We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Estes Park!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Murphy's River Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Murphy's River Lodge to your Saves list
Murphy's River Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Sip and Paint class
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay in Estes Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

First of all, the front staff was very professional and friendly. We were only there for one night. We stayed in a condo room on the river. The room has been remodeled and everything was wonderful. Pillow top mattress made us sleep like we were at home. Definitely, worth staying there. Close to town and to Rocky Mountain National Park.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    549
    159
    48
    14
    3
See reviews for
251
361
20
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I wanted to get away for the weekend and chose Murphy's at the recommendation of his sister.

While the exterior is still under renovation, the rooms are lovely. In fact our room may have been larger than than my first apartment. The beds and linens were obviously high quality and our room over looked the river. We spent a good deal of Saturday afternoon on our private balcony watching a small herd of elk graze.

The pool and hot tub were open and awesome.

Something that I didn't realize before we went was that the upstairs and downstairs units could be connected via a private staircase creating a townhouse like condo. I am planning on renting one of these for my sister's wedding in the area.

I would recommend this lodge to anyone looking for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We stayed at Murphy's River lodge for weekend getaway and we were very pleased with room, amenities and proximity to the shops. The rooms were large, nicely remodeled and the beds were so comfortable we inquired about where to buy one!

While we were there, the pool was open, as was the hot tub and both were very nice and relaxing.

We very much look forward to another stay soon.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Falls, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

Very comfortable room, simple attractive decor with a modern vibe. A good showerhead - a detail I appreciated. This old motel has been updated the right way. Free Wi-FI, big desk with adjacent outlets for recharging your iPad, iPod, cell phone.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011 via mobile

Booked a King room by the river for a couple days of relaxation. When I arrived I was informed that the staff had moved me to a 2nd floor "condo" room due to construction. Turned out the room they moved me to was just fine. I still had a patio overlooking the river and wound up with a great view of the mountains. I will probably book the "condo" room next visit instead.

The room was big and very nice. Comfortable bed and even had a fireplace. Room also came with a fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Location was great and walking distance to downtown. I've stayed at other hotels in Estes Park but this is the nicest place I've stayed and for the price, the best value. My only issue was the pull out bed/couch in the room. Not the most comfortable to sit on. But its far from a deal breaker and the only negative issue experienced.

The construction was not a big deal and as its off-season in Estes, this type of work is expected at this time of year. The owner felt bad about moving me and made things right in a satisfactory manner. And based on the quality of the room they moved me to, it wasn't even really necessary but it speaks well of the commitment of the owner to delivering a great place to stay.

Murphy's River Lodge will be the place I stay on return visits if I'm not camping. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2011

Murphy's River Lodge in Estes Park was a wonderful experience. The room was clean and newly updated, the service was friendly and professional. We enjoyed our stay and would go again!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

Wanted to put in a real positive plug for the wonderful time I spent this week at Murphy's River Lodge in Estes Park. Big kudos to the great management husband/wife team of Troy and Shelley. Make sure you say "hi" as they really go all out to make your stay memorable an a pleasure. Really enjoyed my second-story room with the balcony, right on the river and the tremedously comfortable bed. I also really enjoyed being able to walk directly into the downtown located a little over a block to the East. I have always had to look for parking while visiting Estes and being this close w/o having to look for parking was an unexpected pleasure. Again, thanks Troy and Shelley for a wonderful, relaxing and productive time in your town. We will definately be back and also pass the word about your great lodge.

R. G. E.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Murphy's River Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murphy's River Lodge

Address: 481 West Elkhorn Ave., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#5 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Murphy's River Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Murphy's River Lodge is located 2 blocks from downtown Estes Park and backs to the Fall River. Murphy's was remodeled in 2011 and has a reputation of having the friendliest staff in town. Your stay at Murphy's comes with free wifi,free breakfast,indoor heated pool and hot tub,20 River front rooms ,6 pet friendly rooms and several value rooms for our friends on a tighter budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Murphy's River Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murphy`s River Hotel Estes Park
American Wilderness Hotel
American Wilderness Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Murphy's River Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.