We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Maxwell Inn
553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Naples, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Service and Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed last weekend in Estes Park for our son's wedding, the Maxwell Inn is in a great location just outside of town. The owners are onsite and go above and beyond to make your stay warm and inviting. They really embrace the role as innkeepers! We enjoyed our stay very much, the rooms are beyond clean, if you are used to the chain hotels you will be spoiled by a stay here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Bruce - it was pleasure chatting and getting to know you and your family! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope that if/when you return to Estes Park that we can be your first choice for lodging. We wish you and your family a wonderful holiday season and a Happy New Year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Maxwell Inn in late October and Early November 2013. The motel is under new management, a very friendly young couple who work very hard to make sure your stay is a good one. Our room was very clean and the beds were quite comfortable. We did find that there was not adequate drawer space for a trip lasting more than a few days, and the chairs in the room were not comfortable at all. We were told these are on the list of improvements to be made soon. We wish Dana and Peter great success. They are off to a good start.

Room Tip: Room 9 is a great room to have when it is cold outside. It is right above the boiler and the floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Gail - Thank you for your feedback and review. Yes, we are continuing to improve the Inn by replacing old furniture pieces with new custom made furnishings. All 17 rooms recently got new headboards that were made by a local Fine Furniture business. That same business is working on new nightstands for all the rooms and then new 3 and 4 drawer dressers are on the books. The only constant in nature is change and we are embracing the notion. We welcome you to Estes and congratulate you on becoming locals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The Maxwell inn was the perfect place. The owners Dana and Peter greeted us with genuine smiles and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Priced perfectly we were pleasantly surprised, we went for a wedding in Estes an wanted an alternative to the high priced stanley hotel. The rooms were immaculate, renovated and comfortable. The breakfast was very nice and I especially liked the small fireplace in the breakfast room. You won't be disappointed. I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
What better way to enjoy a get-away to Estes Park, than to check into a cozy clean hotel room and be able to relax. We believe that a guests experience starts at check-in, so we try to be as welcoming as we can. A guests 2nd impression happens when you step into your room, most guests expect to find a clean room and bathroom and our housekeepers (who are human), strive to make sure every guest has the same clean experience when they walk into their room. Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn and most importantly, for staying at The Maxwell Inn! We hope you get to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

There is really no way of saying how wonderful this place is to stay. Dana and her Husband are super in keepers. They are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms are the cleanest I have ever seen in a vacation town. The place is a little older, but don't let that fool you, the rooms are updated, free wifi and lcd tv's. The beds are super comfortable. The hot tub is awesome for sitting out under the stars. It's right off the main road, but traffic noise is not a problem. Dana is a wealth of knowledge of the area and has great advice of places to eat and things to do. I didn't run into any problems or complaints, but I'm positive if I did, Dana would have gone out of her way to fix it or make it right. It started to feel a little like home after a couple days. Don't pass this place up, its a place where vacation memories are made and you will want to come back time after time.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 4. Roomy enough for a couple with one queen bed. Has a nice 2nd room with a microwa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Bryan - we are very humbled by your (and all reviewers) compliments on our Inn. As with any small business owner, all we want is for our customers to be happy and enjoy what we are offering. It looks like we were able to provide just the right level of customer service to meet your needs, while allowing you to explore and enjoy your vacation in a way that worked for you. Being a family run business, we try to treat our guests as such, except we are the type of family that love when our guests want to come back over and over and over again! Can't wait until you can return to enjoy some more R & R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We were in Estes Park to visit Rocky Mountain. We chose this Inn based on the reviews. We were not disappointed. We felt very welcomed and our room was quaint, with extra little touches. The bed was extremely comfortable and the linens were perfect! :)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Maxwell Inn. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that your room met your expectations. We try to be as transparent as possible when it comes to the amenities of our accommodations, we know that we may not fit everyone's needs but we have truly enjoyed serving the guests that we have had. Let us know when you're coming back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My son and I went on a hiking vacation last month. We had initially booked for several nights at the Maxwell but when RMNP closed because of the shutdown, we changed our plans and went elsewhere. While we were in Colorado, the governor persuaded Interior Dept to reopen the park and we called the Maxwell. They had a room for us the next day and we ended up spending three nights there. It is a pretty simple place, laid out as a motel, but the rooms are clean and cheery, and the breakfast offered was fine. Good internet service in the rooms, as well.
They gave us good recommendations for where to eat. It suited us very well,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Raymond & Son - we were ecstatic that the gov't got their act together and opened the park during your vacation. Our hope is that all of our guests get to enjoy the RMNP in some capacity, so the fact that you guys were able to get out and do some good hiking is great! Thank you for staying with us, we were glad that we were able to provide "just what you needed" while you were our guests. Please come stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed at the Maxwell recently on an overnight trip to Estes Park. We wanted to see the results of the flooding and also offer a little bit of financial to folks in the area. The new owners are in the process or renovating the property, so not everything is where they want it to be, but we were very happy and comfortable with the accomodations.
Dana at the desk was very friendly and hospitable. She gave us a room that did not face the road, although honestly, they is hardly any traffic right now! Our room was clean and comfortable. They had re-done all the woodwork, including new headboards, nightstands, and bathroom door with beautiful knotty alder. The vanity and sink were not yet updated in our room, but many of the rooms have been we were told.
The beds were REALLY comfortable as were the pillows. The entire room was done tastefully with nice throw pillows and little touches.
We enjoyed the hot tub on the side of the building in a private fenced area. It was wonderful to look at the stars and soak in the lovely hot water!
The continental breakfast was perfect, nothing fancy, but had everything we needed; GOOD coffee & teas, fruit, yogurts, muffins, danishes and cereal for our daughter. The breakfast room has a fireplace in it which made it all even more charming and cozy.
The entire property was well kept even though it is older. The new owners just took over in April and are not finished with the place, so it will get even better! We felt they have done a wonderful job so far and will definitely go back!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Chip and Family - Thank you for staying at The Maxwell Inn. We love chatting with other business owners, who happen to be guests, and swap and share stories about the business. Thank you for pointing out the quietness of the property in relation to our closeness to the road and to Downtown. That's one of the things that drew us to this property, we have such a close proximity to all the things you would want to do in Estes Park, but while on the property, you would never guess that we were so close because it stays so quiet!
And we enjoyed talking with you about the renovations we have completed and the ones that are on the books to be completed. We are continuously responding to guest feedback and making changes as we go. Like you mentioned, some bathrooms have been touched up here and there, we can not wait to be able to update them totally. You will have to come back to check on our progress or to see the projects we have completed (wink, wink)! We hope to see you and your family again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Rocky Mountain National Park > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Inn is minutes from downtown, only three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. Breakfast includes coffee, juice, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and granola bars, and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.