We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the mountains” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbine Inn
Save Saved
You added Columbine Inn to your Saves list
1540 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 hotels in Estes Park
Parker
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“In the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This is is ok. It is a simple hotel. There is a tv, refrigerator, towels, and extra blanket. It has electric heat. It has air if needed. Breakfast is a roll or cereal with milk. No worries McDonalds is only 1.2 miles up the road. Breakfast does not start till 7. Check out is at 10.

On a budget you get what you pay for. No extras however it is clean and the owner is pleasant. The hot tube is outside and it does work.

The picture on the website implies that you are close to the park and elk are everywhere. Not really close but not far. You in the valley surrounded by mountains. Very nice site. Grounds are well kept. Felt safe and secure. There is a paved walking path next to the road into town. Deer wander through area occasionally.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
16
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hoyt
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

After reading that other guests brought pets into their rooms, we were hesitant, because my wife is an allergy sufferer and can tell if a pet had did something in a room. The manager insisted that he had never had a complaint about this so we took a chance, and were very pleased. My wife had no complaints about pet odors, the motel was close to shopping, the room was comfortable and very reasonably priced and easy to find. We liked the screen door and the windows that opened in the back of the room to let the fresh air in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Seeing our dog travels everywhere with us, we were limited as to where we could stay in Estes Park. Columbine Inn was our first choice among the in town hotels. The staff was very friendly and the cleaning staff went above and beyond to keep our room perfect for our entire stay. We got the fireplace suite which has a private bedroom. That was great for our dog to have more room to play than a traditional hotel rooms. The gas fireplace kept our room warm and added some ambiance as well! The location was nice as we were able to walk to 2 restaurants. Overall, everything was great!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysville, Kansas
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After a last-minute bailout from a friend on staying the weekend in Estes for ScotsFest, I was fortunate enough to find Columbine Inn. What a GREAT place! John is a wonderful, kind and gracious host. The room is SUPER clean and although a little retro, I LOVED it!!! I'll take this place over some "updated" (read: overpriced and snootchy) resort on the other end of town. Sadly, they aren't open year round, but they're pet friendly, and I recommend it without hesitation! Easy access to Estes, clean, old school, real deal. LOVE it!!!! Thanks, John!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Room was $100/night. A very simple, basic motel. Rooms are pretty small but beds are adequately comfortable. Very small flat screen TV. Bathroom fixtures are fairly dated. Shower head came to my chin (I'm 6' tall) and shower head wasn't much more than the pipe itself. "Continental breakfast" was cold cereal or plastic-wrapped muffins. It WAS pretty clean. No pool but a decent hot tub. Was pretty disappointed that the owner would not let us have a late checkout. We had a 4:00 Sunday wedding and offerred $50 to check out 3:00 but he wanted $100. Being a Sunday, I'm betting he didn't have the room rented for that night. Had to check out at 10am. Would not be my first choice but would stay again if nothing comparable around.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Pro's:
- owner is shy but friendly if you stop to get to know him. Very accomidating of our needs. He serves fresh coffee/ tea 24 h.
- reletively inexpensive, and near in proximity to RMP and shopping in town
- very well kept up and extremely clean, especially for an older hotel. Impressive.
- single story, so no lugging around suitcases!
- our room had a private enclosed balcony u can go relax in.
- hot tub overlooking mountains
- great lobby, with lots of room to sit in
- gazebo on grounds, where u can see rabbits and hummingbirds

Cons:
- smallish room
- tv is small as well, and kind of difficult to understand. But its flat screen, and works.
- no pool
- front step very annoying

Overall, well worth your time and stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is an older hotel. It is really close to downtown and is on the main street. It is a single story.
The rooms are a bit small but have flat screen tv's and a fridge. The rooms are very well kept and clean. It is on a large piece of property and has a hot tub and a nice gazebo out on the lawn. They are dog friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Address: 1540 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.