We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A plus customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Maxwell Inn
553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A plus customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and were going to Estes on a long weekend. We loved this place and the inn keepers. Couldn't have been nicer and helpful as to where to go in Estes. Place was clean and great views. They even let us borrow a wine opener so we didn't have to buy one. We can't wait to go back. On a side note Estes looked great, hard to tell there was a flood here not to long ago

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Mr & Mrs U - Thank you for staying with us on your extended-parents-only weekend! We were glad that we could help you find a place to watch "your" football team win another big game while the Mrs enjoyed a massage. Please let us know when you are ready to return to Estes and we will make sure you are taken care of, as always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting Estes Park and decided to stay at the Maxwell Inn specifically because of the recommendations.

To begin with the gentleman at reception was very obliging and let as into our room early as requested. He also gave us some salt water taffy which was a very nice touch.

We requested a room on the second floor which had a nice view. The room itself while scrupulously clean was small and dark. The tiny window did not let in much natural light. The bathroom itself can only be described as petite. I found the bed uncomfortable. Others may have a different view as this is a personal thing.

On the plus side I found the inn clean and the owners friendly and its location to the town and park was great. The continental breakfast was reasonable and the starting time of 7:00am was convenient.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Vivienne, it was great meeting and assisting you and your husband. I am sorry that the size or our room, bathroom, and window were not what you were expecting. We don't really advertise having "spacious" rooms or bathrooms or spectacularly large windows with lots of natural light, because those aren't strengths of our Inn - and we make sure that our pictures online give an accurate representation of our property and accommodations. The service, the materials used in the rooms (linens, duvets, towels, baseboards and crown molding, etc), the ideal location - those are our strengths. Your insight is sincerely appreciated because it will certainly help travelers looking for larger rooms with bigger windows ensure they're happy where they stay - even if that means it's not with us. Our #1 priority is making sure that our guests our happy. Thank you again for your review and please don't be a stranger to Colorado and Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wyleswood
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We planned an unexpected visit to Estes Park in early October. We saw that the Maxwell Inn had very nice reviews. The owners are very, very nice and run a nice motel. The amenities in the room are a lovely touch. The beds are comfortable, in fact very comfortable. The rooms were clean and the coffee maker, small refrigerator and extra towels are terrific. However, this place is noisy. Too noisy for us. Doors from other rooms and voices outside the room were easily heard.
I wish I could give it the highest rating because the owners are so nice and the place so clean but if you are sensitive to noise, this may not be the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on our Inn and the service you received! It looks like you were happy with all of the things that we can control, which is a good thing! Sometimes folks talk a bit too loud, or close a door too quickly and that can make a bit of noise. The quietest places in Estes will be cabins set away from one another; maybe next time that's something for you all to try. We're appreciative of the feedback and hope that you do visit again, however more than anything else, I would want you to be happy wherever you stay. Thank you for staying with us at The Maxwell Inn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We spent two nights at the Maxwell and were so happy we did. The room was big enough, clean and comfortable. When the owners found out we were celebrating our anniversary they put beautiful roses in our room. You can really tell they want you to enjoy yourself.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Happy Anniversary and many more! Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Maxwell Inn. You are right, we really do want all of our guests to enjoy their time in Estes, whether it be spent downtown shopping and dinning or hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park...and if we can do anything to make your stay here memorable (always within reason!) we will attempt to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Maxwell Inn the last two days of our trip to Colorado, booking the room based on previous tripadvisor reviews. The National Park was closed, but that didn't stop us from going and Dana made our trip to Estes wonderfully memorable. Her hands on approach and warm welcome just made us feel right at home. She was interested in what we wanted, what we were looking do and how she could help in anyway to make our trip the best. She recommended restaurants and gave us great hiking trails to go on (not easy following the flood - this girl was informed!) This is not an ordinary hotel where you are just another guest! Its is like staying with family. What a rare treat in this day and age. Dana even went the extra mile to call our room in the early morning hours to let us know that a big bull elk and his cows were walking across the front of the property. We told her we wanted to find elk - and she saw to it that we did. I cannot tell you how much I appreciated that call! What a personal touch. Try finding that at another hotel. The rooms were so clean and the ultra plush down comforter on the bed made having the window open just perfect. Under that comforter with the elks bugling in the morning was just such a wonderful experience. We can't wait to go back. We will definitely stay at the Maxwell Inn ever time we go.
Chris and JoAnn

Room Tip: I couldn't imagine any room not being a perfect fit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Chris and JoAnn - there is a fine line when it comes to calling a guests room about/for anything, but we felt we HAD to call you guys! It truly warms our hearts to know that you enjoyed our place and your time in Estes. You guys will definitely have to come back to Estes so that you can enjoy the Rocky Mountain National Park, we are sorry that you were unable to enjoy the park while you were here. But it's obvious that you were able to make the most of your time. We look forward to seeing you two again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just spent two nights at The Maxwell Inn, thanks to the many positive reviews on tripadvisor. The Inn is small so you get more personalized service. The rooms were beautifully decorated with nice quality furniture. We slept with the window open and it got pretty cold outside, but the thick down comforter was enough to want to keep you in bed just a little bit longer in the morning. Very clean and it had everything you needed, including wonderful bath products.
Go and enjoy!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
It really is the little things in life isn't it?! We have tried to think of the little things so that our guests don't have to, that way you can enjoy your time in Estes Park. It was pleasure meeting you and we greatly appreciate you choosing to stay at The Maxwell Inn and then also taking the time to write a review. Hopefully you will be visiting more often if your son choses to go to school in Colorado! Best wishes to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookeville, TN
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed one night in Estes Park, planning to go to the RMNP (but the government had other plans). I spoke with Dana and Peter a few times before the trip, and they were very accommodating. Dana gave us some tips on where we could go see wildlife other than the park. It's a quaint little inn in a quaint little town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
It was great meeting you guys, and I can't tell you how bad we felt that Uncle Sam limited such a critical part of the Estes Park experience for you. We are happy the other options worked for you (the elk have been down in town, they're very accommodating), and hope that you make it back out here in the future to take advantage of the beautiful park. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are happy you enjoyed your time in Estes and at The Maxwell Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Rocky Mountain National Park > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Inn is minutes from downtown, only three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. Breakfast includes coffee, juice, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and granola bars, and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.