We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Third Time was Still a Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Valhalla Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Estes Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Valhalla Resort
Save
You added Valhalla Resort to your Saves list
2185 Eagle Cliff Road, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
West Chicago, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The Third Time was Still a Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Having honeymooned in Estes Park at Valhalla 31 years ago with an interim visit about 15 years ago it was exciting to stay once more at this resort with such a great location to RMNP. Having stayed in Cabin 14 twice it was nice to have a bit more room in Cabin 22 which is actually more like a little house than a cabin (14 is much more rustic).

#22 was spacious and included a comfortable living room area, perfect for cuddling up with a book. The kitchen was well appointed and equipped with modern conveniences. The beds were passable (the main king-sized bed could use a new mattress) yet there was plenty of space. The unit was very clean. We did report some fixtures which needed attending to (power outlets not working, lack of GFI circuits in the bathrooms, leaking from the smaller bathroom shower). Otherwise we had no issues with the unit.

The only disappointment on this third visit was the almost-surly reception we had upon arriving. I walked in the office and the first words out of the lady who walked in was "Your balance owed is such and such". Not a "Hi, welcome to Estes" or anything approaching courtesy. The rest of her presentation consisted of what we were not supposed to be doing (smoking, having pets, using the wrong towels at the pool, etc). So my suggestion to management is to have someone else handle the front desk who is customer-friendly. Meeting the owner upon checkout was much more pleasant.

Valhalla has a lot of land, great access to restaurants, the Park, and is on the quieter side of Estes so you don't have to hassle with the downtown area if you don't wish to. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask Valhalla to provide you with more photos than are currently available on the website. They coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    48
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
100
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I just returned from an annual pilgrimage to Estes Park to attend the Long's Peak Scottish/Irish Festival and Highland Games. If memory serves, this it the thirteenth trip and on all but two of those my group of friends and I have stayed at Valhalla Resorts. These magnificently maintained cabins are always exceptionally clean, affordable, and conveniently located on the western edge of the town, easily within minutes of every event and restaurant that we enjoy. The views of Long's Peak at dawn are breathtaking, and most mornings you awaken to find that your cabin is surrounded by a herd of Elk just down from the high country for the rutting season. There were 46 there yesterday morning.

I wouldn't even consider staying elsewhere. When you've found perfection,why would you?

David L

Room Tip: They're all good...but #7 was right next to the meadow where the Elk like to graze. Best wildli...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We brought our kids (age 8,10,12) to stay at Valhalla and had an absolute blast! The location is perfect for getting to all the best Estes Park hot spots (RMNP, downtown, rainbow slide, Durnaven Inn Restaurant). Our kids really enjoyed the pool, mini golf, and game room. It is really nice to stay in a place where you feel like the kids are safe. The kitchen in our cabin had everything we needed to cook without having to buy the basics (dishsoap, salt/pepper) and there is a grocery store just down the road to grab the food you need. The cabin was very clean, cozy, and the staff treated us like family. You will not regret booking your next family stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We have stayed at Valhalla several times whilst visiting family in Denver. We have always had a fantastic time and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly - they even supplied us with English tea when they discovered we were from the UK! We stayed in cabin 24 (five adults and two babies). The cabin was very clean and comfortable, and there was plenty of space for the babies to romp around. The cabins are a little way out of town, so the site feels pleasantly secluded, and this allows for some incredible views of the native wildlife - we've seen elk, mule deer, badgers and lots of different birds, all without leaving the resort! All in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We got married in Estes Park and stayed at Valhalla for our honeymoon. We were in the area again 7 years later and spent a lovely second honeymoon in our favorite clean, rustic cabins. I have food allergies so love being able to cook my own food. And dirt roads at Valhalla lead right into RMNP trails, so you can literally walk into the park from your front door if you don't feel like driving over to the main park entrance. Can't wait for our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Three friends spent a week in cabin 25. We were at the Wake Up Festival at the YMCA of the Rocky Mountains which is just around the corner. The cottage is small but with a friendly atmosphere. The kitchen has every thing a cook needs--though we did dine at the The Rock Inn three times! Amazing comfort all around. Beds/mattresses were very good.There's a nice porch looking out onto the mountains and the hot tub is another plus. We'll go back next year!

Room Tip: We wanted a view and Lynett suggested #25. Lots of blue sky, mountains and birds to catch the eye. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Branch, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Best price and best service for group of 10 in Estes Park!. We all wanted to stay in same cabin and that was possible in Valhalla. Five grandkids under age 8 wanted to stay at the "cabin" all day! Thanks! We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Valhalla Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valhalla Resort

Address: 2185 Eagle Cliff Road, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Valhalla Resort is nicely secluded on 15 acres just 3 miles west of Estes Park, Colorado. We offer a variety of cabins and vacation homes bordering Rocky Mountain National Park. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Valhalla Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Valhalla Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.