We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always pack some duct tape.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Lodge to your Saves list
Discovery Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always pack some duct tape.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

For the price a good value...would probably stay again...little problem with room. We got in late..very tired. ..checked in and unpacked..decided to try and get fresh air in room because there is no AC and opened front door ....screen slightly pushed in with gap. Bugs able to get in...went to open window...screen bent bad Bugs able to get in...started to see if we could move but wife already in shower...then I remembered..Duct tape...never leave home with out it. Taped it up good...Blind also broken ...taped it up...funny thing ..left it that way to visit RMNP...came back and it was still that way....room very clean though. Housekeeping never told mngmt...oh well...They did fix it right away the next day when I told front desk.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Discovery Lodge. Thank you for letting us know about those issues in your room so that we could address them. We strive to provide clean and well maintained rooms and we want to know about any problems guests find that we may have missed. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    225
    63
    30
    17
See reviews for
192
287
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doe Run, Mo.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We stayed in a king balcony for five nights during Scots Fest last week. Loved the room and especially the balcony view of the beautiful mountains. We also saw the elk herd almost every evening on the golf course. Management provided us with a microwave and blow dryer per our request. The price was great for the busy weekend, and it only took like a minute to get downtown from the motel. Definitely would stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a balcony room for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on your stay at Discovery Lodge. The Scottish-Irish Festival is a wonderful yearly event hosted in Estes Park and is one of the largest such gatherings in the nation. We are glad we could provide such perfect accommodations for you during this event. We hope you will stay with us again soon, perhaps for the festival again next year! Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Every room has it's own decorating theme. Helpful staff and right on time (mostly) with the morning coffee at 7. The spacious grounds (4 acres) are frequently populated with elk. The bathroom entrance was awkward, but the room was spotless, had a refrigerator and a balcony with a view across the valley and golf course. We have already made reservations for next year!

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room or one of the cabin rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: I did notice that the coffee cups, lids and heat shields were all made from some percentage of post-consumer recyclables and were all compostable.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay at Discovery Lodge. We enjoy being able to provide those unique touches that being an independently owned hotel we have the freedom of doing. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norristown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great stay and location for the price, everything we needed for a quick night stay while visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. I would have given it 5 stars but the window would not open. After asking she said there was not much she could do, so we had to air out the room for the door a bit. Not bad though, got plenty cool at night. But otherwise worth the money!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on your stay at Discovery Lodge. The nice thing about being in the mountains is that it is typically 10 degrees cooler than the front range in summer. We’ve had out maintenance people look at all of our windows to ensure they operate as designed. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

I have stayed here several times and just really like the place. It is a little rustic, but this is Colorado. Large, clean room, very nice staff. Elk wander by often, on the golf course. I have never had a bad stay here.

Green Features: They allow pets for a small fee ($10.00 per night), but they provide pick-up glove/bag and require that clean up after your pet.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review about your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed our rustic charm. We strive to make every guest feel at home and are proud to be able to offer the chance to experience a little piece of the history of Estes Valley. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The location is what makes this hotel so wonderful. It's right next to the visitor center on the outskirts of downtown Estes Park. You can hop on the trail and walk from the hotel to anywhere in the downtown area. The lack of air conditioning was not a problem when we stayed there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind review on your stay at Discovery Lodge. Our location is one of the wonderful things we can offer visitors to Estes Park with convenient access to the lake path, downtown Estes and the Visitor Center where you can take shuttles all around the valley and into the national park in the summer. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We only stayed one night, but thoroughly enjoyed it. We loved sitting on the balcony and looking at the awesome mountain views. Room 311 is one of the rooms on the upper level of the parking lot - I would highly recommend any of them. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Grounds were nice with a small catch and release fish pond. The mini-fridge in the room was a nice bonus. Rooms and baths have been recently renovated. Beds were really comfortable and rooms were clean.

Room Tip: Although the upper rooms are closer to the road, the views from the balconies are totally worth it!
See more room tips
Green Features: Wind-powered, products are Eco-friendly and biodegradable.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review on your stay at Discovery Lodge. The balcony rooms in the 300 building offer some of the best views in the lodge and all the rooms in that building have been recently renovated. One of the fun things about our property is our private catch and release pond which is available to all of our guests. We appreciate your business and hope you will consider staying with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#12 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.