We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful setting, great closeup view of the river, friendly and helpful manager” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Pines

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riverview Pines to your Saves list
Riverview Pines
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   1150 W. Elkhorn, P.O.Box 4545, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
1/2 off or a night FREE!
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“beautiful setting, great closeup view of the river, friendly and helpful manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Riverview Pines for one night in September, 2010. This is a very busy time in Estes Park. We were greeted by Mike, the owner, and shown what was available at that time. He was very friendly and welcoming. The room was very basic. The best part about it is that it faced the river and the view was beautiful. The room is large and well furnished and included a microwave and a small refrigerator. The bed was comfortable. The location is ideal; a short distance from downtown Estes Park and 3-4 miles from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. We would definitely stay here again.
My favorite part of our stay was the view of the river and the open space and access to it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    43
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
59
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

Riverview Pines is in a lovely setting with the river running through it. The grounds and cabins are very nicely maintained. However, the cabins appear to have been remodeled to accommodate a king size bed and Jacuzzi in the bedroom. Though the big bed is nice, the angled wall between the bathroom and the bedroom doesn’t go all the way to the ceiling in what is about a 4-foot section to allow for the attic opening. Also, in order to open the blinds by the Jacuzzi which is next to the bed, one must step into the tub. The bathroom has a bi-fold door and its placement in the corner next to the closet makes it awkward to open. Because there are no handles on the inside of the door, the door itself is very dirty from all the hands that have pushed it open.

There is a see-through fireplace between the bedroom and the kitchen where there is a very small hide-a-bed. The aforementioned wall that doesn’t go to the ceiling means that you can’t turn on the bathroom light if somebody is sleeping in the bed. The see-through fireplace means you can’t turn on the light in the kitchen without lighting up the bedroom. Neither is conducive to privacy.

We were put off by the various warning signs around the room (see pictures). The notices could have been put in the information binder.

The room would be fine for a couple, but for those traveling with children, it really doesn’t fit the bill. The angle of the bed in the room, as well as the Jacuzzi make the room too tight to put in a rollaway. So if you have more than one extra person, forget it.

To recommend or not to recommend is not easily answered. Very nice, but...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Platte, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

The location of Riverview pines could not be better. It is just outside of Estes Park and only three miles from the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. The grounds of Riverview Pines are very nice and well kept. You can fish in the river, play on the playground, start a campfire, or go for a bike ride on the trail. The cabins are nice and comfortable. The only negative was the Wi-Fi signal was sketchy at best.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

My sister and I with our 3 grandchildren, ages 8, 10 and 13, stayed one night at Riverview. We were in Cabin 6 and could not have ask for a more perfect cabin. Very clean, comfortable beds and the view was terrific. Met folks from Florida with teenagers and the kids all had a great time with the bonfire and making some'mores. I would highly recommend for a family vacation or just a few nights stay. We loved it. Ann, Oklahoma

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2010

First, there are no 'cheap' place to stay in Estes Park. With that said, we chose Riverview Pines based on the TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The location was perfect, just outside of town and away from the traffic, only 3 miles from the park entrance. We were immediately greeted by the resident dogs and Mike who was extremely helpful. He's born and raised in the area and made great suggestions to local activities. The front door of our cabin (#8) was right on the Fall River, it was so nice hear the water at night. Two bedrooms, three beds, full kitchen, fireplace, big front porch with seating. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

The pictures on their website showing the river running through the grounds accurately reflect the beautiful ambiance of their common picnic area. What you don't see is the threadbare furniture, rickety unusable chairs, no linens for the sofa bed, and best of all, no A/C when it is 92 degrees in June. Our unit was upstairs, and with three box fans and all windows open, we were unable to get to sleep until 9:30 when it finally cooled off. The "free wi-fi" was unusable more than a few feet outside their office, and the manager's statement of "Good luck finding an open room with A/C" was not helpful. It took one phone call to find a nice clean COOL room the next morning at a better rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

After much research on the area hotels we chose Riverview Pines and so glad we did! With peaceful, beautiful grounds & a hot-tub & bonfire right on the river we really enjoyed ourselves. The location is just down the street from the downtown but off the beaten path enough to give you a quiet, secluded stay you're looking for. The majordomo became an instant friend & I'd bet any lodge/cabin would have a hard time beating the value from Riverview.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverview Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Pines

Address: 1150 W. Elkhorn, P.O.Box 4545, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverview Pines 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful riverfront and mountain setting with great views. Go fishing right out your front door. Park-like setting; lots of lawn area to play football or badminton. Abundant wildlife BBQ/Picnic Area/Playground and an outdoor hot tub at the office. Luxury cabins with full kitchens and everything you need. Rooms on the river with two queen beds bathtub and shower. A fire pit at night for roasting marshmallows. One mile from town and three miles to the park. We are also pet friendly. Free WIFI and guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riverview Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Pines Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.