We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay here again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Columbine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Columbine Inn to your Saves list
Columbine Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CALL DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Hoyt
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We would stay here again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

After reading that other guests brought pets into their rooms, we were hesitant, because my wife is an allergy sufferer and can tell if a pet had did something in a room. The manager insisted that he had never had a complaint about this so we took a chance, and were very pleased. My wife had no complaints about pet odors, the motel was close to shopping, the room was comfortable and very reasonably priced and easy to find. We liked the screen door and the windows that opened in the back of the room to let the fresh air in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    22
    10
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
26
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Seeing our dog travels everywhere with us, we were limited as to where we could stay in Estes Park. Columbine Inn was our first choice among the in town hotels. The staff was very friendly and the cleaning staff went above and beyond to keep our room perfect for our entire stay. We got the fireplace suite which has a private bedroom. That was great for our dog to have more room to play than a traditional hotel rooms. The gas fireplace kept our room warm and added some ambiance as well! The location was nice as we were able to walk to 2 restaurants. Overall, everything was great!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haysville, Kansas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

After a last-minute bailout from a friend on staying the weekend in Estes for ScotsFest, I was fortunate enough to find Columbine Inn. What a GREAT place! John is a wonderful, kind and gracious host. The room is SUPER clean and although a little retro, I LOVED it!!! I'll take this place over some "updated" (read: overpriced and snootchy) resort on the other end of town. Sadly, they aren't open year round, but they're pet friendly, and I recommend it without hesitation! Easy access to Estes, clean, old school, real deal. LOVE it!!!! Thanks, John!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Room was $100/night. A very simple, basic motel. Rooms are pretty small but beds are adequately comfortable. Very small flat screen TV. Bathroom fixtures are fairly dated. Shower head came to my chin (I'm 6' tall) and shower head wasn't much more than the pipe itself. "Continental breakfast" was cold cereal or plastic-wrapped muffins. It WAS pretty clean. No pool but a decent hot tub. Was pretty disappointed that the owner would not let us have a late checkout. We had a 4:00 Sunday wedding and offerred $50 to check out 3:00 but he wanted $100. Being a Sunday, I'm betting he didn't have the room rented for that night. Had to check out at 10am. Would not be my first choice but would stay again if nothing comparable around.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Pro's:
- owner is shy but friendly if you stop to get to know him. Very accomidating of our needs. He serves fresh coffee/ tea 24 h.
- reletively inexpensive, and near in proximity to RMP and shopping in town
- very well kept up and extremely clean, especially for an older hotel. Impressive.
- single story, so no lugging around suitcases!
- our room had a private enclosed balcony u can go relax in.
- hot tub overlooking mountains
- great lobby, with lots of room to sit in
- gazebo on grounds, where u can see rabbits and hummingbirds

Cons:
- smallish room
- tv is small as well, and kind of difficult to understand. But its flat screen, and works.
- no pool
- front step very annoying

Overall, well worth your time and stay!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is an older hotel. It is really close to downtown and is on the main street. It is a single story.
The rooms are a bit small but have flat screen tv's and a fridge. The rooms are very well kept and clean. It is on a large piece of property and has a hot tub and a nice gazebo out on the lawn. They are dog friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in Estes Park and chose Columbine Inn based on TripAdvisor reviews. The reviews we read were exactly right- the rooms and property are extremely clean and organized (in comparison with some dumpier looking places in Estes Park), the amenities are great (large mini-fridge in the room, nice TV, good bed, good bathroom), and the manager (John) was extremely friendly and helpful when we checked in. I get the sense that the Columbine is owned/operated locally (probably by John), and you can tell there's a lot of pride in the place, which is why it's kept up so well.

Would definitely recommend this place to any budget-conscious traveler who's looking for a nice, clean, comfortable place.

Room Tip: Room 14 is fine, and that's the only one we saw!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Address: 1540 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 29 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable motel ideally located one mile east of downtown Estes Park, within walking distance of Lake Estes Marina & walkway, golf, horseback riding, restaurants & shopping. All units are ground level and parking right in front of your room. Enjoy the lovely garden gazebo, spacious grounds with picnic area and soak in our outdoor hot tub after a day of hiking, shopping or sight seeing.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Columbine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.