We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4th of July Haven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Lodge to your Saves list
Discovery Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Federal Heights, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“4th of July Haven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was our first time staying and we're already booked again for next year's 4th of July and for Halloween this year! We stayed in room #302 and you wouldn't even know it was a dog friendly hotel. Our room was clean and ready for us upon arrival. We watched the 4th of July fireworks right from our porch, along with a couple other families. We played frisbee on the golf course in the late afternoon and unleashed our small canine friend so she could run around, and yes, we came prepared to pick up her waste. Brenda, part of the hotel office staff was so darn friendly, she really made us feel like we were on vacation. The two ladies cleaning the rooms that weekend were also very nice, they spoke very little english but knew how to clean rooms! We brought our own small charcoal grill and grilled right outside our room. They also had the cable channels that had a ton of music channels on the tv. We didn't find that A/C was necessary, the fan suit us fine, heck, we even turned the heat on for a bit. Loved everything!

Room Tip: Room #301 is very large with a fireplace, Room #302 is also really nice with 2 Queen beds, just no f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Well Thank you very much for the good comments about our property and staff we always try to have the best costumer service to have you enjoyed your stay. We are so ready to see you again this 4th of July.


Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    222
    62
    30
    17
See reviews for
189
283
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lago Vista
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This shows people deserve a second chance. Stayed here, last minute, no notice and the 4th of July week. They managed to get me a room and it was awesome.

Hats off to the management group / counter people. Great Job. Will be back.

Room Tip: This is an old standby motel. Nice thing is you can get your room and 'walk-off' the entire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Thank you for your review we appreciate it!

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

While I was on business, I will return for pleasure. While right off the highway, the berm blocked out the traffic sounds. I loved having a deck to sit out on in the evening and early morning! Very clean!! Very comfortable bed. Located close to Rocky Mountain National Park and convenient to local stores and other attractions.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, we would love to see you again soon in our property.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I gave a poor review not because this is a horrible place, but because the the hotel rooms are completely misrepresented. I am a frugal traveller so I know about expectations. I was expecting a lodge and relatively "rustic" type rooms - just like the rooms on the website with some log walls or furniture. I was sorely disappointed and I even went back to the hotel website to see what I could have missed. But I did not miss anything. I even find something fishy about the reviews; sorry.

Nothing lodge like about this motel beside the highway and not even remotely close to the forest. Our hotel room was a basic room of decent size and clean. We had zero "woodland" type appointments. There is no air conditioning and the door is a sliding patio style door with no privacy and the screen does not lock so it basically has to stay closed while you are sleeping. The room above us was very noisy just with the guests walking around normally, but the creeking is loud enough to wake you up.

I see they do not advertise a pool, but there is a pool on site in disrepair.

The fact is I could have stay at another one of the hotels down the road that have pool and air conditioning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Thank you for writing this review to us and our lodge.We do have rustic looking rooms but not all of them are quite there we are working on the appearance of the rooms for your convenience. our pool is been close for a few years now and its not because its not repairable but because the town of Estes Park does not let us fix the pool but we always mention that our sister lodge has a pool that guest are more than welcome to use. We appreciate the time and the good comments about our property and hopefully you'll get to see the changes next time you visit us!


Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkins
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I picked this motel based on reviews. Its not spectacular but it's not horrible either.
PROS: Good price in touristy Estes Park. Great views with a nice pond area and playground. Clean room.
CONS: The door to the room is a sliding glass door to the outside. There is no AC (we had a box fan and a rickety screen door). The jacuzzi was cold and the pool is no longer usable. The headboard on one of our beds was not attached to anything. The shower had little water pressure and was cramped.
You can tell that this hotel has been fixed up but it's still not quite there.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, November 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your review in our lodge we appreciate it, we would like to let you know that we are working on the appearance of our rooms and the lodge it self the only thing that we wont be able to fix would be our pool town does not let us fix it. Hopefully you'll get to see this changes in your next visit.
We would love to see you again!
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimberley
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay in Discovery Lodge, we came here 3 years ago and liked to come back to their new remodeled rooms. We had 2 queens, downstairs with great 2 big windows with nice views over Estes Park and mountains in the distance. Our overall satisfaction is good but went down from the last stay. Here are few recommendations for hotel mangers if they read those reviews: bathroom showed signed of redo, new shower fixers, very nice BUT to make it really nice they should buy curtain rod that is curved and use softer curtain to give shower more room and more pleasant appearance. Toilet paper holder is in such a place that you have to be a gymnast to be able to use it ( we removed the roll and kept it close).
Room is very specious, beds nice firm but very comfortable. The only negative was glass in the door has not coverage so in the morning if you sleep longer than sun raise you will have a sun in your eyes.
Be aware that there is no AC in those rooms ( last time we were in 1 queen and there was a small AC unit), it was not a big problem but there is no air flow through the room so kind of difficult to keep it cool.
Overall it is still very nice hotel, we may be back, but back to smaller room.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
Thank you for taking your time to write a review, we appreciate the comments that our guest have about our property, we are working on the appearance of our rooms and we will definitely take all the suggestions for your preference.
Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

If you are looking for a clean funky room with the vibes of old-time - check out Discovery Lodge. It's a motel not a hotel. It was one of the most least expensive place we could find! I don't go for "cheap!" I go for good value! We paid $129.00/night plus tax.

My hubby and I stayed in Room 307 - on the end but up high. Great little deck to sit out on which we did every night with a view of the mountains. Our room had a king- size comfortable bed! Granted you open the door and hit the bed - but the room is bright with a fridge! The bathroom is very updated. There are no a/c in any of the rooms which when we stayed would have helped but normally it doesn't get 95 degrees in Estes Park!

There is a pond on the property you can walk around & there is free WiFi. You can head to the office in the morning for free coffee! We even saw a few smaller dogs that were "guests." I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Pick 307-312- it's up higher with view of mountains. You park right in front of your door. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coyote_Mountain, Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, November 4, 2014
We are glad you liked your room and that you enjoyed your stay here in Estes Park.please come visit us again we would love to see you again.
Thank you for the good comments and for taking your time to write this review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.