We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Murphy's River Lodge to your Saves list
Murphy's River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

You couldn't ask for better hosts than those that run Murphy's River Lodge. I can't say enough good things about them and their recommendations. The other thing that I will rave on about is the location. You are close to the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park and also walking distance to many of the restaurants in Estes Park. Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the river. We enjoyed the babbling brook out back as well as the elk that were lounging and eating just feet from our balcony. The bed was very comfortable. The owners did a great job remodeling the rooms. This is a great place if you don't need a ton of amenities. They also serve a continental breakfast which is nice when you're getting ready to go out hiking, site seeing or on a scenic drive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    172
    53
    14
    3
See reviews for
261
392
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My husband and I just returned from Murphy's River Lodge and I can't say enough nice things about it. We took our grand daughters, ages 8 and 4, and there was plenty to entertain them for the weekend. It's a beautiful area for nature walks, and we saw deer, elk, marmots and other wildlife. They have a pool and a hot tub which was very clean. They have an included, ample continental breakfast. The manager endeared himself to my grand daughters by giving them fruit snacks and cookies after they ate a healthy breakfast! The charming shops of Estes Park are within walking distance, and there are lots of affordable restaurants in town. I would go back to the Lodge in a minute! Everyone there was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a deck on the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blountville, Tennessee, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The staff treat you like family. Very clean and comfortable rooms. I really enjoyed the fridge and microwave in the room. My grandsons loved the indoor pool and hot tub. We arrived before the snow storm and liked it so much we stayed two nights. Wish I could have stayed there all week. The front office has free DVD's to check out to help keep the kids occupied when the weather is bad. We had a really great time there and I will be back to stay again. Look no further for a great room, pool for the kids, close to town and RMNP. We grilled out steaks in a snow storm and that was awesome. Tell them the Tennessee GunRunner Hillbilly sent ya....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent Friday & Saturday at Murphy's River Lodge in Estes Park with our neighbors...a weekend get-a-way from the city. What a wonderful weekend! The location is ideal, you can walk into town to eat and shop and yet...elk! Right out side of our room! How totally neat that was! The rooms are perfect, clean, quiet and very comfortable and the staff was excellent! Really hated to check-out and come home! We plan on returning...with our granddaughter and the neighbors with their 5 grand-kids...sometime in the fall. Before we left, we were able to see one of the condo-rooms and decided those would be PERFECT! What a great experience this was!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Murphy's River Lodge for two nights during the recent snow storm. It was so cozy and lovely. Our room was beautifully appointed and very comfortable. I especially appreciated the fridge and microwave as due to the snow, we ended up spending more time in the room than we expected too! Easy walking distance to town and shopping. Very kind/ thoughtful staff. Thank you for a wonderful mini-vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was a great weekend getaway located just a couple of blocks from the west end shops in Estes Park. There was a bike path on the other side of the river that took you all the way into town. We paid a little extra to have a riverside room with a little deck. This would be really great in the summer to sit outside and listen to the babbling brook. We were in 106 right next to the ice machine and vending area that in turn opened up to the indoor pool and hot tub. The hot tube was modern and very nice. The room came with a nice bottle of wine and the office had quite a selection of free DVD's. Very nice friendly people. The continental breakfast was not very good.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river are worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Murphy's River Lodge this past weekend and it was just amazing. The staff was so friendly. Everything we needed was taken care of and we just really felt welcomed. When we first arrived it was so nice to see smiling faces behind the front desk!! The breakfast was a really nice start to the day. The indoor pool and hot tub was kept at the perfect temperature. Get a room on the river, it's worth the upgrade! Don't forget to get your picture taken in the big rocking chair, they even give you a nice picture frame to take home. Thanks a lot Murphy's - this was a wonderful getaway! We will definitely be back soon!!

Room Tip: King River Condo!!! Right on the river and built in fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.