We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Green pool, rude pool and same crafts every year” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jellystone Park of Estes

Jellystone Park of Estes
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jellystone Park of Estes
5495 US Highway 36, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Green pool, rude pool and same crafts every year”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

Campground is good for kids - there are activities scheduled throughout the day; however I would suggest visiting only 1 time because they do the same crafts every year. My son has made the same "peanut butter" bird feeder now for past 2 summers. It is beginning to get a little old. They should really come up with some new ideas for making crafts. The pool was green again for the 3rd year in a row. None of the staff knows how to correctly take care of a pool. It will burn your eyes because they overdo the chemicals in the pool. If you ask the staff about it they will tell you its green because of the pollin in the air and get very defensive about it. The ladies do not appear to like their jobs because they are very rude children and parents. They really should move in because they are pretty cranky. I think they have been there too long. Its an OK place if you plan on going only once, but don't go again unless you want to do the same things over and over again. Also, be sure to bring only 1 car; otherwise, they charge you $5.00 a day to park a 2nd car. Its all about how much money they can make off you at this campground.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    17
    4
    2
    5
See reviews for
39
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topeka, KS
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We just returned from a 7 day camping excursion to the Estes Park area. We stayed at Jellystone and from a guy who has stayed at lots of campgrounds this place gets rave reviews from me. We stayed in spots 59 and 60. Spot 60 is by far the parks best spot. Facilities were nice and kept well maintained and clean, lots of activities for kids, great setting (after touring every campground we could find in estes park this one was by far and away the best) lots of trees and wilderness not a big parking lot with campers parked 10 feet apart. Highly reccomend a stay here for your camping in the Estes Park area. And only a 5 minute drive to Estes Park.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

Having never been to a "Jellystone" our expreience was great! We travel with a trailer and had a nice spot up top (#61) we hiked early in the AM from our campsite to a beautiful spot overlooking Estes and took beautiful family pics! The staff were incredibly friendly taking time to get to know our 3 year old (and 10 mos.) old by name. Fun games, yogi tractor rides, etc. My daughter couldn't get enough. Location is great, close drive to Estes or RM Nat'l

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Big disappointment! My family and I enjoy camping to get away from it all, and enjoy the outdoors. This was not that! We had a campsite that was about 25 feet from Highway 36--and the cars never stop! If you have an RV or are hard of hearing, than this might not bother you, however we tent camp and heard nonstop cars, babies crying and a diesel truck driving at all hours of the night. This would probably be a good campsite if you're in an RV, you have small kids, as they have activities--but it was just too loud. As per their policy, even though we checked out after only 1 night, we had to pay for 3. We moved to a beautiful, quiet campsite inside Rocky Mtn National Park--and had a great rest of the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

This place is great for the kids. Pool, playground, putt-putt golf, Yogi, arts and crafts, candy bar bingo. They are exhausted by the end of the day. Just the way they should be. Love and will go back more.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco,Tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

I will never stay at Jellystone Park again. I came from another campground/resort in South Fork, Colorado and this place couldn't compare! We stayed in two different cabins. A 2 bedroom that was 15 ft. from the main road and we heard 18 wheelers, cars, etc. going by all hours of the day and "something" was living in the attic of this place. I was hoping it was just chipmunks and not mice or rats! The second place was an efficiency type cabin with a full size bed and two twin beds. We had 5 people so this was quite tight as you can imagine. They had no "roll aways" for us to use. Everything just seemed run down and needing maintenance. There was no house keeping to speak of so getting fresh towels was an inconvenience and we had to take our trash out to this trash bin that was at the bottom of this hill. The "heated outdoor pool" they advertise is a nice green color. Yuck. The area is not bike friendly, so don't bother bringing your bikes. My daughter ventured to ride down a steep hill and tore up her knees pretty good and almost accidentally rode into the main street! Very scarey. I would definitely recommend you stay at a different place. I'm looking into Elk Meadow Lodge or the YMCA for next summer. The only plus about this place was that it was 5 minutes from downtown Estes Park. We spent most of our time there or at the Rocky Mountain National Park.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2008

We just returned from a 4-night stay at Jellystone, Estes Park, and want to warn others as to what to expect, should you consider this location.

My husband and I rented a 2-bedroom Cindy Bear cabin because we wanted a separate bedroom for my 86-year old mother. There was a smell in her room during our entire stay, and the 3-drawer bureau in her room actually had only 2 drawers -- one was entirely missing.

The kitchen windown had a crack running the length of it diagonally, and the refrigerator kickplate was missing. Turning on the faucet in the kitchen sink meant getting completely sprayed in the stomach and neck with water. The kitchen was furnished with an adequate number of dishes and silverware, but only one small terry dish towel, no dishcloth, and an empty liquid detergent bottle.

The toilet paper holder in the bathroom was falling off the wall, and the two couch/futons in the livingroom could not be fully folded upright, so you sat in a half-reclining position at all times.

There was very little grass anywhere in the park, and none around our cabin, meaning that with each footstep anyone took into our cabin, they were tracking in dirt, small pebbles, and mud. When we walked around the park, we had to be aware of all the potholes on all the paths and "roads", and my mother never did try to go for walks for fear that she would twist an ankle in the holes.

Our cabin was about 15 feet from the highway, so we heard every car, truck, and motorcycle going into or out of Estes Park during the night. We did not use the pool, nor would we have wanted to, since the water was green.

We were at Jellystone for a family reunion and other family members staying in cabins had similar experiences. The loft cabins had beds so close to the ceiling that anyone over ten years old who tried to turn over would hit the ceiling. The hot water heaters were good for one hot shower only. One family member found fresh mouse droppings inside a bed on the fourth night, so packed up and left right then and there. And there was no recourse since you must rent the cabins for a minimum of four nights during the peak summer season. There was a mouse trap in our kitchen pantry also, but it remained empty during our stay - thankfully!

We also found the office staff to be very curt and unfriendly. When we checked in (writing a check for $411, which was the additional half we owed - having sent the first half a year ago to hold our reservation), the clerk asked if we needed additional ice or firewood. I asked if that cost extra, considering the price we were already paying, and was told, "Well, of course!" When one family from our group reported that there were not enough sheets and towels in their cabin, the office clerk would not believe them. Only after another employee went to the cabin to verify it for himself were they given additional linens.

Our reunion was a success, thanks to a great family, the wonders of nature, and the ability to spend time in nearby Rocky Mountain National Park. But I would sincerely encourage future campers and visitors to Estes Park to look elsewhere for a place to stay. At $189/night for our small 2-bedroom run-down cabin, I would believe you could do much better at a different location. The photos on Jellystone's website are very deceiving, and obviously the Jellystone corporate offices are not monitoring properties that carry their name. We will never stay at another Jellystone, given our experiences at this one.

  • Liked — Mountain location
  • Disliked — Run-down facilities, rude staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Jellystone Park of Estes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jellystone Park of Estes

Address: 5495 US Highway 36, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 73 Specialty lodging in Estes Park
Also Known As:
Jellystone Park Of Estes Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jellystone Park of Estes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Jellystone Park of Estes to your Saves list