We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brisket and Ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House

Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House
820 Moraine Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-8005
970-577-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 118 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Broomfield, CO
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Brisket and Ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

This is the best restaurant in Estes Park. I was referred here by a local that said this is where they all go. I find the brisket and the ribs the best menu items. I am not fond of their pulled pork (and I am a pulled pork fan) or their chicken.
Fantastic selection of beers!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    884
    498
    116
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Michigan
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Party of 13”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We all stopped here for lunch after crossing over rocky mt natl park. Food was good. We were sat in a corner as we were a little loud. Had a great time. Prices were not bad.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Bustling stop for great grub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stopped here by fluke and it was worth it. Just outside of town en-route to Estes Park. The food was fresh and the beer cold. Great stop for hungry hikers. I loved the vibe too.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Haven, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love their BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great BBQ, and I love their sweet potato fries!!! A little crowded in the summer, so I don't go as much as I would like to...My favorite is the pulled pork sandwich. They could use some help with re-doing their bathroom....a shower curtain doesn't cut it for a door. They need to expand their dining room. Good bar. Great views, is you can get next to a window facing the park.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food and takeout friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

For our first day in Estes Park we had some family visiting for the evening at our cabin at the YMCA of the Rockies. We decided that takeout would be better than trying to shop for groceries or going out on a busy Saturday night in Estes. Take-out BBQ seemed like a good alternative - best of both worlds. We stopped at Smokin' Dave's about 6:00 pm and it was already really busy. But they happily took our take-out order and promised to have it ready in 45 minutes while we did a small grocery run for breakfast items. We stopped back 45 minutes later and everything was ready, and the place was now in full-on Saturday night jam-packed mode.

When we first walked in I knew it would be great - it smelled heavenly with the scent of smoked meat and BBQ sauce. The servers were very sweet and helpful even though they were slammed with customers. When we got back to the cabin and set everything out, it was quickly devoured. We got the large family dinner that EASILY served 6 adults and 3 small children with a small portion of leftovers. I should say that we are 6 adults with very healthy appetites! The meal included the shredded pork, brisket,a whole chicken and a whole rack of ribs. We got the corn-on-the-cob, cole slaw, baked beans and potato salad as sides and it came with 5 sweet corn muffins. All were delicious.

If you are patient and want the lively atmosphere of a popular BBQ joint/tavern, eating in would probably be fun. If you have a place to gather a large group, the family dinners as takeout is a great option! I would definitely eat here again on a return trip to Estes Park.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.