We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely updated, Great location, Friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Inn to your Saves list
The Maxwell Inn
553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 Hotels in Estes Park
Plattsmouth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nicely updated, Great location, Friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Maxwell Inn is in a great location, just a couple blocks off the main part of Elkhorn Ave with easy access to the Fall River entrance to RMNP. The new owners have updated the rooms and bathrooms very nicely. Everything was very comfortable. And Dana is very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    20
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
51
105
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We found this gem on Groupon. So glad we did. Great location. Nicely accommodated. In room fridge, microwave and coffee maker. They even provided a tube of lip balm. We did not partake in the breakfast but it looked nice. The room looks recently remodel. Bed is very comfortable. Great location easy beautiful walk to downtown along the river.

Room Tip: We were upstairs on the back corner. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I stayed at the Maxwell Inn for five nights. I picked the inn because it had been recently remodeled and the furnishings would be new. We were not disappointed. The bed was comfortable, the furnishings nicely done and the service we received from Dana and Peter was top notch. The breakfast was simple, but just enough to get us going to explore Estes Park and the Rockies. We felt at home and met a lot of nice people.

Room Tip: Room #2 was nice with two windows and a good location. We didn't need air or heat so I can'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It is close to the Estes Park downtown area. It was not an expensive hotel. The room was clean. It was not very big though. Do not expect a suite. No sitting area really. We stayed on the bottom floor and I could hear the people upstairs stomping around. The breakfast is okay not great. The internet access was good. I would stay here again if the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaMax553, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Hal - Thank you for staying at our Inn! Our location is really exceptional, putting us a very close walk to downtown, but not so close that you have to fight for parking or can tell that it's really busy down there! We don't have any suites here at The Maxwell Inn, however if you're looking for a very large room, or co-joined rooms, we can certainly help you find a place that works. The first floor can be noisier than the second by nature, however the trade-off is that if you're on the first floor you don't need to take any stairs to your room, and you've got the simplest access to parking - for some folks that's a big deal. This winter we're replacing the deck around the entire property, which is a huge undertaking, but it will significantly cut down on any transferred noise into the rooms below. Also, if you're looking for a huge breakfast, there are a few restaurants in town that we can recommend, otherwise our breakfast has a lot of choices and most people find it perfect to start their day! Thanks again for the review, and if we can help you at all in the future, please don't hesitate to reach out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This Inn probably deserves its #1 rating...

However--we found our room quite cramped for two. Perhaps some of the other rooms are more spacious, but our second floor room had little space to walk.

Yes, the decorating is very pleasing and updated, and the place was quiet the night we stayed.

The major ding is the "breakfast." It consisted of not much more than a granola bar and some coffee. So if you stay here be prepared to go out for breakfast. We recommend Kind Coffee if coffee and a pastry will do!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hank N Dotty - Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn, and we're glad you appreciated the time and effort that we've invested into the decor of our property. I respectfully take exception with a few of the things your review mentioned. Our room size is shown in the pictures of each room online, and we've certainly never represented them as spacious. We've also listed exactly what our breakfast entails (much, much more than coffee and granola bars - but no sausage, eggs, etc) on our website and in a few review responses on TripAdvisor, so I cannot understand why you would expect more and then list less than what we provide for our wonderful guests. Finally, I am surprised that you took time in your review to both list and encourage guests to find another property, however I think that most folks that read reviews will see that as striking as I did. We can only hope that you find what you're looking for, at a price that you're comfortable with, during your next trip to Estes Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolensville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 2nd time staying at The Maxwell Inn. We stayed in the room at the top of the stairs...there were no issues with noise.
Dana & Pete are knowledgeable & helpful with hikes & restaurants alike.
We will definitely keep this on the top of the list for future visits to Estes Park!

Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanaMax553, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thanks for coming back! We've personally worked very hard on the Inn, and it's pretty rewarding to hear that you guys really enjoyed it more than once. I can assume that this trip was less eventful than the last, however that is probably a good thing! I saw your pic of the fire pit and patio - it's so comfortable and well put together. Next year when you guys come back the entire deck will be brand new, with better access and less transferred noise - although sometimes an upstairs neighbor may make a bit of noise if you're on the first floor. At the same time, most of our guests have been out hiking all day and get home, grab a movie, or a soak in the hot tub, and go to bed! If someone was a light sleeper, that would be something to keep in mind. Speaking of noise, the other morning I was joking with a guest about "noise".... we were both woken up at 6:30a by the sound of an elk bugling right outside the back of the Inn, he was walking right down the street. Only in Estes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

After staying in Aspen and Vail, this place seemed a little janky at first. After checking in we dragged our suitecases up the stairs and found that the place was not so bad! It had everything we needed. Bed, small shower, little fridge, and a TV. All in all, didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Would return here for the money spent on the room as it was very comfortable. I think we paid like $189 and stayed in room 5.The lady at the front desk was very helpful. We wanted to see wildlife and she directed us to the best places in RMNP. Thank you!

Room Tip: Might want to stay up on the second floor so that you don't hear the neighbor above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Estes Park is full of old hotels that have been in business since 1970 and before. The diamond in the rough, is finding a hotel in town that has been recently renovated and fits all of your needs during your stay. We are glad to hear that we were able to provide all of this, and a comfortable and clean room for your time in Estes Park. We look forward to being your Inn of choice for your next trip to The Rockies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Best Value Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Inn is minutes from downtown, only three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. Breakfast includes coffee, juice, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and granola bars, and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.