We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very popular” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House

Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House
820 Moraine Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-8005
970-577-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 119 Restaurants in Estes Park
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Very popular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We went for a late afternoon lunch and it was crowded. The food was good, the bar selection was great and for a resort community this is really the best bang for the buck for food, fun and entertainment .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    807
    472
    109
    33
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I have only eaten hear twice, and both have been take out. Whenever we pick up our food, the place is absolutely insanely packed with numerous people waiting for tables. Quite a popular place!

he food is absolutely delicious. My family loves BBQ and love that we can enjoy some on our annual trips to Estes Park. We always get sampler dishes and there isn't anything we didn't like. My favorite is the pulled pork and my father and husband love the ribs. They fall right off the bone. The coleslaw, bakes beans, and string beans are yummy. The sweet potato fries are a must!

I have to say that both times we have ordered our food they have forgotten an item of our order. We laugh it off and each time they were nice enough for us to get that side item another time. Very nice people.

Since we do take out we haven't tried the beer selection.

If you are a BBQ don't miss Smokin' Dave's! I'm not sure I would wait in the long lines for a table (I don't like long table waits anywhere), so my advice is to order take out and enjoy this delicious meal in your cabin viewing the mountains!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

This was one of the better meals we had in Estes Park during our 4 day stay.
I ordered the catfish dinner which was great. There were 2 large portions of lightly breaded catfish, a combo of sweet potato and regular fires, cole slaw and hush puppies.
My husband ordered the pulled pork sandwich with fries and said they were both very good.

My major complaint was the parking situation. There aren't enough parking spaces to accommodate the number of diners.
When we left there were literally 3 or more cars waiting for my parking spot. It took me forever to find one when when we arrived for an early dinner.
It was not a good situation. I barely had enough room to pull out of their small parking lot.
Plan accordingly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“YUM!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

Go here if you are in Estes Park. It is amazing. Massive amounts of food for a very good price. Delicious food and you must try all of the sauces!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, CO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Brisket and Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is the best restaurant in Estes Park. I was referred here by a local that said this is where they all go. I find the brisket and the ribs the best menu items. I am not fond of their pulled pork (and I am a pulled pork fan) or their chicken.
Fantastic selection of beers!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.