We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House

Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House
820 Moraine Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-8005
970-577-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 114 restaurants in Estes Park
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Oak Ridge
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Very popular BBQ restaurant. Good BBQ with a nice selection of sauces to enhance the BBQ. Nice beer selection. Service was average.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    671
    380
    90
    28
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best BBQ Joint in Estes Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I am from Texas so I didn't expect to get good barbecue in Colorado. Well I was wrong. The food is great! The baked beans were the best I have ever had. The atmosphere was rustic but nice. I would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't Miss This BBQ!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was the first recommendation of all the locals that we asked for a recommendation. Get the combo platter and lots of ribs - oh heaven...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Decent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The service was great at this location and the food was very good. We ordered the Big Khuna meal and had plenty of leftovers! Be prepared for a wait as this place was busy every time we drove by...

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It's Good - Just Enjoy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is our usual stop in Estes and we visited recently in the later afternoon as the clouds rolled in over the Park so being too crowded wasn't an issue. We enjoy the food, especially the brisket and there's a kids menu for the boys. If you're a visitor, there are lots of great Colorado beers to try on tap.

For a casual spot in a tourist town, we've always found the service to be friendly even if it's not always 100% spot on. Estes isn't exactly known as a culinary destination but we always enjoy Dave's. Some have commented that it seems expensive but again Estes is largely a visitor destination and food around town can be a little pricey. I've had lots of bland, overpriced Mexican food and bad pizza in town... Just sayin'.... try Dave's.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.