We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remodeled off season gem!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Lodge

Save Saved
You added Discovery Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Discovery Lodge
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
GreenLeadersBronze level
Campton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Remodeled off season gem!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at Discovery Lodge for $49 per night in early November and thoroughly enjoyed the off season quiet of Estes Park and the RMNP. My room 202 had a large shared balcony with a table a chairs. The view of the pond was barely obstructed by a few trees but I was able to see the elk swimming one afternoon at sunset and got some great pictures. It looks like they are doing some remodeling of rooms in the 300 building across the parking lot. I sat on the balcony and enjoyed the quiet and sun of unusually warm week after my early morning trips into the park. The office opens at 8am to serve coffee during the winter season. Within walking distance to town along a well marked walking/bike path.

Room Tip: Rooms 202 and 203 have AC and share a large balcony- shower only-queen bed and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
We really appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your stay was. 202 and 203 are very popular. They do have a shared balcony that is perfect for couples or familys that want to stay close, but then have their own privacy. Glad you enjoyed it and were able to catch the elk! They seem to love it here too. :)
Thanks again for your business and this nice review. We hope to see you again in the future!
Take care!
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    291
    201
    50
    25
    15
See reviews for
172
259
45
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wichita
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband and I have stayed at Discovery Lodge a total of three times now. As I mentioned in my last review, we were very pleased with the politeness of the staff and we planned to vist again. Well, we did and it was even better! They had done some remodeling since we were last there so we were excited to see the changes. The room we had was very spacious and nicely decorated. Just enough knotty pine to be quaint but not so much that you feel like you're living inside of a tree ; ) The bathroom had been remodeled and was very nice as well. We used the hot tub again and it was just as good as we remembered it. Highly recommend for the location, the value and the NICENESS of the staff!

Room Tip: We stayed on the lower level, just below the office. Can't remember the room number but it was f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks for coming back 3 times in a row! We are glad to have you!!! Also, thanks for taking the time to write us these reviews. Glad to know you enjoyed your stay ... again! We love repeating guests! We do remodeling every winter. So when you come back, look for something new I'm sure! :)
Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon! Take care!
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

One of the worst hotels we've ever been to.
We surely won't go there again.
When we got the room and tried to take a shower, the bath tap broke....
We asked to move to another room, got one with the tap in good condition, but in the evening the toilet flush tank broke, and we had water all over.... This time we didn't ask once again for another room, we remained with the broken tank and with the smell until morning, then we checked out and ran away from there.

Also, we got used to have in the room a microwave and a kettle (for boiling water for coffee) in all other American hotels we've been to, but in this hotel these appliances never existed.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I apolgize that your room had some plumbing issues. We do not normally run into these problems. Thank you for coroporating with us in moving to another room so we could take care of the problem in that room. If there was another problem in the other room, we would have taken care of that one as well right away and alert our manager if you had let us know. We also have an extra microwave and coffee makers that we can provide for you upon request. We can even put these items in the room before you even check in.
I am sorry that we could not meet up to your standards. We want everyone's stay here in Estes Park be great, whether with us or not. So next time you come out, consider us, if not, enjoy your stay in Estes regardless.
Take care!
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Discovery Lodge has an excellent location. It is a five minute walk to downtown, via the river walk. It is located next to the Visitor's Center. It also backs into a golf course which attracted dozens of elk. Since it was rutting season who got to see the bulls challenging each other for dominance. The lodge is also right near the path around the lake. The room is pretty standard, but for $79.00 a night you can't beat it. We had to queen size beds in our room. There are nicer rooms with fireplaces and luxury cabins, for an extra fee. Book early, at these prices the rooms go quickly. Being able to walk into town is a great advantage because parking is at a premium. The hotel has wi-fi but the service in our room was kind of spotty.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks so much for taking the time to write us about your stay. Glad you were able to take full advantage of our location. During the summer/busy season, parking can get crazy. We suggest to all of our guests during that time to walk to town if capiable. The elk love it here! Glad you were able to catch them. Sorry the wifi was a little spotty. It could have possibly been that alot of guests were using it at the same time too. Hopefully next time it will be better.
Thanks again for such a nice review! We look forward to seeing you in the future! Take care!
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florissant, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

