We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful-once again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Murphy's River Lodge to your Saves list
Murphy's River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sip and Paint class
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful-once again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Our 3rd stay---this one after the flood! You welcomed us with open arms. Spacious, squeaky clean room just off the river. Love to listen to the water at night---so relaxing! Love your location-walk to downtown Estes and close to RMNP. Spent one evening in Horseshoe Park watching hundreds of elk and listening to the males bugling. We'll be back!!!!!

Room Tip: We love the river side rooms!
See more room tips
Green Features: Murphy's is very aware of the need to recycle and conserve!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
David,
Thank you for your review! I am glad you came and stayed in Estes Park after the flood. Estes Park worked very hard and very fast to get the town up and running. I am glad you enjoyed your River room. We look forward to your fourth visit with us soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    537
    158
    48
    14
    3
See reviews for
247
354
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Due to the closures of the 2 main ways into Estes Park due to the recent floods, with the only way into Estes Park via the Scenic Highway, easily a 1-2 hr addition to travel both ways we had to change our plans since we were only in town for a long weekend. Becuase of this we had to opt not to add multiple hours of driving to Estes Park and to cancel our reservation at Murphy's River Lodge. When booking the room they do have the odd description that there is a $20.00 cancellation charge, of which they did charge with no response when asked for a refund due to the unforseen act of nature that happened. I will continue to go to Estes Park, it is a lovely place, but will stay somewere that truly knows how to provide customer service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
We did refund your $20.00 cancellation fee. There was a lot going on during the days following the flood. We had hundreds of phone calls and emails to go through after we were allowed to return to our property. I apologize for yours not being processed correctly. We did give people that had to cancel due to the flood a 100% refund. Hope next time your in Estes Park you will come visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We enjoyed our 4 night stay there. It is within a short walk of the main shopping & dining area just like it advertises which worked well for us as my husband sometimes takes the car to fly fish so I am on my own. Breakfast was good with many options and very clean. Would like to have had a safe in the room, but in general it was very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review! funny you mentioned the safes because we are in the process of installing safes in our King River Condos. We look forward to you coming back and staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Murphy's River Lodge. The friendly staff was quite helpful in making us feel welcome. Besides the comfortable room, we especially enjoyed the private deck overlooking the sight and sound of the rapidly flowing Fall River directly below us. It was a great place to relax, breathe the cool mountain air, and drink tea/coffee.

Murphy's is located just a few minutes drive to the east entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park, plus just a few blocks from the quaint Estes Park downtown shopping area which includes restaurants, coffee and curio shops.

We spent a second night at Murphy's Resort located on Lake Estes. Our room included a large window with a beautiful view of the lake. Both the Lodge and Resort staff were friendly and helpful to make a visit an enjoyable one.

David and Sara Hayden

Room Tip: First floor rooms at the lodge on at river level whereas second floor rooms have a better view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had time to relax on the deck and enjoy the river from your room. Our sister Resort (Murphy's Resort) has some very great views of the lake and mountains. I am happy you had a chance to stay at both locations. We hope you return soon and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Lovely king room overlooking the river. Great to hear it outside, especially at night. We would light log in fireplace early in morning and it was something special. Room was good size and had coffee, fridge etc, but having the small sink in bedroom (with no real place to put even a few toiletries around it) as bathroom was so tiny would be more acceptable if room wasn't at premium rate for area. Breakfast room was very nice and well looked after but let down by the food selection being limited - no ham, no cheese for instance. All staff very nice although young guy occasionally on reception should have known how laundry room worked and be able to print off rocking chair photo that didn't make us look as though we had just come up from coal face! Best wishes to all there at this difficult time. We would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for review! I am glad you were able to stay in one of our popular river rooms. Our Complimentary Continental Breakfast offers our guests a selection of extra items not found on just a traditional continental breakfast. Sorry we did not have lunch meat and cheese as a part of our Continental breakfast selection, I will consider the request. Photo quality of your complimentary framed photo depends on the time of day and if the sun is shining. I have talked the gentleman at the front desk that was not sure how to run the laundry room, it was his first week and I was aware that he did not know the information. Hope you are able to come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Colorado, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

After reading many 5 star ratings, my husband and I expected more from Murphy's. We knew it was an older hotel that had been renovated under new management, and it had an indoor pool within walking distance of the main street shopping areas. Plus, the river ran close enough behind some rooms to offer that sound of rushing water to lull us to sleep. A stay at Murphy's included a modest continental breakfast, but if you are looking for updated furnishings, spacious modern bathrooms or a cozy sitting area with a good view, this isn't the place for you. We wanted to love it because the pool was a great size and temperature, and the river sounds were wonderful, but sadly, not really enough to make the price per night a great value. When I had kids, this would have been a good place to stay, but as a later life couple, we would prefer a place that looks less road weary than we do! The housekeeping staff was told they could leave towels the first day and skip cleaning. The next day, we left early to hike, and when we got back near 4pm, the room had still not been cleaned. We are not messy people, but leaving an envelope for a service gratuity should mean you can expect service when you are still checked in. On a Sunday when there are not many new guests coming in, the current customers should be able to return to a clean room before 4 pm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ground floor facing the river, and away from the breakfast room.
See more room tips
Green Features: They left a sign saying that during hot weather, the use of AC might make it difficult to use hair dryers...and out wasn't working anyway. They gave us a back up dryer but didn't replace the wall unit. I guess you could say that conserved energy!
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. I have shared your issues with our housekeeping staff. We hope you return to Estes Park and give us another chance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We recently spent a few days in Estes, and were looking for a place to stay close to town. It was our first stay at Murphy's, and we could not have done better. The rates were very reasonable, the rooms were clean and comfortable, and the people all did everything they could to see that we enjoyed our stay. Coffee in the room, and a river right outside our balcony to sing us to sleep each night. In the morning, we could sit out there and watch the sun come up and the birds visiting the feeders. What more could you ask for? I was concerned that the proximity to town would mean a lot of traffic noise all night long, but I needn't have worried. All we heard from our room by the river was the sounds of the water flowing .... night or day.

We hope Estes is able to bounce back from the terrible flooding very soon. When they do, we will all be back for another visit, and Murphy's will be at the top of our list of great places to stay. In the meantime, we truly want to send them all our very best wishes.

Room Tip: Be sure and check their smaller rooms for a little better price! We had one, and it was just fine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Manager at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our river rooms are very popular. I am glad you pick one during your stay. The rushing water is so peaceful to fall asleep to. Estes Park is bouncing back very quickly. We were closed for a week, but have everything fixed and we are now open. We look forward to you returning to Estes Park and hope you stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.