We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous scenery!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Park Gateway Stables

National Park Gateway Stables
3450 Fall River Rd, Estes Park, CO 80517
970-586-5269
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous scenery!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We did a two hour ride, and it was a great experience! We saw so many beautiful sights and were able to stop and take a picture at the best spot. Our guide Gabby was very knowledgeable with the horses and knew lots of facts about the park. She was entertaining and fun. The ranch and horses were well kept. I would definitely recommend seeing the Rockies by horseback!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    37
    10
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Colorado, United States
1 review
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

My family went on a horseback ride through Rocky Mountain National Park through this stable. They were excellent. The horses were all beautiful and (obviously) well cared for. Our tour guide was also excellent and made the entire experience fantastic. Our daughter is already talking about wanting to go again (on a longer ride). I highly recommend!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, WI
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We went to Estes Park on a family vacation and my daughter picked this adventure. We did the 2 hr ride which was enough. Got to see parts of RM Nat'l Park that you would not normally see. The horses are all good - kinda felt mine was a bit of a mule - stubborn! The guides where great - ours knew her stuff - she was a student working here for the summer. My advise is to go on the early morning ride because it is cooler and the horses aren't as tired, wear jeans, close toed shoes & bring a water bottle. This place is a bit tricky to find and there aren't great signs - just says "Stables". Little hard to walk after riding a horse for 2 hours ;-) Have a great time - this was pretty fun!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was a first horseback ride for both my daughter (8) and son (4). They loved every moment of the ride and keep asking when we can go back. Owen, our guide, was fantastic! He made my son feel so comfortable on the ride and checked his saddle (plus all of ours) halfway through the ride. Our horses, Doc, Socks, Jags, and Captain were beautiful and very reliable. We will certainly book another ride when we are back in Estes Park!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome pony ride!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Walked with my daughter on a pony named "Skittles" for a thirty minute trail loop. The trail is definitely a better fit for horses as it got pretty treacherous while on foot, but my daughter loved it.

Just a note, ask the cowboy/ girl at the stable to make sure the saddle wont slip, during a rough part on the trail the saddle came loose and I had to catch my daughter to keep her from falling off.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Park Gateway Stables also viewed

 

Been to National Park Gateway Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Park Gateway Stables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.