We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Maxwell Inn
553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unbelievable customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Maxwell Inn during our trip through Rocky Mountain National Park. We decided to stay there due to the ratings we had seen on trip advisor. The night we arrived, the owners personally greeted us and then proceeded to get candy out for each of our kids. They were genuinely interested in us, and seemed very focused on ensuring that we had the best stay possible. We go on a lot of road trips, and have stayed in a lot of places throughout the United States, but we have never experienced such a great combination of nice furnishings, friendly and accommodating staff, beautiful surroundings, etc. I give the Maxwell in top marks for value and customer service. When we come back through CO, we know where we will stay!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Mackay Family - Thanks for staying with us this month! We really have tried to make our place different and unique and we're glad you liked it. You all were the first of our guests this year to see a bear outside of the park - which is something I'm sure you'll remember for quite a while! Hopefully you can make it back out this way soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    12
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
58
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Was a little hesitant when I made my reservation, but I changed my mind as soon as I arrived. Maxwell Inn is a very unique place. It would be considered a boutique hotel in the big cities. Each room is different. They are small but cozy, and very very clean. Dana and Peter were very helpful when we asked questions. It is in the perfect location we woke up to an elk by our car! And you are so close to the entrance of the park. If I had to think of one thing that they could improve on it would b to have 2 chairs in room 16 and 2 bars of soap.

Room Tip: We were in 16 and it is perfect for 2 people. It was the last room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you both for staying with us, and writing a review! Thanks for the suggestion on the room, as well. We're continuously tweaking bits and pieces around here. Extra seating can be accomplished, so I'll put it on the list! Our location does a pretty good job of putting you close to downtown and the park as well, while still keeping you out of the traffic! If I had one suggestion for you two, stay longer next time - it was great meeting you! Thank you again and come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I spent an extended 4th of July 2013 weekend in Estes Park and randomly picked The Maxwell Inn due to its great reviews on Trip Advisor. We made an excellent choice. This motel is small and quaint and the owners are very nice and hospitable. They will do anything to accommodate you during your stay. This is a newly renovated motel and the decor is very nice. The location is great and a free trolley stops right in front of the motel to take you around town. We missed breakfast one morning and the owner took the time to make sure we got something to eat. We will definitely stay at this place again. Thanks Maxwell Inn for making our stay in Estes Park an enjoyable one.

Room Tip: nice and quiet place
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
It was really nice to meet you two, and I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and time in Estes! Ensuring you enjoy breakfast is pretty simple - we really do anything we can to accommodate our guests! We're happy that you enjoyed the room and the location as well... a quick walk to town or the free trolley really make it ideal... close, but away from the packed parking lots and occasional traffic backup! Thank you again for reviewing the Inn, and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graham
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We read great reviews on tripadvisor and grabbed the last room available on our way to Montana. The owner-operators were very nice and helpful and seemed genuinely glad we were there. The answered questions patiently and gave excellent advise on site-seeing and dining. The sandwich shop across the street is excellent as well. We will definitely stay here again. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review and adding the picture of your room! We do really enjoy giving advice and hearing feedback on places that folks visit. So much of your vacation is the time you spend away from our Inn, it's great to know that you enjoyed your time here and the things you were able to experience around Estes as well. Come visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC area
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed in Maxwell Inn for two nights, The staff outdid themselves in opening the hot tub, providing breakfast and maintaining clean, attractive rooms. I constantly asked for directions and recommendations for both hikes and dining and the staff constantly outdid itself.

I highly recommend Maxwell Inn.

Room Tip: By rating the swimming pool as excellent, I was rating the hot tub by proxy. I can't find enoug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
It was great having your family stay with us. I enjoyed your insight on the local restaurants you tried - even if it meant a "real" New York critique of our local Italian favorite! Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn - we're glad that we could be the stepping off point for your vacation and that everything was just right for you. The Hot Tub has certainly been a favorite... there's no better way to relax at the end of the day. Quality time away from cell phones, work, etc - it's nice to relax with the family! The next time you come out West, look us up!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

There is only one motel in Estes Park, Colorado. It is called the Maxwell Inn. Ani and I stayed there recently for our 20th wedding anniversary. The next time we visit Estes Park we will stay there again. It’s not that there really aren’t any other motels to choose from but that we see no reason to try any others. Dana and Peter Maxwell made us feel right at home; like we were family. Dana brought out my favourite Honey Nut Cheerios from her own kitchen when I didn’t see anything in the cereal selection I liked. The Maxwell’s presented us with 20 long stemmed red roses during our stay. We have never ever had such personable and devoted attention from an innkeeper anywhere! The facilities are newly renovated, incorporating a woodsy mountain flavour on the exterior and in our room a 1940-1960s style in the interior. (We stayed in Room 3; each room is a little different from the next.) Of course the big screen TV and microwave oven don’t fit in but who wouldn’t be willing to sacrifice 100% period authenticity for those items? The same goes for the tiled bath with an actual medicine cabinet with a place to dispose of those double-edged razor blades! (Remember those?) The shower head and curved bath rod are definitely anachronistic but anyone living in 1950 would have had a pulsing shower head if only they had been invented then. One other welcome anachronism is the multiple WIFI routers which guarantee that no matter which room you are in, you have excellent strong and speedy Internet access. Located on West Elkhorn, the free trolley stop is right next door but the walk to downtown shops is no more than 10 minutes on a paved pathway following the creek. Visiting Estes Park at any time of the year is a delight; now we have another stay at Maxwell Inn to look forward to as well!

Room Tip: Each room is a little different so carefully pick the one that suits you best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Gil - Our building has some history to it, and we love it when guests take the time to notice those details. For the most part, we have attempted to keep the integrity of the updated portion as well as the three or four rooms that were originally a home built in the 1930's. It was a real pleasure meeting and joking with you and Ani - and we're happy that your time spent here was enjoyable! The next time you want to get away, we'll be here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here (Room 5) on our first trip to Estes and RMNP, and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay! Everything was nice, clean, and comfortable (new beds)! The couple managing the Inn are super nice, it was apparent that they really enjoyed meeting their guests and have a lot of passion for what they do! We visited several cities around Colorado (Glenwood Springs, Denver, Colorado Springs, and Manitou Springs) and stayed at several different hotels, and they are definately the nicest and friendlies people we met on our vacation - it was very refreshing! They recommended great restaurants and even better hikes - I can't wait to stay here again! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Joe - Thanks for the kind words! 17 rooms gives us the ability to try and spend a bit of extra time with our guests and ensure they get everything that they need. It's close to town, but not so close that it's ever really chaotic. Thank you both for staying with us and the next time that Texas heat gets to you, you know where to get away to!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
#2 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Inn is minutes from downtown, only three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. Breakfast includes coffee, juice, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and granola bars, and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.