We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Murphy's River Lodge to your Saves list
Murphy's River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Murphy's Lodge is the perfect place to stay. It is located walking distance from downtown and very close to Rocky Mountain National park. The rooms were just as the pictures describe- very clean and modern. Two thumbs up for Murphy's Lodge! Can't wait to go back next summer!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    172
    53
    14
    3
See reviews for
261
392
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Hotel is very old and out dated. They have tryed to update but they can not upgrade the structure well enough to make walls and floors thicker or stop noise traveling . Rear Deck had a step up of about 2' to get up from the ground. They still use old style keys not very safe in my mind.No railing to stop children from steping off a 4' drop off into the river at the rear of your room. once again safe? Don't get me wrong it was clean and good location but not even close to a $160 a night room,more like a $69 room at best. Good Luck

Room Tip: Ask For the newer blg
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MurphysLodge, Owner at Murphy's River Lodge, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
I would like to respond to a couple of your concerns -- Most people really enjoy being by the River and actually pay extra to have a river room. You did pay for a River room then complained that you were by the river . We have our guests sign a agreement to be careful when enjoying the river and to always watch their children. Since this was a concern of yours why not just rent one of our non river rooms? Regarding our Lodge it was completely remodeled Jan of 2011 . Regarding noise - If you had a neighbor that was being loud we would have been happy to talk to them if you would have let us know. Regarding the step off the deck- I am having maintenance investigate and if a step is needed it will be added immediately. If we can make any improvements to make a guests stay more enjoyable we will do it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, CO
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

After making reservations and asking for a quiet room in the "comment" field, the folks at Murphy's emailed me to describe where my room would be and offering alternative rooms if I thought a different room would be quieter. In all the reservations I have made, this has never happened previously and is indicative of the friendliness of the hotel staff! I stayed with the original room and it was very quiet. The hotel is just a few blocks from the business district of Estes, so close enough to easily walk to but just far enough away to be out of the traffic and pedestrian zones. The room was updated, large and very nice. They picked warm and modern colors for the walls which gave the room a very comfortable feel. The bed and beddings were excellent. Bathroom was fine. My room had a window in the bathroom and two in the bedroom, all with screens, which allowed fresh air to blow through. There was an a/c if I needed it. The folks at the front desk were helpful in suggesting restaurants, sites, and so forth. Overall, a great choice in Estes Park. Would be my first choice when going back to Estes. The breakfast buffet was only average, with typical cereals, oatmeal, fruit, muffins and danish, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, juices and coffee. No hot trays but more than adequate for me for a two-night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights, second floor, one king bed. The Lodge was 100% booked. The room was meticulously clean, great bedding, lots of space. The only downside to the room was the lack of lighting in the closet area. The staff was warm and accommodating; happy to share information about local activities and restaurants. The lodge is on the edge of downtown Estes Park. We walked to restaurants, shopping and free concerts in the park. There is also a free shuttle operated by Estes Park that stops within half a block of the lodge. We will definitely return to Murphy's Lodge!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs and did not face the river, so no balcony or view, but very quiet even with th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Spent a weekend at Murphy's in room 204. Excellent 2nd floor room overlooking river. Nice balcony with chairs and table. Room very spacious, clean, fireplace, fridge but a weird setup. Couch way too far away from tv. Bathroom clean but did not like liquid soap and shampoo in shower. Reminded us of our gym back home. Great little basket in bathroom with various accessories which was a terrific idea. Staff very helpful and extremely nice. Coin op washer and dryer which we took advantage of. Nice pool area. Continental breakfast in morning. Close enough to walk to town.

Room Tip: We had corner condo room on 2nd floor overlooking river - room 204. Loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartwell, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a great location for visiting the Rocky Mountain National Park and the town of Estes Park. It is a very short walk into town for restaurants and easy drive to the park entrances. The room was large and very comfortable and the staff was friendly and accommodating. Breakfast provided with the room rate was a nice way to start the morning before hiking in the park. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Spent two nights in #204 upper condo unit with a balcony over the river. Lots of room, very clean, comfy bed and friendly staff. Just far enough away from the crowds of downtown but close enough to walk to all of the shops and restaurants. Easy access to the park and trails. Will return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#4 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.