We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Lodge to your Saves list
Discovery Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2010

Large very clean room. The bed was very comfortable, Although the motel is right on the major road in and out of town, it was so well insulated that we heard neither traffic or the howling wind! Staff was very helpful. Really nice views.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed a quiet stay with us. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    230
    63
    30
    17
See reviews for
196
296
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

Great hotel! Rooms are fairly priced with wood fireplaces available. Picturesque mountain setting with great views of Rocky Mountain National Park . Hotel staff are quite friendly and go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. I would recommend Discovery Lodge to anyone looking to stay in and around the Estes Park Area.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We want to make your time in Estes Park special and so our staff will frequently go above and beyond to ensure that. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Pet Friendly, clean rooms, GREAT rates, Great location, Great service...What else do you need to know about this place to stay here?? We have been to Estes Park at least 20 times and have not nor will not stay anywhere else. Period end of story. Miss it and miss out.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are so glad that we could become your favorite place to stay while visiting Estes Park. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha ne.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

discovery lodge is a perfect location for a great vacation. you are close to a grocery store (right across the street).close to shopping and restaurants. and yet you have a country outdoors atmosphere at the lodge. Take a walk around the pond. Walk over by the golf course and you can often see elk. and the view is just spectacular. second to none in the area. It is also the best value in the area! we have stayed at discovery on our vacation for the last few years and we will be back again this summer.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We enjoy our ability to provide a woodsy feel with our open grounds while being so close to the hustle and bustle of downtown Estes Park. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2010

It is a very nice place for spending time in a beautifull area with polite people and with super room services. Rooms are comfortable and it´s possible to have your own pet which is perfect.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. Estes Park is a beautiful area to visit and we are so lucky that we get to enjoy it throughout the year. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

Our trip was a very enjoyable one. We had 9 friends stay with us, the motel employees were very friendly and helpful whenever we talked with them or needed something. We have stayed there in the past and plan on staying there again in June of this year with our friends. WE have stayed at other motels in Estes Park in the past but have returned to the Discovery Lodge because we like it the best. Thanks again

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are glad that you enjoy our lodge so much. We look forward to hosting you and your friends for many years to come! Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2010

Having stayed at the Discovery Lodge once before, I couldn't imaging staying any where else in Estes Park. The Discovery Lodge has very friendly and helpful staff from all over the world, clean, secure, quiet rooms, and a well kept grounds. It is close to downtown and not far from the National Park. As a traveller who doesn't like the chain hotels, this is a gem in the local hotel community.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We appreciate that you enjoy all of our hard work in creating a clean, safe and enjoyable experience. We hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.