We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Discovery Lodge to your Saves list
Discovery Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed 3 nights in mid-May. If driving, suggest bringing your own pillows. Comfortable, quiet, near-by-hike to Estes downtown area and visitor center. Across from small shopping area. Nice view of mountains, when visible.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. The view of the back range into Rocky Mountain National Park is always spectacular. If it is obscured by clouds then be prepared for some weather as most of what comes through town comes from the west. We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again soon. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    222
    62
    30
    17
See reviews for
189
283
48
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Clean and comfortable cabin style room. Spent 2 nights there. Location is great... good views of Rocky Mountain National Park, too. Suited my needs perfectly. Morning coffee in the lobby was strong and plentiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed our coffee. It is one of those little things that we provide to make your stay a little more enjoyable. We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again soon. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This was so cute! Cabin like rooms. The walls are a little thin and you do hear your neighbors doors when they are going in and out but for the price this was perfect! There are a few things that could be fixed a bit and my husband who has been a carpenter for almost 40 years said he would be happy to go back to Estes and be a carpenter for them but overall this was a wonderful place to stay. It is a little hard going out onto the main road when leaving. You do really have to pat attention before pulling out. The staff were so nice. The hot tub was perfect after a day of hiking. I would definatly recommend this and would stay here again next time!

Room Tip: Any room with a Rocky Mountain View is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are glad you enjoyed the cabin decor in our rooms. Discovery Lodge is off of Hwy 34, one of the main roads into Estes Park. Thankfully we have the light at the start of the downtown area to help with getting out of our driveway but you do have to be patient and pay attention. We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again soon. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Loved this place from the moment we walked in. Stayed for 4 nights and had no complaints. Even had a hot tub which was super nice. Pool was not open, but did not matter for us because it was cooler. May be a bit hot in summer, not positive if they had AC but we didn't need it. No complaints at all! Staff was very friendly and the check-in lodge area was super cozy and nice. Would definitely go back here. Wonderful views too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are glad that you had such an enjoyable time. Most days in the summer don’t require air conditioning in Estes Park. Often times an open window and fan are all that are needed to cool a room after a particularly warm day. We do have some units with air conditioning if that is important to you. Just let us know at the time of your reservation. We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again soon. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I chose to stay at Discovery Lodge based on TripAdvisor reviews. I really liked our room for the most part. We had a two-room cabin-style suite on the bottom of a two-level building. There were two rooms above ours that faced the opposite direction, and we had a nice view of the pond and a large covered porch with comfortable chairs for hanging out and watching the wildlife. There were elk, geese, and other interesting things to view right on the grounds of the lodge. Very private and convenient for our family.

Our suite was really nice. It had been updated recently enough that everything seemed new and fresh. Very nice, rustic decor, and most of the bathroom fixtures were stylish (the exception being the bathtub/shower). There was a second sink outside of the bathroom, which was great for when things got busy and someone needed water or a hand-washing when someone was in the bathroom. The bed was comfortable, and I slept really well. I loved the location. There were two good TVs, one in each room. We had easy access to grocery shopping, and the lovely downtown area and Riverwalk were a short, easy walk away. No breakfast, but there were hot beverages available in the lobby. Also, there are many interesting things to look at and read in the lobby.

As for the glitches, when someone above us started a fire in their fireplace, our suite filled up with smoke. The surface of the gas room heater would get quite hot when it was on, which was a bit nerve-wracking with small children. We had to fence them off from that part of the room so nobody would get burned. The shower dripped nonstop, and the internet service was spotty at best. Also, partway through our stay the lodge changed their internet passcode, but we hadn't been told to watch for that so kept trying over and over to connect for a while before we caught on to the change and called the front desk for the new one.

Generally, we had a very pleasant stay. The cleaning staff in particular were extremely friendly and helpful. They went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Kudos to them! Given the many other options in the immediate Estes Park area, we might not stay here again just so we could try out some other places. But I would definitely say yes if someone asked me whether I thought they would enjoy staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We have had our maintenance people look into the issues you encountered. We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again soon. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed in 2 queen room with fold out couch (301) and had a very comfortable stay. Price reasonable. Great view! Relaxing and beautiful grounds. Next to golf course. Herd of elk visited in evening. Very exciting. Room and office/lodge very clean. Staff very friendly. Close to Stanley Hotel, downtown, parks, etc. Walking distance to Safeway. Definitely recommend these accommodations for your visit to Estes Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are glad you had such a wonderful time with us. We are always excited every time the elk come to visit our property, which happens regularly, since we know how much they mean to our guests. We appreciate your business and hope that you will stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We, an Indian (from India) family of 4 stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin close to the pond for regrettably just 1 night. Good clean rooms with a rustic feel, beautiful views all round, good coffee. Will stay at Discovery the next time we visit the area.

Sivakumar

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Guest Relations Manager at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at Discovery Lodge. We are always excited to welcome our international guests, as it is a great way to showcase all the wonders that Estes Park can offer. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Thank you, and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#13 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.