We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“snowy day in May” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Maxwell Inn to your Saves list
The Maxwell Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“snowy day in May”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Spent a Saturday night in early May 2015. The room was spotless, even the chrome on the shower head looked like it had just been polished. The hotel is down from the main highway near the creek...friends stayed up near the main highway and had to deal with traffic noise...we listened to the nearby creek. Rooms were quaint, only a few tv channels but the main office had a huge selection of movies (I believe they were free to use). Staff was very welcoming and seemed happy we were there.

Only drawback is that the walls are paper thin so you will wake up when your neighbors get up in the morning!

A herd of elk frequent the grounds and we took pictures of the elk (some were the size of horses) from less than 10 feet away. Directly across the street from the hotel is a little pizza place / Italian restaurant that we hope to visit next time. Overall the rooms were not huge but the cleanliness and comfortable beds more than made up for the size of the rooms. Don't forget your swimsuit, I didn't know they had a jacuzzi outside until I walked past a couple enjoying it. They said hello and told me the jacuzzi was 104 degrees and really clean.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the end
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    27
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
120
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Maxwell Inn while visiting the RMNP. Not 2 minutes after arriving we viewed three elk walking along the fence. I took that as a sign this was going to be an amazing place to stay on our vacation! We checked in and got to our room which was clean and super cozy. I felt it was the perfect size for just the two of us. There was everything you would expect to find such as a TV, Dvd player, WiFi, hot tub, and patio seating with a fire pit. Every morning there was a nice breakfast spread where guests are welcome to assorted fruits/ muffins/ toast/ coffee and juice. As this was our first time to the area we asked for quite a few recommendations for where to eat and maybe some things to do in the area when the weather looked like it might keep us from hiking that day and they never disappointed. They told us of some great places to eat and the town was within walking distance from the Inn which I can only imagine is a blessing in the busy season. As well as a super Pizza place across the street that makes New York style pizza ( and we are from the Chicago area... so it must have been good for us to rave about it!) As well as being close to the downtown area it is a short drive to get to the park entrance. Our stay at the Maxwell Inn was an amazing and memorable vacation for us and they really make you feel like family when you stay there. We look forward to spending future vacations here.

Room Tip: King suite #2 is an upper level, corner room, easy parking accessibility, closest to the hot tub an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We loved The Maxwell Inn. The location was within walking distance of shops and restaurants and was also close to Rocky Mountain National Park. Dana helped us find appropriate trails and places to take sunset photos. Our room was great. We loved the DVD player so we could relax by watching movies. We highly recommend The Maxwell Inn.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited in early May with a two yr old son. The room was really well maintained and clean. Very close to RMNP and the city center. Loved our stay there. The owners were very nice.The only thing was the rooms and bathrooms were small to stay with a kid.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Maxwell Inn and for taking the time to write about your stay. Our future guests will appreciate your feedback about out room size. Because our rooms are not particularly spacious, we encourage guests to contact us with any questions about room choice so that we may suggest rooms that suit specific needs/wants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel is close to everything. All rooms are great. Very comfortable beds. Nice linen and amenities. Owner is fabulous. Great stay! Breakfast is great! The check in is a tad late but the town can be explored while you wait. Fabulous stay with 2 kids.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
We are so glad that you enjoyed your say! Thank you for allowing us to make suggestions of things to do around town for you and your family while we made sure that your room was perfect for your check-in. We hope that you choose to stay with us again, if you are ever back in Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There were no surprises. Clean, quick service, continental breakfast, hot tub. Price was decent. My only comment regarding less than stellar and room for improvement was the front desk 'friendly' service. There are many hotel/motel choices in Estes Park and I'm most likely to return to the one that acts like they appreciate my business. Several contacts with front desk person was less than cordial, and rather hurried. Just didn't leave an impression of "I'm glad you're here".

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
William, Thank you both for staying with us this past weekend. I did enjoy visiting with you about the reason for your stay and your interest in some of the items on our property. We'd certainly never want anyone to feel like their business wasn't appreciated - and I can't really recall any individual interaction with you that I felt was rushed, so I hope you understand that was never my intent. We've been lucky enough to have over three thousand guests since we opened in 2013 - and each one has had a different personality and expected a slightly different level of service, but we've tried to meet them all in such a way that is both friendly and non-overbearing or intrusive. Thank you for the kind words about our property, and if you find yourself looking to stay in Estes again, please consider trying us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, NJ
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I feel some things that are important, at least to me,have been omitted in prior reviews.

1.This is a glorified motel.
2. There is a strong air freshener used that I could not get rid of no matter how long I left the door open and the windows. ( for me this translates to a taste in my mouth, headache, nausea and irritated eyes. It doesn't bother my husband one bit. )
3. It is off a road with few cars but when they come by they definitely swoosh. Perhaps not audible if the windows are closed.

All this said, the room is clean and all else is as others have described it.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you very much for staying with us, and we truly believe you enjoyed your stay. As your husband was leaving the lobby, his exact unsolicited words were "Great stay, keep up the good work." If that isn't a positive review, I don't know what is. For any other potential guests that read this:
1. We own a charming motel - the room doors open to the outside. If you're looking for more (or less), we'd be happy to recommend somewhere that better suits your needs.
2. Sometimes we use air fresheners in the rooms, and on this evening we had four other rooms available. If a guest lets us know about an issue, we will do whatever we possibly can to make them happy.
3. We are located on Elkhorn Avenue, which is the street that connects to Estes' vibrant downtown full of shops and restaurants - and yes, there can be a bit of traffic noise from time to time - but if you read reviews, it's rarely, if ever, mentioned.
Guest happiness is our #1 priority - even if that means somewhere else would be a better fit - we want everyone to enjoy their time in such a beautiful part of the country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Maxwell Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned and operated hotel, The Maxwell Inn is a ten minute river walk from downtown, is just three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park, and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. The cozy rooms feature handmade alder furniture, new mattresses, and comfortable linens and bed duvets. Our hot tub and flagstone patio are both a great place to relax after a long day in the park or after a stroll through the shops downtown. The owners are happy to ensure your vacation to Estes Park is a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.