We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mom & Pop feel just wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbine Inn
1540 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Accokeek, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mom & Pop feel just wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The room was very clean and the owners were extremely friendly! The furnishings were from the 80s but it was a comfortable place to stay. The hot tub in the room was great. They recommended excellent restaurants to us and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    14
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
19
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Columbine Inn is an older motel, but it is very clean. Our room was pretty basic: bed, bathroom, mini fridge, TV, small table/chairs, and dresser. Although it is not on the river, like many places here, it has nice views of the mountains. It was quiet, also. One bad thing was our sink drain: it stayed closed. We had to jam a nail file in it so the sink didn't fill up with water. Other than that, I really liked the place. Nice price for Estes Park, too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailey, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We do not care how a hotel or motel looks, rather we care about how clean the rooms are. Yes, it is some what dated, but very clean. For my family, we want clean, clean, clean. Our room had a flat screen TV and cable/dish, so the teenagers were happy. When we travel, we do not spend time sitting in a hotel, we want a good place to come back to at the end of the day, and the Columbine was just the ticket. The bathrooms do not have an outlet, so we used the outlet by the bed, but not a big deal for us. The gentlemen at the desk was kind enough show us the room before we checked in, The price was reasonable for Estes. The hotel down the street wanted more money and was not clean. The showers have strong pressure, which we like. We enjoy Estes Park and will visit and stay here again.

Room Tip: The room was very quiet and clean. Our room had a flat screen TV and cable, so our teenagers were ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was surprised to find a room so late. After a trip to see family in Wyoming we were back in Estes Park late and I think we got the last room. The front desk host was very nice. The price was reasonable for the area and not having reservations. The room was spacious, very clean and had a great shower/tub. Mini fridge and microwave. The beds were comfortable, including the pillows. We slept well. Continental breakfast was nice in the large common room in the office with great views. Check out was at 1000 am. Thanks for the hospitality.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This property is a 50'-60's style motel, but is very clean, well maintained and the beds are really comfortable. The rooms are small by today's standards and there is no coffee maker in the rooms - both are no big deal but worth mentioning. Every place in Estes Park is over-priced however this motel is probably the least over-priced of them all. We liked the benches out front with a grill and picnic tables for the guests to use. We travel to Rocky Mountain National Park every couple of years and this is our first stay at this property, but I promise you it will not be our last. The Columbine Inn has become our place to stay in Estes Park from now on as long as the current owner runs the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My daughter and I stayed one night while she was showing in the Copper Penny. The Inn is 5 minutes from the fairgrounds. The room was small by today's standards but VERY clean and had all the amenities we needed for the night. The continental breakfast isn't fancy but works fine for a quick bite to eat. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel experience you probably won't be happy here. If you are looking for a nice, quiet, clean, comfortable, affordable, place to stay I would definitely recommend staying here. I told John about the horse show when we checked in. I took my daughter to the fairgrounds early and came back later to get our stuff and check out. John remembered why we were in Estes and he told me to tell her good luck. I told him she'd already won a 2nd and he was very happy for her and the great start to her show day. Will definitely stay here next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This is a great Motel at Estes Park Colorado. We spent one night on our way through Rocky Mountain National Park. Loved the accommodations, the benches outside the unit, grounds with picnic tables, hot tub. John is very helpful and had lots of brochures and maps in the reception. The only thing we didn't like was there is no coffee in the room and we left before the continental breakfast but not a big deal.
Loved the comfy feeling of the place and would definitely recommend it and stay again.
The walk to town is uphill both ways and it was very hot so have a look before you walk to town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Estes Park
Address: 1540 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Rocky Mountain National Park > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Columbine Inn to your Saves list