We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Extremely Clean and Fun Place to stay right off a creek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Save Saved
You added Murphy's River Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Murphy's River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
stay 6 nights 7th free
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Littleton, Colorado
1 review
“An Extremely Clean and Fun Place to stay right off a creek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Staying at Murphy's Lodge was a great getaway before Thanksgiving. My only regret is I wish I could have stayed longer. The staff is extremely friendly and do their job very well. I'd have to say I was most impressed with how clean Murphy's Lodge is. I've traveled and stayed in many hotels, motels, lodges, etc., but Murphy's Lodge ranks the cleanest I have ever stayed in. I always expect a little grime here or there (e.g., a little algae in the corners of the shower or some dirt under the couch cushions), but this place was absolutely spotless.

I was also impressed with the how the staff was very accommodating to kids. They have board games and DVDs available in the spacious dinning area, which was full of windows and very welcoming. Although we did not use it, I noticed the pool and hot-tub area were very clean. In fact, my wife noticed the staff cleaning the pool area often throughout the day.

I rank Murphy's Lodge the best place to stay in Estes Park. It is only a walk to downtown or a very short drive to parking. Murphy's Lodge is very accommodating to kids and we are already planning a trip to stay again.

Room Tip: Murphy's Lodge does not have a restaurant, but they have a nice breakfast and restaurants are ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
What a nice review!!! Thank you for noticing the great work our house keeping staff does. I am very fortunate to have such a awesome crew.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    508
    149
    43
    14
    2
See reviews for
235
331
19
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had purchased a Deal Chicken deal for this lodge with little knowledge about it. We were impressed...the staff was friendly, the room was cozy and clean, breakfast was great and it was close to downtown Estes. We definitely will go back. Bring a bottle of wine to sip while sitting by the fire in the fireplace in your room:)

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and get a river room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I always enjoy hearing about people having a nice getaway. Thanks for choosing Murphy's River Lodge!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We were only to stay in Estes Park for one night, but we loved this hotel! The location can't be beat as it was an easy walk into town. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly, the room was clean, large, and comfortable, and the breakfast was great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
When someone from beautiful Alaska gives our Lodge and Estes Park such a nice compliment that is really saying something. Thank You !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel was great! Very comfortable beds, clean bathroom, and had a nice addition with a DVD player in the room (DVD's to rent out in the lobby too) - nice for those chilly nights with a bottle of wine :) Can't wait to go back! VERY close to downtown too!

Room Tip: King rooms along the river have a fire place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Glad you had a great time. Please come back and see us soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A great location, friendly staff and clean rooms, but a bit outdated. Although there is a kitchen they don't provide adequate cooking pans or basics like cooking oil that most places do.. It is also a bit noisy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I read your review and we are going to start leaving cooking oil in each of our lower Condos from now on. We are also going to purchase additional baking pans for each unit. Thank you for helping us become a Lodge that continues to strive to be the best..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We were very happy with our stay here.

Pros:
VERY comfy beds with crisp white duvets- loved sleeping here!
Spacious, super clean rooms with fridge/microwave, flatscreen, dvd player, etc.
Nice modern decor
Great free breakfast in a nice dining room!
Very friendly and helpful staff, extremely accommodating
Nice pool and hot tub
Outdoor fireplace area by the river with chairs and a grill
Free DVD library- we watched two movies on chilly nights :)
Competitive price for the area
Good location- near shops and restaurants

Cons
A little close to the main road, but the rooms are still very quiet.
Shampoo and soap was just so-so quality, but I always bring my own, so not a problem!

Room Tip: Choose a room with a mountain/river view if you can. 2nd floor seems nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for your comments. We have decided to go green when possible at Murphy's and the soap and shampoo dispensers prevent us from having to throw away thousands of partially used containers. We do have some bottles at front desk if you request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I visited Estes Park for the second weekend in September. This was our second visit to Murphy's River Lodge. We took are dogs with us this visit. The staff are excellent and the room was very clean. There are two pet friendly areas and one area has picnic tables (no shade). We stayed in a room on the lower level on the right side. We could hear footsteps each time someone walked up the stairs to the second floor. We did hear footsteps above us during the night the first night but not the second night. The hotel was full both nights. I could hear the shower in the next room between the bathroom wall in the morning. Other than some noise, we slept well in the comfortable bed. The breakfast was better this year than last year and the coffee was excellent. If you are traveling without pets, I would request a room in the center area with river view. This is not as close to the road. The location is just short walk west of town, so you don't have to worry about trying to find parking in town. It is a very short drive to the entrance to the park.

Room Tip: The walls are thin, so bring earplugs. Try to book early and get a river view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We always look forward to seeing our repeat customers. Thanks for your support !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.