We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy lodge, with a great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Murphy's River Lodge to your Saves list
Murphy's River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sip and Paint class
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Cosy lodge, with a great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The lodge is located in walking distance to Estes Park town center. It has a nice homely touch to it, and all staff are very friendly. One morning we had Elks right outside our patio, which is overlooking a small river.
The rooms are well equipped, but some features are becoming slightly dated.
We would recommend this place to our friends!

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side are overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
We are so glad you had a great experience at our Lodge.
Being by the river is very relaxing. We are so glad you
were welcomed by our staff. Our recently updated property
is very comfy and peaceful. We hope you do send some of
your friends our way. Thank you so much for staying with us
and we hope you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    159
    48
    14
    3
See reviews for
251
361
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Missouri
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Very nice area away from downtown just a bit. Loved the room - very clean and comfortable. Woke up to an Elk right below our balcony eating breakfast out of the bird feeders. LOVED every part of this lodge just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
We are glad you love our lodge. We hope you can stay again.
It will be great to have you return. Your review is music to our ears.
Thanks so much for staying at Murphy's River Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Although the staff seemed young, they were very courteous and responsive. When I mentioned that our room was missing a "Do Not Disturb" door-hanger, there was a new one hanging on the door within 5 minutes. When another gentleman asked about booking a river-view room,because there was only a small one left, the clerk offered to show it to him before he decided whether or not to book it.
The location is very nice. It's on the west side of Estes so you can get to Rocky Mountain National Park without going through the town, which is very congested. On the other hand, it's a very easy walk, about 5 minutes, into the heart of the town, and it's also steps from Performance Park, which features an outdoor stage with evening concerts.
The day we arrived a note on the counter advertised an informal singalong around the fire pit that evening, arranged by another guest. The fire pit was on the river bank next to picnic tables. There was a blaze going every evening for anyone who wanted to roast marshmallows or just enjoy the setting. The continental breakfast was extensive, including yogurt, hard-boiled eggs, and instant oatmeal. A microwave was available to warm up pastries.
The one criticism I have concerns the room decor. The owners are apparently going along with the current decorator fad of muted, neutral colors, like vomit green, puke yellow, and dull reddish brown which is reminiscent of something I won't mention. Even a few prints on the walls would be appreciated. I much prefer bright prints and cheerful colors. Though I might tire of them rapidly if they were in my home, I don't stay in motel rooms long enough for that to happen. Also, the valence was mounted two inches to the left of the curtain rod on the right side, so that it was awkward to open the curtains all the way and looked a little tacky.
Overall, this was a friendly place to stay with courteous staff, a great location and a very good value.

Room Tip: The flight of stairs to the second floor has fewer steps at the end of the lodge by the road. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
We are so happy you noticed what an over the top staff we have. They have the best
customer service skills. Somehow the people skills are natural for them. We are glad
you complimented us on our location because it is superb. We are on the river and walking distance to downtown. Sorry you didn't like our decoration. It was thoughtfully chosen. The black and white photos have been very popular. We also have mountain animal photos from a local photographer. The hotel interior decorator gave recommendations that would appeal to most. Many people have complimented us because they find it relaxing. Our goal is to create a relaxing place for our guests to stay after a fun filled day in and around Estes Park. We love our lodge. We keep it clean and continually maintain and add upgrades. Murphy's River Lodge is a great place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We originally had planned a weekend away just the Wife and I, but after being up in December, we decided to bring the kiddos with us. Murphy's was awesome and allowed us to keep the same room at the same rate.
The room was literally 10 feet from the river and the kids just loved seeing and hearing it!
Maid service was daily and fully met our expectations.

Location is literally 2 blocks from town, so if you choose to, you can just leave your car in the lot and walk main street!

Parking was a little tight on occasion, but we made due. Pool was good, we didn't spend a lot of time in it, but the little time we did, the kids enjoyed it.

The only down side is that we missed that we could get our picture taken and framed in the big chair out front. I got the kids pics on our own camera, but a family one would have topped the trip off.

Over all very nice place, great staff! Thanks!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are so happy you had a great stay. Our location makes for an easy walk to downtown.
We are glad you brought your kids and had a great time.
Sorry you missed the photo on the chair. We hope you come back to see us soon
and get that special photo. Thank you for your compliments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

What can I say besides everything being perfect. We took a trip to Murphy's River Lodge and stayed only one night. That was our only bad decision. Next time we will stay for the whole weekend. Our family included me, my fiance, and our 8 month old son. As we checked in they offered us a playpen for our son to sleep in. What a wonderful accommodation for a family with kids. We purchased a room that was absolutely immaculate. They room was literally the size of a small apartment with a big bathroom and plenty of room for our son to roll and crawl all over the place while we enjoyed our space as a couple. The room had a beautiful balcony that had not just a view of the river but it was literally right next to us. The room was so clean, quiet, and had comfortable furniture. Not just a King size bed but a hide-a-bed couch, recliner and a coffee table. The King size bed was so comfortable. They had a fireplace in the room with Duraflame logs, a stone fire pit on the ground level with free firewood, free access to propane grills with utensils, free DVD's to rent for your room, lots of cable channels including HBO, free access to indoor heated pool and hot tub, and free Continental breakfast. The staff was happy, friendly, and helpful and the manager was always on site. Distance to restaurants, shopping centers, liquor stores, supermarket, and access to town was very close. Some within walking distance. The best part of the whole place is that it was SO affordable. Better than any Stanley Hotel or Marriott period! We will never EVER stay anywhere else besides Murphy's River Lodge when we stay in beautiful Estes Park.

Room Tip: Choose Murphy's River Lodge and you will not be disappointing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are happy you love our Lodge. It sounds like you had a perfect stay.
We would love you to come back and stay for a weekend or even longer.
We do have great managers and they are there to help make our guests happy.
Thank you for your compliments and pointing out why your stay was great.
Hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putnam, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great place to stay from the convenient location, room size and cleanliness, free breakfast and staff friendliness! Small refrig also in room! Managers Doug and Annette went out of their way to ensure our comfort. We even spent 2nights around the bonfire by the river singing songs and getting to know other guests. Will most assuredly make this our place to stay in Estes Park! Thank you!

Room Tip: Rooms that face river from back window have best view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We are so glad you had a great time.
The bonfire experience sounds like a extremely fun time.
We wish we could of been there to join in making friends and singing too.
Our location does make it easy to get to the downtown area and a quick
drive to Rocky Mountain National Park. We are so very lucky to
have Doug and Annette as managers. They always strive to make
our guests happy. We would love for you to join the fun again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Churchville, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Great location and staff! Super clean! I can’t say enough good things about Murphy’s River Lodge. We stayed 3 nights. The room was very clean and comfortable with the river running right by our deck. The front desk staff was very friendly and helpful. The continental breakfast was a nice start to the day. The lady in charge of the continental breakfast was friendly and did a great job keeping food stocked and the area very clean. You can easily walk into town from the lodge and the entrance to Rocky Mtn National Park is very close. We were very pleased and would stay here again, next time we will bring the kids so they can enjoy the pool and outdoor fire pit.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysHotels, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
We love hearing you had a great stay at our Lodge.
Our location is awesome, being by the river is so relaxing.
Our staff uses their expertise to keep our rooms clean.
We would love for you to come back and sit by the fire pit and
enjoy time at our River Lodge in the mountains.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.