We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“#1 For A Reason” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Maxwell Inn
553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Cape Coral, Fl
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“#1 For A Reason”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We recently spent a week at the Maxwell Inn, and had a great time. It's a comfortable, quiet place, almost more of a B&B feel, and the young owners have clearly spent a great deal of time and effort renovating from top to bottom. The location was perfect for us - close to town but far enough out of town to avoid the congestion, and a short drive to the Fall River entrance to the park. Our room was tastefully decorated and comfortable, the renovations recently completed (so we were told). It was a nice place to "come home to" after spending all day in the park. I'm fascinated with hummingbirds (not very abundant around our South Florida home), and spent some time sitting in the courtyard trying to capture images. On one chilly evening, we also enjoyed the recently completed fenced-in patio with fire pit (and hot tub). Frankly, we also thought that their rates were quite reasonable. Finally, we concur with all of the positive comments made by other reviewers, and highly recommend The Maxwell Inn when visiting Estes Park.

Room Tip: We had the detached room at the front of the property, which affords a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
G&D - there is so much to do in and around Estes Park, and we liked to hear about your daily adventures in hiking, shopping and driving. We have upgraded and updated all of our rooms to a level, that we feel, makes them quaint and comfortable. So it is nice to hear that you felt that way about your room as well. We will try to keep the hummingbirds coming back until you can return to Estes! Hopefully, we will see you two back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Traverse County, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a great place to stay while in Estes Park, Colorado. My wife and I were very appreciative of the owners hospitality and friendliness. We enjoyed the fire pit outside on their beautiful new patio, and we especially enjoyed the elk that came to visit 2 nights in a row just outside our door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Steve - the Elk must have known you were coming and that your wife wanted to take pictures, because he hung around for a while for all of us to admire! We are glad that you enjoyed our new patio with fire pit, it's a nice place to sit and unwind from a days hike or adventure. It was nice meeting and talking with you two, please come back and stay with us again some time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horton, Michigan
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I spent five days at this wonderful Inn. Danna and Peter the owners went above and beyond to make our stay a very memorable one. This was our anniversary and Danna brought us a beautiful bouquet of roses and lilies to our room. Our room smelled so wonderful and romantic. When We checked out we gave the bouguet back for Dana, Peter and other guests to enjoy.
Rooms were cozy , very clean, very tastefully decorated, new bathroms, beautiful grounds with professional landscaping, wonderful breakfast every morning, and outstanding housekeepers. We were within walking distance to down town Estes Park where we found many unique shops and gifts for our friends at home. We were within minutes to the Nation Park. We visited the park twice , going all the way to the top. Thank you Danna and Peter for making us feel at home at the Maxwell Innn. We will defiently be back!
Best Reguards
Wanda and Bill
Horton, Michigan

Room Tip: Choose a Balcany room. I was relaxing on the balcany and saw a huge elk cross the road into the Inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, yesterday
Wanda and Bill - It was great talking with you both. What more could you ask for when you are on vacation than to fell like you are at home or with friends/family. This is the experience we try to create for our guests at The Maxwell Inn. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate your kind words and our future guests will appreciate your review of the room you stayed in and our proximity to all things in Estes Park. Please think of The Maxwell Inn for your next vacation to Estes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Maxwell Inn is a great choice for staying in Estes Park in so many ways, but let's start with a wonderful story. Dana and Peter, a young couple from St. Louis, decide to make the big leap from corporate life to own and run their own business. They purchase an existing business in Estes Park, make major renovations and open it as the Maxwell Inn. A very risky move, given all of the other motels and inns in the area and the amount of investment needed to pull this off.

The result, a real success story!

