We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Save Saved
You added Murphy's River Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
stay 6 nights 7th free
Ranked #4 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Aurora, CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at Murphy's River Lodge for the weekend with our 3 young children. The room was very nice and had everything we needed, including a full kitchen, We were right on the river which we all loved. The kids really enjoyed the pool also. Our favorite part of the stay was the incredible staff! Everyone was so friendly, offering our kids snacks and helping with everything we needed. We will be back! The only bad thing I have to say is that someone needs to take a lesson in hard boiling eggs, the hard boiled eggs at breakfast were impossilbe to peel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    490
    141
    42
    14
    2
See reviews for
218
319
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed at Murphy's River Lodge in the fall with our three small girls. While I am generally one to stay only at a well-known chain and prefer hotel-style to motel-style lodging, I was quite pleasantly surprised with our stay. After reading lots of great reviews, we booked here and we felt so welcomed by the manager, Bruce - he made a point of talking to our little girls every morning and offering them a snack of cookies or animal crackers, etc. to take along each day after breakfast. If we had any questions as to what trails were open in the park, he would call and find out for us. Breakfast was good for us...our girls enjoyed the hot chocolate as the mornings were quite chilly. There were games available for use in the dining area, though we did not use them because our kids are so small. We were there in the fall and no one else was there swimming, so Bruce would uncover the pool just for us so that our family could swim. The room we were in was just a basic two queen room, but it had a refrigerator, microwave, and DVD player in it. They also have free movies to borrow in their office, so on a 30 deg. night it was the perfect thing for us to do - borrow a couple movies and have a cozy night in the well-kept room. There were rooms with hot tubs and/or fireplaces and rooms that were more condo-style, but with little ones, we opted for the basic room. We would love to try one with a fireplace or one on the river sometime! The location was fine for us - it was on the edge of town and a bit far for us to walk to get into town with three little ones and how chilly it was, but we prefer to be a little removed from the hustle and bustle of town anyway. For someone without small children, the walk would be nice. The lodge is an older motel that has been renovated, it appeared, but it was done nicely and served us well. We would definitely consider Murphy's River Lodge again if we go back to Estes Park, which we do plan to do. For the price and the unique amenities offered, it is a great place for a family to stay. Thanks for your hospitality, Bruce!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a top choice place! I have stayed at resorts that r fancy and this place is right up there with them! Very comfy beds, clean rooms, fireplace is nice, updated tv, microwave, fridge, shower! Even has a river view from balcony (this room i recomend). It is so peaceful to leave the windows and balcony door open to hear the waterfall sounds of the water off the rocks (very close). I even sat at the table out on my balcony last eve and scetched some art while listening to the wonderful nature! It was very inspiring. This place is so close i could walk to the shops downtown Estes, yet its quaint enough to get away from the hecktic rush of the bussiness:-). And it is real real close drive to the Rocky Mountain national park! We went there also and hiked up to Alberta falls. We had so much fun and thanks again staff/owners for all your help in telling us where the BEST attractions, sights, and food is! It was like you were my very own travel quides lol!!:-) O one more thing! The heated indoor pool and hot hot tub was AWSOME! I specially liked the glass window ceiling above the pool; super neat. And the continental breakfast was one of the best iv had because of the selection, and the breakfast room has balcony seating with views of mountains and the river!!!! Overall very comfy homelike yet fancy enough you fell the hipe!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

What else do you have say when you give 5 stars ! Perfect in all ways one of our best places to stay ever ! Loved it ! We were in a lower condo kitchen corner, pool and hot tub 20 ft away and same for Breakfast nice 2 block walk to Town on river walk , Thankyou keep up the Great Work ! :)

Room Tip: The sleep was low cause sometimes you end up with Elephants above you ! Not there fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Very nice place to stay. Loved the sounds of the creek behind the lodge. Easy to find, but is located a short distance from the shops, but not too far. We had the garden tub room and it was a tiny room, but had everything we needed. We had a problem with black residue in the room jacuzzi, but they gave us a discount for the poor function of the tub. I would stay here again. It was a good value. Staff was friendly. Nice to have movies that can be borrowed from the office. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed during the week in the River condo room and quite frankly, I was surprised at how nice the room was. It was obviously an older building, but stepping inside the door you were met with an updated, nicely adorned room with everything that you would expect from a higher priced hotel. so needless to say I was refreshed by just that. The thing that made our stay so remarkable was the staff. Not only did they make sure to be there when we arrived a little late, they went out of their way to make us feel like we were guests in their home. Meredith even saw us at a local restaurant on her off day and we chatted like we were long lost friends. I can easily say that this was the most enjoyable stay I have had at a hotel. Great room, friends for staff!

Room Tip: Riverside rooms are worth the upgrade if available, so nice to hear the calming sounds of the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spend two nights in the River King Condo and loved it. Could hear the river from the back window that was off the private porch. The room was clean and comfortable. Loved having a full kitchen, even though we really didn't use it. The silverware, knives, pots, pans and glasses were all in good shape and of good quality. The towels actually feel like towels, and not sandpaper like a lot of hotels provide. Owners were very friendly and concerned about our comfort. Staff were all wonderful, too. The only cons I could say is it would be nice to have extra pillows and maybe an extra blanket or throw in the room. Went to the office to a request a pillow and received it with no problems, but it would have been nice to not have to go ask. Other than that small blip, it was perfect. Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Definitely get a river room; it is well worth the extra expense.
See more room tips
Green Features: I like that they don't automatically wash all the towels, even if they are clean.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Business Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.