We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly and clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Timber Creek Chalets

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Timber Creek Chalets
Save
You added Timber Creek Chalets to your Saves list
2115 Fall River Rd., Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Santa Fe
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pet friendly and clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here because I needed a place for me and my dog to stay for three nights.

On my way to Rocky Mountain National Park, I saw the chalets and their sign saying they were pet friendly. I called the off-site operator, and was able to get a deal--stay two nights and get the third night free. (It's the off season now). The pet charge is $15 per pet per night. Worth it to me, because my dog gets traumatized in kennels.

They also had a large fridge and a gift pack of small chocolates, cocoa packets, trail mix, and microwaveable popcorn. This was a nice element I wasn't expexcting.

Also, when I checked in at the Fawn Valley Lodge (which is about a mile away and closer to the Park, and where guests of the chalets check in during the off-season) I found out I could check out up to two DVD's at a time to watch in my room. They have a flat screen TV that plays DVDs. It was great. I watched Kubrick's The Shining and three other movies during my stay.

Last, they have a wood-burning fireplace (with free wood) and a hot tub.

Room Tip: The quiet hours are from 10pm to 8am. There were not many guests since it was the off season, but d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    43
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
56
51
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I was a little wary about staying at a "pet friendly" place because of cleanliness. That was no problem here! Very cute place, perfectly located between Estes Park and RMNP. We had a fireplace and a little patio to enjoy the mountain air, and our dog had plenty of room and a side area to explore. We will staying here again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
212 reviews 212 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

I've stayed here multiple times, and will definitely be coming back. Why? Well here are my list of reasons:

- They are easy to book online. Try finding another set of awesome, not TOO rustic accommodations along Fall River Road that has an online website you can book through.

- While the units are all right next to each other, and some are connected, they are backed into their own little corner of the hill. You feel like you're actually in a cabin, while still being right off Fall River Road and an easy drive to downtown Estes. No special vehicles are needed to get to these places. It's also nice and quiet.

- The insides are decorated like a cabin, and some units even have full stoves, etc. Not all do though, so check the amenities for your specific unit before bringing up a ton of raw meat to cook. The insides are well updated and clean.

- I've seen elk right outside of the units multiple times while I've stayed here. They're easiest to see in the morning.

- Being on Fall River Road, you're close to the entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park.

Room Tip: Check the amenities for your specific unit - some units have full kitchens while others don't ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reedsburg, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

I will return in the future! We staryed in Unit 11 off season, and had a great experience: clean, cozy, QUIET, warm, friendly, helpful staff. No complaints. The decor was up to date with a flat screen TV. We were able to borrow DVD's for free from a very large selection. The king sized bed was very comfortable. Extra blankets and pillows. The kitchen was well equipped with a full size fridge, stove top and mini dishwasher (which I did not use). The base board electric heaters were warm and quiet. (It was 23* outside). The staff at Fawn Valley Inn where we checked in down the road were great. For example, we had an early check out the last morning and the desk girl suggested just leaving the keys and the borrowed DVD's in the room rather than running up the road to drop the key in the key drop box. Nice touch was a goody bag and bottled water. The place was so quiet that I could hear the quartz wall clock ticking during the night. Therer was a wood fireplace in the room, too. It was a great value Off Season: stay 2 nights, get third free. Location was very good: 5 minutes fromt he NE entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park. I'm done looking for other places to stay when in Estes Park. Timber Creek Chalet was great.

Room Tip: Suites #11 and #12 were up the hill and a little more isolated than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

My fiance and I were pleasantly surprised with our recent stay in the Unit #5 (Alpine Unit). We loved the rustic furniture, semi private patio with gas grill, views of the mountains, and great location to town and RMNP. We loved grilling streaks in the evening and having the option to keep lunch meats and breakfast items on hand in the small, but adequate refrigerator/freezer. We really got some much needed R&R during our stay here. Thanks for everything. We can't wait to return.

P.S. Go to the Wapiti Pub in town for a great pulled pork sandwhich.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Recently, I was attending a workshop in RMNP and needed overnight accommodations. Priced mid-range, my unit at Timber Creek was a clean, updated place to stay -- in contrast to the myriad of rinky dinky, right on the main road, choices available in the area.

10B's best feature was its kitchen -- completely updated and more than adequate for 1-2 persons. The bathroom was small, true, but also updated. The unit was sparkling clean!

I checked in late at Fawn Valley and the clerk was helpful and friendly. One night at Timber Creek there was some odd noise, like another unit playing a loud video game. They sent out an apologetic staff person to check on it -- at 10 pm! He couldn't find the origin of the noise, which soon stopped...but he thoroughly checked the units anyway.

I found the unit to be updated, super clean and the staff helpful and friendly.

When we stay in Estes for winter getaways where we stay in and enjoy the snow, river, painting and general R&R, we stay in one of the more upscale condos. But when I stay in Estes for workshops and day hikes, Timber Creek is a great choice.

Room Tip: If having a unit above you is an issue, don't select 10A or 10B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed in Unit 3 which is connected to the main office, on the main floor and there is a unit above. The unit was nice inside but the main problem was the noise. You can hear every single noise of the person walking above us. The other problem was there was noisy partiers at night slamming doors, screaming profanity, etc. I did complain to the front desk immediately Saturday morning of the issue and Sat night was alot better. The main problem of this unit is that its an old building so you can hear every peep from the people above you. Otherwise, the unit inside is very clean and homey. Just wish it wasnt so noisy. I would prefer to stay in a unit that is not attached. You get your own personal hot tub at this place so its nice. Pretty good stay, but the people at the property should really stress to the people staying above how noisy it is for unit #3!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Timber Creek Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber Creek Chalets

Address: 2115 Fall River Rd., Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect resort for nature lovers! Our cabins and chalets (some with personal hot tubs) offer beautiful views and hiking from your front door. Heated swimming pool (seasonal), hot tub, and game room with pool table. Kitchens, fireplaces, gas grills, phones, free Wi-Fi. Our chalets sleep from two to ten people. Some units are pet-friendly. Only two miles from RMNP. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Timber Creek Chalets Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber Creek Chalets, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.