to do in Estes Park.
We are especially pleased you stayed at Murphy's River Lodge. We are glad you and your family were comfortable. Your experience really matters to us. We are happy your family had a great vacation and great memories. We hope you stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our room was clean and the property was well kept. We were close to Estes Park and downtown Estes Fun! The continental breakfast was great and well stocked. We would stay there again! The hot tub and pool are very well kept. Beautiful!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are so happy to hear you had a
great adventure in Estes Park.
It sounds like Murphy's River Lodge was a
great home base for you. We are pleased
you enjoyed breakfast and found our Lodge
clean and comfortable. We hope you plan
another Estes Park adventure and once
again stay at Murphy's River Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This was our second time to stay here. The management and staff are great! The rooms are very nice and clean. We enjoyed the pool, hot tub and breakfast. We love sitting on the balcony of our room looking at the scenery. We will most definitely go back!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for being a repeat customer.
We are so glad you enjoy the scenery.
It is a relaxing place. We are very proud of
our managers and staff, they are awesome people.
We hope you can stay again.
We are happy that you are happy!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overland Park, Kansas
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Stayed 3 nights along the river-had a deck which we thoroughly enjoyed. Also enjoyed visiting with others around the fire pit in the afternoon and evening. The managers & staff are very nice & able to answer any question you ask. Would definitely recommend the lodge and would return for relaxation. Able to walk to town which we enjoyed or trolley is available also.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being along the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for letting us know you had a wonderful stay.
We are excited to hear you enjoyed hanging around with
others at the fire pit. We are truly blessed to have a wonderful
staff. They help make the Lodge a comfortable place to stay.
Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.