We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, lovely, simple, well-run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Columbine Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Columbine Inn
Save
You added Columbine Inn to your Saves list
1540 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Clean, lovely, simple, well-run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My boyfriend and I spent two nights in Estes Park and chose Columbine Inn based on TripAdvisor reviews. The reviews we read were exactly right- the rooms and property are extremely clean and organized (in comparison with some dumpier looking places in Estes Park), the amenities are great (large mini-fridge in the room, nice TV, good bed, good bathroom), and the manager (John) was extremely friendly and helpful when we checked in. I get the sense that the Columbine is owned/operated locally (probably by John), and you can tell there's a lot of pride in the place, which is why it's kept up so well.

Would definitely recommend this place to any budget-conscious traveler who's looking for a nice, clean, comfortable place.

Room Tip: Room 14 is fine, and that's the only one we saw!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    19
    9
    6
    3
See reviews for
20
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arvada, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My husband and I and our 2 teenage kids spent one night in their "Family Suite". For a tad less than the price of 2 rooms elsewhere, we got a nice roomy master bedroom with sink and mirror, BUT no TV! Other room was a sofa sleeper that when opened you had to walk sideways and bend a bit to not hit the fireplace mantle. Photos online are deceiving on size. It is a small space and made even smaller with 2 parents and 2 teenagers forced to be in the tiny room with the only TV. My husband wanted nothing more than to relax on the comfy bed and watch the All- Star Game! No in room coffee maker, although you do have fridge and microwave and supplies to cook mac and cheese or something else simple BUT, you will not find a "Continental Breakfast" that opens later with less choices than here. If you want clean, cozy, and a simple place to lay your head on a pillow, don't need to watch television, or have a decent breakfast that most places provide now, it will be worth your dollar.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

It was very clean and the fridge was a plus. Great location. And our dog loved the prairie dogs in the grounds surrounding the motel!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I had a wonderful stay and I will definitely come back. I felt welcomed by the owner and the staff was wonderful. The rooms were very clean. I liked sitting right outside my room and enjoying the weather.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012 via mobile

My mom and I stay at this hotel last July, and the owners were so nice to us and our dog.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

We stayed the end of Sept. and we very happy wirh the facilities, friendliness of the owner and the cleaning staff. We stayed in different rooms due to no reservation, on a busy weekend. Rooms were more than adequit, and very clean. We travel alot and do not need a motel with a bar,restaurant,pool,or exersize room, so due not want to pay for these things. Great beds, clean bathrooms paticularly, and friendliness of staff all are important. Location is also good, away from town but still close enough to be convienient. Would definately stay here again, and recomend to others not wanting a high dollar stay.

Room Tip: Suites are nice, but regular rooms worked well also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

The staff was friendly, especially with us showing up late and needing a room. The screen doors are nice so the air can blow through the room. A/C worked great, my wife got cold but it was a perfect temperature for me. The extra toiletries were a nice touch, as well as the night-lite in the bathroom. I could tell the rooms had been redone recently because the head boards were pine beetle kill wood. It looked great in those rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Columbine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Columbine Inn

Address: 1540 Big Thompson Avenue, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Columbine Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Columbine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.