We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs updating but very nice and cozy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverview Pines

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riverview Pines to your Saves list
Riverview Pines
2.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   1150 W. Elkhorn, P.O.Box 4545, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
1/2 off or a night FREE!
Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Needs updating but very nice and cozy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stopped there for just one night so we didn't have a chance to experience all that they have to offer, but given a choice we will probably stay there again.

First the problems:
The biggest problem that we had with them was lack of A/C which while normally is not a problem in Estes Park was something we were missing this time. Granted, we were there during the heat wave that Colorado never experienced before, but Estes Park does warm up during the day. Additionally, I had to unplug the in-room refrigerator at night as it was quite noisy. Also, it appears that the water in that area is very hard and doesn't wash up soap very well. As the result, the bottom of the bath tub was very slippery - just something to keep an eye on. The room itself looked very well maintained and clean. The bathroom looked like it came from 50s and in desperate need of updating. Everything worked and it was clean but very old. The lodge also didn't provide any shampoos or any other toiletries. We didn't ask for it in advance nor we really needed any, but something to be aware of. While the room was very clean, I did find a used coffee pod in the coffee maker which makes me think that housekeeping is not quite what it should be.

I'd recommend trying to get there when there is still a light out. Turning into their property when going from Boulder at night is virtually impossible - they have the sign but the turn is not lit up. Also, it took us some time to find the building we were on as the territory is not very well mapped or lit so if you don't know where you're going it may take some time finding your way around.

On the plus side, their property is beautiful: well groomed and bordering the creek. If you happen to be in a room with the balcony overlooking the creek I'd suggest you take advantage of it - makes a nice place to relax. I noticed a nice kids playground so the property is kid friendly. We saw a dog in one of the rooms so I assume it's dog friendly too. The lodge is priced reasonably and location is good as well - 5 min to RMNP and couple of min to all the local attractions, restaurants and city center.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the creek for views but keep in mind that it maybe noisy at night with the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    43
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
59
63
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We stayed in a ground floor room in the Rooms on the River. The room was only about 50 feet from the bank of a beautiful stream. The grounds were superb with chairs and benches on the bank of the stream. They provide a bonfire at night complete with marshmallows for toasting. The rooms are older but clean and comfortable, and the beds were comfortable. The entrance to the Rocky Mountain Park is right down the road, and the hotel is close to several restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BERKELEY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Cute cabins set along the river just a mile from busy Estes Park. The cabins are fully equipped to cook, have nice TVs, and even include a washer & dryer. We enjoyed sitting outside along the river, there are many benches and chairs. They also provide wood to make an evening fire. We also enjoyed using the BBQs, each cabin has their own. Great spot!

Room Tip: Cabins 1&2 are a bit too sunny in the afternoons, try and get cabins in the shade
See more room tips
Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

We booked duplex cabin #07....clean cabin, fully stocked kitchen, great location between Estes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park entrance.

Inspite of the road running right behind the cabin, there was not much traffic and no traffic noise. The stream runs right in front of the cabins. Early morning we had elk all over the front and back yard :-) :-)

We were travelling with our 14 month old who loved running around the yard, touching the water, playing in their little play area...great weekend trip :-)

Room Tip: Room 7A is fairly private and has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Ks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed here many times and will keep coming back. Clean, spacious rooms. great staff. Enjoy the peace and quiet by the river.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012 via mobile

You need to try this place just once, and you will never go anywhere else. We stayed here because we could bring our dogs, but that is what got us here not what will bring us back. What will bring us back will be Anna the way she truly cared for us and our dogs. Well kept up, and they were flexible to our needs. This is a five star for not only location, but for clean and well kept up facilities. Thank you Anna and thank you God for introducing us to this place!
Bill and Rebecca ( owners of Buddy and Sidney)

Stayed September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We looked at several places in Estes and liked that this one was a bit quieter. It's not really "tucked away" but it did not really get road noise either since it is in a good spot. The staff was super nice and the cabin had all we wanted, including elk rught out front in the afternoon. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a detached cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverview Pines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverview Pines

Address: 1150 W. Elkhorn, P.O.Box 4545, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverview Pines 2*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful riverfront and mountain setting with great views. Go fishing right out your front door. Park-like setting; lots of lawn area to play football or badminton. Abundant wildlife BBQ/Picnic Area/Playground and an outdoor hot tub at the office. Luxury cabins with full kitchens and everything you need. Rooms on the river with two queen beds bathtub and shower. A fire pit at night for roasting marshmallows. One mile from town and three miles to the park. We are also pet friendly. Free WIFI and guest laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riverview Pines reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverview Pines Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverview Pines, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.