We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm and Convenience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Maxwell Inn
553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
2014 Renovations
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
San Diego , California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charm and Convenience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We spent two nights at the Maxwell Inn (in late September, after the flood). Dana was great at keeping us informed before we left home as to road conditions, etc. Our room had a great view and Dana and Pete and their two children were great hosts. We felt a bit incorporated into their wonderful family. Access to RMNP and the downtown area are both excellent. The breakfast is satisfying and gets your day off to a good start. If we are lucky enough to return to this beautiful part of our country, we will stay at the Maxwell Inn.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We are so glad that you guys took the leap of faith and made the journey up to Estes Park. With RMNP back open and the shops and restaurants downtown, Estes is a thriving mountain town once again! Our mini-hoteliers loved meeting you as well and we are happy that our quick breakfast in the mornings met your needs. It was a pleasure meeting you and we hope that you can make it out again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
41
64
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nolensville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed for a week @ The Maxwell Inn over the Labor Day weekend 2013. We found The Maxwell Inn was clean & comfortable, and a quick walk into town, just what we were looking for! Dana & Pete made our stay wonderful ... they were able to recommend places to hike, eat, & seek medical attention. We would definitely stay there the next trip we make to Estes Park.
Glad to hear they stayed dry during the flood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you two for spending your holiday vacation at The Maxwell Inn. Part of what we love about this business is recommending great sights to see, things to do and places to eat. It's reassuring to hear that we were able to suggest some great things to make your trip complete, besides the part about how to get to the Medical Center. We look forward to the next time you make it out this way, I'm sure we will be able to recommend more "must sees" of Estes Park!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I stayed 1 night at the Maxwell Inn. I unfortunately was in Estes Park to perform environmental testing after the flood. But was fortunate enough to find the Maxwell Inn. What a great place to stay. The owners are friendly and the room clean. If your are in Estes Park and looking for a place to stay, this is it. This was my first time in Estes Park but will bring my family back here on vacation. And The Maxwell Inn is where we will stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Wow, Ray, Thank you for the glowing review! We are sorry that the flood is what brought you to Estes Park, but are glad that you enjoyed your brief stay at The Maxwell Inn. Hopefully when you return with your family, you will be able to enjoy all that Estes and the Rocky Mountain National Park have to offer. We look forward to meeting the rest of your family and being able to recommend places to go and things to see in town. Best wishes to you while you are working in Colorado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, TN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We spent a week at the Maxwell Inn in Sept. of 2013. Dana and Pete (owners) did a remarkable job of taking care of us. We had some particular needs and they went out of their way to accomodate us. The Inn is great and the community and surrounding National Park is the best. The Inn is minutes from the National park entrance, the wildlife viewing is the most incredible we've experienced anywhere in the U.S. We can't say enough about the Maxwell Inn. We recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Some rooms have A/C and some don't. They seldom need A/C but if you're there during the hott...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Cary - It was great to meet you two! It's too bad your trip got cut short, like a few others, because of the weather. On the other hand, now you'll just have to come back to finish your trip! We enjoyed offering ideas and, as usual, liked being able to help you explore Estes and make the most of your time here. A/C for all rooms is on our list for this upcoming Winter, so hopefully it will make it easier to pick out which rooms to stay in, or maybe harder to pick a favorite! Take care, and thanks for writing a review for other travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sappington, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed 3 nights before we had to evacuate because of the flooding. We could not have been happier with our stay here. The room had everything we needed to be comfortable. The Inn is in a great location with a short walk or drive if you prefer to town and the owners were so helpful with restaurant recommendations. I had never stayed at a small inn before and could not be more pleased with it. The owners are such a nice young couple who just happen to be from our home town. We booked the Inn based on reviews from trip advisor and they were sooo right. I understand they did not have any water damage from the floods so I would recommend you book your trip before they fill up. We will certainly stay there again if our travels take us back to Estes Park. Thank you again Dana and Peter for your hospitality!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
We stayed dry! Thanks for the kind words. Usually TripAdvisor reviews can give you a pretty good idea of what to expect, and we're glad they helped you make a solid choice! Before this, my wife and I had always stayed at chains as well. Being able to really make something "your own" makes a world of difference, we believe. It was a pleasure meeting you two, helping you with your vacation, and hope that you can make it back out this way again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We walked to the Maxwell Inn from downtown to see what time we could check in. Even though check in wasn't for a few hours, the nice young man said our room should be ready in about 30 minutes and that he would text us at that time. That was very helpful! We walked back downtown and was able to check in not much later. He was also very helpful with restaurant recommendations and area info. The next morning they had a nice continental breakfast and both him and his wife were very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable and it is an easy walk to downtown. There was also a pizza/ deli place across the street but we didn't get a chance to try it.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Tina thanks for sharing your feedback on our Inn. We really do try to make your stay personal, and make ourselves available for any sort of advice you'd need! You guys were here right before our historic rainfall, so when you come back, it may look a little different! Folks really enjoy walking into town, and a comfortable room with personal touches seems to make the whole experience "warmer" than the standard chain hotel experience. Please visit us again soon and thank you again for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

All the reviews were "spot on" Great place to stay while in Estes Park. Convenient walk to town, very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the free standing unit #21 in front of the Inn. Very quiet, nice sitting area outside. Owners were very helpful with our questions and tips on where to dine, play golf, hike, etc. Hope Estes Park area recovers soon!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaxwellInn, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Gary Thanks for writing about our Inn! 21 is a special unit, being set apart, not really spacious, but comfortable for sure. We're glad you two enjoyed your time up here and that the recommendations were spot on. Being able to walk to town is really incredible when you think of how nice the walk is and that you don't have to fight traffic or parking downtown. You did make it out just before the rain, which is an added bonus because there was A LOT! Take care and visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#3 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Inn is minutes from downtown, only three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. Breakfast includes coffee, juice, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and granola bars, and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.