During this past summer my sister and her husband came to visit and we decided to take them to Estes Park and choose The Discovery Lodge to stay. While there we rented the Luxury Log Cabin. First of all let me say we had a wonderful stay. The lodge is very roomy, very comfortable and kept tidy & clean. The living room was very comfy and nicely decorated, very large attractive bathroom . The view from the lodge was beautiful and the small patio was wonderful to sit out during the day and into the evening. We enjoyed ourselves very much! However there were a few improvements that could certainly improve the lodge. In both bedrooms a new comforter or bedspread is badly needed. The bed was very comfortable, sheets very clean but the comforter was old and need of replacement. Our bedroom comforter had a massive rip in the skirting and wear and tear on the comforter itself. My sisters room the throw pillow had huge tears in them where they had completely come apart. The kitchen is badly in need of a new dinner set. In a lodge where 4 to 6 people could stay there were only 2 dinner plates. There were chips on all of the smaller plates. There was not a casserole of any size if you wanted to cook an oven dish and, some of the cookware needs to be replaced. Possibly the person who cleans the lodge has not reported these things to the office, but a check list really needs to be made up for the kitchen and the management needs to have a walk through and inspection throughout. The light switch in the bathroom had a problem with the connection and needs to be attended to as it could be a safety issue. And the shower liner needed to be replaced due to mildew. This may come across as a very negative review but it is not meant to be. I wouldn't hesitate staying here again and hope to do so again next summer as we truly had a very wonderful experience. I would like to see some of the improvements met as the luxury lodge would be top notch. I do recommend the luxury lodge to stay however there are some things I feel need to be attended to in the above mentioned areas that could make this a fantastic place to stay and greatly improve one's stay from very good to excellent.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks so much for the review and suggestions! As soon as this was brought to our attention we got it taken care of. More plates to accomidate, new shower liners, and sheets as well as comforters. We appreciate you letting us know things we need to improve on. So next time you visit us, be sure to notice the upgrades! We look forward to seeing you in the future. Thanks again and take care!
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Like some of the other terrible reviews, I find it incredible how Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde this place is. The people were friendly when we checked in. The room was in fair shape; although, there was a massive stain across one of the bedspreads. Certainly nothing close to the way it has been described. It didn’t take long for the fun to start. I asked the front desk where we get the firewood (after we were already settled in and getting ready for dinner) and the young lady cheerfully said. “Safeway across the street”. For those not familiar with Colorado resorts; I am a Colorado native who has been staying in the mountains from towns like Estes to the ski towns since the 60’s and have NEVER heard of a place that advertises wood burning fireplaces and does not provide the wood. I bought a couple packages at Safeway which really annoyed me as I have a truck and at least 6-8 cords of wood along my back driveway at home and (a) have never bought wood before; and (b) would have gladly thrown some logs and an axe in the bed of my truck had I known. But, it gets better! The next morning I brought my receipt to the front desk to request reimbursement as I never would have paid extra for a room with a fireplace that did not come with any wood and the manager on duty was only willing to give me back $3.00, instead of the $11.00 spent. He explained that the owner, Leslie Peng, felt that discontinuing free wood was better than raising the rates $10. On to the title of this review. See the attached photos – all of the exterior lights were turned off just after 11:00 when the front desk closed. Besides the major safety hazard – seriously?!? No wood, no lights? When I booked, price was a factor, but not the determining factor, and this place is not advertised as being stingy cheap. Next time I will gladly stay somewhere else and pay $10 for wood and security lighting. Unless saving a couple dollars is your primary goal (at the risk of personal safety and vandalism to your vehicle) stay somewhere else. To be fair, the manager did refund my pet fee as I had been honest enough to state that we would bring two dogs. He also stated that he would correct the website to state that firewood is not included – as of the date of this posting 8 days after departing the change has not been made, not sure how far honesty actually goes here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not up to your standards. We do let people aware that firewood does not come with the fireplace suites. Although, sometimes we do have employees that do sell firewood at the front desk when its available. In that case, we will gladly give to you upon check in. We like to give our customers the choice to pick out how much they will need. We do not want to charge some people if they do not intend to use the fireplace. We would rather do that and keep our rates the lowest in town.
We do have timers on our lights. We have sensor lights around property, especially around the places with stairs and walk ways. We have had customers in the past complain of the lights shining in their rooms late at night. They would either take out our bulbs or cover them with something then leave them there. We are trying to accomidate everyone and keep everyone comfortable through out the night.
I am again sorry to know that your stay was not up to your standards and we would recommend trying some where else if you feel like we cannot meet them again. We want everyone's experience in Estes Park to be great, whether it be with us or not.
Thanks for your business and take care!
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We're repeat customers for this family run hotel. For the price you can't beat it. It's no frills and has signs of wear but rooms are clean and comfortable and spacious enough. The rooms with balconies have great mountain views that are set up to enjoy outside on the balcony or from inside the room (the windows are angled so two people can sit at the table and have a great view). It is also an easy walk downtown so you don't have to hassle with downtown parking. We'll continue to go back to this hotel.

Room Tip: We prefer the mountain view rooms versus the pond view rooms. You can't beat the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery_Staff, Front Desk Operator at Discovery Lodge, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Thanks so much for such a nice review! We all really appreciate it. Glad to hear you were able to take advantage of our location to down town. We encourage guests to park here and walk down town. Especially during the summer/busy season when parking is crazy! The elk seem to love it around here too! Thats great that you were able to see them. We look forward to seeing you again! Thanks again and take care!
Rebecca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Discovery Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Lodge

Address: 800 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Estes Park
#10 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#11 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Discovery Lodge. We are within walking distance of downtown Estes Park Colorado. Although we are located near downtown, the views of the Rocky Mountains are clearly visible and some of the best. Here at the Discovery Lodge you are located just 10 minutes from the Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Discovery Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Hotel Estes Park
Discovery Motel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.