The Maxwell Inn is smartly located just outside of the very busy and congested downtown area of Estes Park, making it a wise choice for ease of parking and some privacy from the mobs of tourists that cram Estes Park each day. A short 10 minute walk along a paved path that hugs the river takes you from the Inn to the heart of town. The Inn grounds are very well kept and include a spacious new patio area with a hot tub, fire pit and plenty of tables and chairs to enjoy breakfast, relax after a day's hike, or a glass of wine in the evening. We stayed in room 2, which included a very comfortable king bed, upholstered chairs, flat screen TV, microwave and mini-fridge. The room was very clean and roomy and the bathroom and tub/shower were very functional. The services provided by the Inn were excellent. Dana and Peter gladly provided great advice about visiting RMNP, selecting the best places to eat and seeing the local attractions. The Inn also provides a light continental breakfast each morning which is perfect for starting out the day. Overall, a great value.

Dana and Peter's dream of owning their own business is off to a fantastic start. I will definitely return to the Maxwell Inn and highly encourage anyone who is planning a trip to Estes Park to do the same.

Congrats, Dana and Peter! Keep up the good work!!

Room Tip: Room 2 is a corner room and is closest to the patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Well said, well written and much appreciated! Thank you for the vote of confidence. We realize the Inn won't be perfect for everyone. But it sounds like the combination of hospitality, location, comfort and overall ambiance, were perfect for you two. One of the best things about this venture is the people we meet, and being able to visit with our guests. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our suggestions for places to see and things to do. Let us know when you are ready to return, I'm sure we will have more great recommendations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place!! Don't be fooled by the other petty, negative reviews. The owners have done an excellent job updating the rooms. The pics aren't updated so you have even nicer facilities in your room. The beds are super comfy, room very clean, very quiet (except maybe a loud person walking by...not their fault!!), close to downtown, wonderful sitting area with fire pit and hot tub. We will definitely return here on our next stay!! One of the best hotels in Estes now. Plus you get to see the elk grazing each am/pm. Great talking to you Dana!!

Room Tip: We stayed in #9 and it's a nice size for a family of 4.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Mitchell Family - It was great talking with you as we admired the huge 7x7 bull elk in the front lawn! Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn and your room for our future guests. And yes, we are continually updating our rooms and are in the process of updating the pictures on-line so that everyone can see and book the room that fits their needs. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lubbock, TX
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here with the wife last week. It's pretty quiet, clean, and the rooms have been updated. The front desk was friendly, and the skittish hummingbird at the feeder near the front office was really funny. It's fine, you should stay here.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, I would recommend requesting the second floor because if you are on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thanks for taking the time to let folks know about our Inn! Updated rooms is something that Peter and I have personally put a lot of time and effort into. It's great to hear that you enjoyed the local wildlife as well; being a quiet location lets you feel like you're close enough to walk to town comfortably but also be able to relax anytime you'd like (the hummingbirds and elk have figured this out, also!) - especially using our new fire pit and hot tub area. Sometimes the deck can be noisy, and we'd agree that light sleepers may sleep better upstairs - using our website lets you choose the specific room, and we'd recommend that. Again, your insight is appreciated and we can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot say enough about our stay.

We were travelling from another part of Colorado and got into Estes Park well ahead of check-in time. Dana greeted us and told us our room was ready for us which was wonderful (we were tired).

We received helpful information/ideas on what to see in RMNP, where to dine and even found us a place in the village for my daughter to find a replacement earring. It was also very conveniently located close to town and RMNP.

The room was very cozy and comfortable and very nicely decorated and clean! The internet was the best we had during our stay and Colorado and considering that it was the most remote location, we were pleased!

The breakfast was nice. Many choices for a continental breakfast. The danish were delicious! Dana even spent time with us at breakfast sharing stories of how she and Peter got started and ended up in the hotel business.

Our only regret was that we weren't able to stay longer. We hope we will be able to visit again and look forward to catching up with Dana and Peter.

Highly recommend the Maxwell Inn!!!

The Bakers

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Baker Ladies - Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure getting to know you, it was like talking with long-time friends! We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our Inn, your room and the in-room amenities offered here. As for the recommendations, we truly want all of our guests to enjoy their stay and their time in the mountains, so we do what we can to make recommendations tailored to each guest. There is so much to see and do, we hope that you return for more fun and adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Inn is minutes from downtown, only three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. Breakfast includes coffee, juice, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and granola bars, and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.