We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Estes Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Lodge to your Saves list
Discovery Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Burlington, Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Estes Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed in a king-size room for four nights in June. Our room was on the second floor and had a view of the mountains and lake Estes, and our own balcony. The rooms were fairly big and clean. It was a bit difficult not to have air conditioning with the hot nights but they do provide a fan for you and the nights cool off eventually. We were able to leave the door open to our balcony (there is a screen door), and that cooled it down after a while. There was a minifridge in the room and a microwave in the lodge office. There's a hot tub outside for guest use--- it's a shame the pool isn't up and running though, would have been nice after all the hot days and the hiking we did! We didn't go down to the fish pond and lower area but it looked nice. The location is great-- very close to downtown Estes Park and near a large grocery store.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have better views and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We encourage our guests that want to use a pool to go to our sister lodge, Coyote Mountain Lodge, and use theirs. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

669 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    230
    63
    30
    17
See reviews for
196
296
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
huntsville
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

wonderful spacious room with comfortable beds. Perfect Estes Park location. Super friendly stff made us feel right at home. my only complaint is that there is no in-room coffee and the office does not open until 7. too late for morning coffee if you are hitting the trails early.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are working to upgrade our electrical system to our buildings so that we can make coffee makers available in all of our units. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed in the Discovery Lodge Cabin the weekend before my son's oreintation at CSU (about an hour away). The cabin is well maintained, comfortable with great views of the town and the Rocky Mountains. The cabin has a private garage, large picture windows overlooking the mountains, 2 BR/1BA and an additional nook with a futon. Outside there is a gas bbq. What a great find! One word of caution...there is no air conditioning but we really didn't need it (Even in late June).

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. The cabin is a beautiful place to stay for a small gathering, or a couple looking for an intimate retreat. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Fish pond, fire circle, grass and space for relaxing, not typical concrete motel; easy parking, basic room, good beds for economical price and setting feels like a relaxed mountain lodge. Friendly staff. There is a paved walking path to get to some restaurants and market; the highway is a little busy to drive in and out of driveway, just be patient.

Room Tip: Away from the road, lower area near pond and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We enjoy being able to create that relaxing play space so near to the activity of downtown Estes Park. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed in room 202,small but nicely furnished.Balcony had to be shared with next door guest not so great.Also noise was a nuisance.Went to use the computer and printer in the lobby to print out boarding passes for airline, got started only to find out there was no ink jet in printer.No note on computer or printer .Desk was no help Had to check in at denver airport in lines.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are sorry to hear that the printer was not working for you. We are glad to be able to provide the luxury of a computer and printer to our guests and do seek to keep them in working order. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Two hour journey from Denver and lovely place to stay for the first 3 nights of our holiday. Easy walk into Estes Park for dining and bars. Rocky Mountain Naional Park only a 20 min drive away. Used it for the start of our holiday and stepping stone on our route to Yellowstone National Park.

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend, or
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visisted last week. I enjoyed our stay, it was inexpensive and near everything I wanted to do. The people at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. The guy who checked us in even walked us around the grounds to show us the hot tub and ice machine. For the price- Excelent!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are proud of all of our staff and continue to encourage that they go above and beyond to provide wonderful customer service. We appreciate your business and hope you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.