We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, service could improve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House

Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House
820 Moraine Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517-8005
970-577-7427
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 118 Restaurants in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Estes Park, Colorado
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service could improve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The food was really good. The Carolina pulled pork sandwich was excellent and I lived in the Carolinas for 5 years. You also got a lot of food for your money. They had some interesting beers on tap to try. We had a few problems with the service though - forgetting to order one of our meals and sitting with empty glasses for a while. Even with that service, the good food and the reasonable prices win out and I will be going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    884
    498
    116
    34
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“YUMMY AS USUAL!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Great food...fast delivery. They try very hard though to get you in and out. Tried to take plates away 3 times before we finished eating.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Beer Pairings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

This was my 2nd visit and the food was great again! Draft beer selection is limited but pairs very well with the food. Good bottle selection. It took a while for the server to get to us but it seemed like she had half of the restaurant to take care of. That being said, she still did a fantastic job! I will be returning to and recommending this place!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ball Ground, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I saw the great reviews for Smokin' Daves on Tripadvisor and wanted to try it out. What a disappointment! The restaurant itself is run down and the food was terrible. My husband ordered the pull pork plate and we were surprise to see the pork full of fat and it did not look like pork. The side items were cold and baked beans tasted like salsa with black beans. My husband could not eat it. I had the brisket. It a little bit better, but very salty.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro, New Jersey
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Good Inexpensive BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I went to dinner here a week ago on a recommendation after visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. I can't say anything good or bad about the decor, it looks like someplace to eat and drink in the middle of nowhere. I was there because I heard the food was good anyway. It was after 8PM on a Sunday and I had a 2 hour drive back to my hotel so I was in a bit of a hurry. I liked the way the menus were printed on what looked like a newspaper. I was seated right away and a servr politely came over and made a couple recommendations which I went with. They have a nice beer menu as most places in Colorado do .I order the double meat combo with ribs and sausage. Both were very tasty with a nice amount of smoke and char. I especially loved the sausage. For sides I ordered green beans which were loaded with bacon and onions, very good. along with the potato salad which was extremely good. My beer and meal came to less than $20 ($24) with tip. I made it just in time as 2 guys came in shortly after me and were told the kitchen was closing. I'm glad I made it and would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House also viewed

 

Been to Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokin' Dave's BBQ & Tap House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.