We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can't beat this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Maxwell Inn
553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2014 Renovations
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
“You can't beat this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I had no idea how lucky my wife and I were to find this place for a quick in and out for a destination wedding. There were obviously fancier facilities in more picturesque locations, but the combination we get at the Maxwell Inn makes it a winner hands down. Start with owner Dana who was incredibly charming, helpful, and gracious in answering my many questions. We had there one detached room which, though small, was a great space obviously carefully renovated by Dana and Peter. The continental breakfast was just right with a lovely patio to enjoy it. The small size made it seem very private even though is is just off the main road.

It was inspiring to meet a couple who were living there dream by giving the Maxwell Inn a new life as a family. It doesn't hurt that it is on the doorstep of the town yet an easy ride to Rocky Mountain National Park.

Thank you, Dana.

Room Tip: If you can get the one detached unit, take it.
See more room tips
Green Features: I saw signs recognizing the Maxwell Inn for its environmental efforts.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    107
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Here's what we liked about the Maxwell Inn:
Walking distance from town - great! So nice not to have to drive in and deal w/ all that traffic.
Nice location near a steam that you can hear when you open your door.
Comfortable room w/ all the amenities my husband and I needed (good shower, coffee maker, refrigerator).
Easy drive to the Park.
Issues that weren't relevant for us were:
Breakfast, because we always leave to go hiking before breakfast is served anyway, so we never see what's offered
Room being somewhat dark, due to only one somewhat small window. That would have been a problem, but since the hotel is removed from the road and is relatively quiet we just kept our room door open when we were there during the day or early evening. That let in extra light and lovely fresh air.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Ira - Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maxwell Inn and writing a review after your experience. We love that you felt comfortable enough to relax after your day of hiking and leave the door open. We understand that some of our rooms do not have very big windows and thus have plans to put in second windows where we can. This will be a Winter project for us, so you will have to visit again to see the progress! We also welcome our early risers to pick up non-perishable breakfast items the evening before, so that they have something to get them going in the morning before we open the breakfast room. It really does make us happy that your enjoyed our Inn and your stay, we hope that you can return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Speings
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Each time I visit Estes Park I stay at the Maxwell Inn! The kind hospitality, nice rooms, and great location (walking distance to shops in Estes and close drive to entrance of RMNP) make it the perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Paige - Thank you for making us your Estes Park Inn of choice. We love being able to serve returning guests. We look forward to seeing you next summer and meeting more of your friends! Best wishes on your new school adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

The Maxwell Inn was well located, clean and quiet. The location was convenient to the main gate of Rocky Mountain National Park and within an easy walk of downtown Estes Park. There was no pool or any real amenities. The included breakfast was OK: cold cereal, instant oatmeal, pastries and some fruit. The proprietors were very accommodating.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
David - thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to write a review on our Inn! I was surprised that you actually listed some of our amenities in the same paragraph that you wrote that we didn't have any real amenities; however most folks that read reviews will make their own determination on the validity of a reviewer's claims. Our property features a newly constructed natural gas fire pit / hot tub / courtyard area, fast and free wi-fi, tastefully appointed rooms, continental breakfast, an incredible location close to town, and some of the nicest owners you'll ever meet (or so we've been told, haha). Booking on our website, as you did, allows a guest to pick their room (with pictures), as well as view our property and see what we have to offer. Ultimately, we want our guests to be happy with their experience; we believe that the work we've done to make the property warm and inviting makes us an excellent place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We (2 couples) stayed at the Maxwell Inn in mid-July for two nights while we were visiting Rocky Mountain National Park. It is basically a motel-style building on two levels. Both rooms were comfortable and clean, although our king room on the first floor behind the separate outbuilding was quite small and dark. But the other room with two queen beds on the second floor in the back was larger and much lighter. Each room had a small refrigerator and microwave oven plus coffee maker. There is a simple, but adequate, continental breakfast in the breakfast room (or outside on the patio in nice weather). There is a lovely new patio outside with a hot tub and fire pit, along with several tables and chairs which we used to have an evening cocktail. One of the best features is that you can walk into Estes Park along the river trail--great for evening dining and shopping in the many stores along the main street. No need to drive and look for parking.

The young couple who own the Inn are very accommodating and helpful. I made a few suggestions and they seemed glad to have the input. They have redone the Inn over the short period that they have owned it, so everything looks good and well-cared for. I would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting that area.

Room Tip: Upstairs in the back is the quietest but you have to go up about 10 steps--also lets in more light.
See more room tips
Green Features: I don't know what they do relating to the environment other than to ask you to recycle towels.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Thank you all for staying with us this summer. Our future guests will appreciate your insight and feedback about the rooms you stayed in, our continental breakfast and our newly renovated patio/fire pit area. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your evening cocktails on the patio and being able to stroll along the river walk into town for dinner. It was nice visiting with you in the Lobby and hearing your suggestions and thoughts about the in-room amenities. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting another getaway for you and your friends in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We chose The Maxwell Inn because of the great reviews we had read. And it was not a disappointment! Peter and Dana were great; full of help and information. There ever presence in the lobby was warm and comforting. Unfortunately, when we left for home, I left my phone charger in our room and Dana called to let us know. She shipped it to our home and we received it the very next day! Now that is wonderful customer service and you don't get that at a hotel!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Linda - Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maxwell Inn and for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure meeting you and your husband this past week. We always enjoy suggesting things for our guests to see and do while in Estes Park and then hearing about the days adventures around town, so we were happy to be able to do that for you two. In today's world of constant connectivity and technology, we understand that even a little charger matters. We were happy to be able to find and send it to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seguin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We were passing through Estes Park and stayed for a single night, but we enjoyed our stay at the Maxwell Inn. The room was well kept and quite comfortable. We stayed in the detached king room in the front of the property, and it has the unique feature of having high ceilings, making it quite charming. The hosts are exceptionally friendly and welcoming. The continental breakfast was simple, but provided a good selection of food to choose from. Undoubtedly one of the best features of the inn is its proximity to downtown Estes, which is a short 10 minute walk away along the river. At the same time, the inn is situated far enough from the road and is small enough that it feels cozy and quiet. If I was going to make a longer stay in Estes, I wouldn't hesitate to stay at the Maxwell Inn.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our Inn. The room you stayed in is our only stand-alone room, which is quiet and cozy. One of the things we like most about this property is it's proximity to all the shops and restaurant and also RMNP. Like you mentioned, we are situated just close enough to town to walk, but far enough away that we do not have the road noise of all the Estes Park visitors. We hope that you get back to Estes again soon, and think of us when you are looking for a place to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Inn is minutes from downtown, only three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. Breakfast includes coffee, juice, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and granola bars, and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.