We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Murphy's River Lodge to your Saves list
Murphy's River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sip and Paint class
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Casper
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed 2 nights, Friday and Saturday nights after Thanksgiving this year. The town lights up and Friday night we witnessed the annual Christmas Parade of Lights. The town was bustling and the shopping and dining in town was great. The Lodge is clean, comfortable and in walking distance to downtown. That was the main reason we chose Murphy's was for its closeness to down town, about a 4 minute walk. We stayed in an upstairs unit with King bed and fireplace and a nice view. The room was large and comfortable. Check in was painless as the front desk person was very nice. If we don't stay in a cabin in the woods next visit to Estes Park, we will definitely stay at Murphy's. Did I mention location?!! If you plan on doing time in town, Murphy's is a must. Once there, we never drove our car again except for dinner at The Twin Owl Restaurant which we highly recommend as well. Great dining experience.

Room Tip: I highly recommend a room with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat m, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Kevin,
Thank you for the review! Winter in Estes Park is beautiful. I also loved the annual Christmas Parade of Lights. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you returning and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    156
    47
    14
    3
See reviews for
247
353
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

All the comforts of home, elk off your back patio, it was great! We had a wonderful time here and the owners were spectacular. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Beautiful location as well. We love Estes Park and this location is convenient and close to everything,

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat m, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad you got a chance to see the elk down by the river. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I absolutely love this resort! Walking distance to downtown, beautiful landscapes, and wildlife all around. Rooms are very clean and well cared for, as is the whole property in general. The staff was amazing and went out of their way to help in anyway they could. The amenities were great and their breakfast had a large variety to choose from. I did not have issues with headlights in windows or noise from other rooms or construction as other reviews have mentioned. We will be making this the place to go for our yearly trips to Estes Park!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pat m, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Cassandra,
Thank you for your Review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to you returning and staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estes Park, Colorado
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just an ordinary motel, no better than a Motel 6. Minimal privacy, headlights in window, noisy, lots of traffic and condo development.
Many better choices nearby. Hot tub broken, lukeworm swimming pool wasteful use of space and energy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
I knew you were disappointed with our policy when you asked for an early departure. However, at the time you asked about our policy you did not express to me that you were disappointed with any of your accommodations. You never voiced any of the concerns you listed here during your stay.
I am not sure with the location of your room 107,how you could hear the traffic. that room is located in the building furthest from the road. You stayed with us three days and during our slow season we try to spread our guest rooms out. Other than your last night having one room occupied next to you. all the rooms around you were unoccupied most of your stay.
Our pool is monitored daily and is kept at 86 degrees, it is one of our guest's favorite amenities and one of the few indoor heated pools in Estes Park. Unfortunately the motor went out in the hot tub during your stay. We ordered one right away and it will be installed as soon as the dealer can get it here.
The Condo development on the other side of the river is not currently under construction and is unoccupied, so no noise comes from there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This was a great place to stay. I was in town for business and the staff was more than accommodating to me and my co-workers. The place is in great shape and the staff has done well in regards to all the flooding in the area. I would recommend this place.

Room Tip: I stayed on the first floor near the river. Had a nice small back porch where you could walk out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review! It was great having you and your co-workers stay with us while you were in town on business. I am glad we could make your stay with us enjoyable. We look forward to you being able to come back and visit us. The next trip I hope will be for some R&R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place is great! Walking distance to downtown Estes. My boyfriend and I loved the room. Stayed in room 210. It was perfect- Fireplace, sofa, private balcony, comfy bed. Loved it! Staff is really friendly, you can tell they will go far out of the way to accommodate you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Suzanne,
Thank you for the review! You picked a great room to stay in. 210 is different from all our other rooms. With it being tucked in the corner of our property and having a balcony over the river. This is our only room that is not a condo that we have a fireplace in. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to you returning again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round rock
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed here last May for about 4 days. Had a condo unit and it was fantastic. The elk came right up to the deck and were superb. Great accommodations, the hot tub was glorious and the continental breakfast was adequate.

Room Tip: Downstairs, first condo across from office, river right behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphysmrlandmr, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Carolyn,
Thank you for your Review! Our King River Condos are very popular and a great room to sit out on the deck and see the Elk. We hope you come back and visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.