We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, lovely, simple, well-run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbine Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Columbine Inn to your Saves list
Columbine Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1540 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CALL DIRECT FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Clean, lovely, simple, well-run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in Estes Park and chose Columbine Inn based on TripAdvisor reviews. The reviews we read were exactly right- the rooms and property are extremely clean and organized (in comparison with some dumpier looking places in Estes Park), the amenities are great (large mini-fridge in the room, nice TV, good bed, good bathroom), and the manager (John) was extremely friendly and helpful when we checked in. I get the sense that the Columbine is owned/operated locally (probably by John), and you can tell there's a lot of pride in the place, which is why it's kept up so well.

Would definitely recommend this place to any budget-conscious traveler who's looking for a nice, clean, comfortable place.

Room Tip: Room 14 is fine, and that's the only one we saw!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    25
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I and our 2 teenage kids spent one night in their "Family Suite". For a tad less than the price of 2 rooms elsewhere, we got a nice roomy master bedroom with sink and mirror, BUT no TV! Other room was a sofa sleeper that when opened you had to walk sideways and bend a bit to not hit the fireplace mantle. Photos online are deceiving on size. It is a small space and made even smaller with 2 parents and 2 teenagers forced to be in the tiny room with the only TV. My husband wanted nothing more than to relax on the comfy bed and watch the All- Star Game! No in room coffee maker, although you do have fridge and microwave and supplies to cook mac and cheese or something else simple BUT, you will not find a "Continental Breakfast" that opens later with less choices than here. If you want clean, cozy, and a simple place to lay your head on a pillow, don't need to watch television, or have a decent breakfast that most places provide now, it will be worth your dollar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

It was very clean and the fridge was a plus. Great location. And our dog loved the prairie dogs in the grounds surrounding the motel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had a wonderful stay and I will definitely come back. I felt welcomed by the owner and the staff was wonderful. The rooms were very clean. I liked sitting right outside my room and enjoying the weather.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

My mom and I stay at this hotel last July, and the owners were so nice to us and our dog.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed the end of Sept. and we very happy wirh the facilities, friendliness of the owner and the cleaning staff. We stayed in different rooms due to no reservation, on a busy weekend. Rooms were more than adequit, and very clean. We travel alot and do not need a motel with a bar,restaurant,pool,or exersize room, so due not want to pay for these things. Great beds, clean bathrooms paticularly, and friendliness of staff all are important. Location is also good, away from town but still close enough to be convienient. Would definately stay here again, and recomend to others not wanting a high dollar stay.

Room Tip: Suites are nice, but regular rooms worked well also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The staff was friendly, especially with us showing up late and needing a room. The screen doors are nice so the air can blow through the room. A/C worked great, my wife got cold but it was a perfect temperature for me. The extra toiletries were a nice touch, as well as the night-lite in the bathroom. I could tell the rooms had been redone recently because the head boards were pine beetle kill wood. It looked great in those rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Estes Park hotels
0.2 mi away
Murphy's Resort at Estes Park
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Estes Park
Comfort Inn Estes Park
#10 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
2.5 mi away
Deer Crest Resort
Deer Crest Resort
#4 of 28 in Estes Park
4.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
Rocky Mountain Park Inn
#22 of 28 in Estes Park
3.5 of 5 stars 371 reviews
1.1 mi away
Stanley Hotel
Stanley Hotel
#15 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,438 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coyote Mountain Lodge
Coyote Mountain Lodge
#16 of 28 in Estes Park
4.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Address: 1540 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 28 Hotels in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Columbine Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable motel ideally located one mile east of downtown Estes Park, within walking distance of Lake Estes Marina & walkway, golf, horseback riding, restaurants & shopping. All units are ground level and parking right in front of your room. Enjoy the lovely garden gazebo, spacious grounds with picnic area and soak in our outdoor hot tub after a day of hiking, shopping or sight seeing.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Columbine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.