We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On The Way to RMNP” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Maxwell Inn
553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
denver, colorado
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“On The Way to RMNP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fully remodeled by energetic young couple. Great hosts and attention to guests.
View from balcony of Longs Peak and around. Easy walk to town along the river.
Minutes from entrance to Rocky Mountain National Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Customer Service can really make or break a stay. We're not the newest building in town, or the biggest, but we try to provide clean, comfortable lodging with plenty of personalized touches. Thank you for the review and please come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
32
40
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Maxwell Inn is a great place to getaway from the hustle and bustle of life and to experience the peace of the Rocky Mountains. The small inn experience was very relaxing and the newly renovated rooms are clean and comfortable. Our hosts--the owners, Dana and Peter--made us feel right at home and were available to help us plan our activities in Estes Park. The Maxwell Inn is a great value and is in a very convenient location. This was the perfect place to start our first Colorado vacation—a Rocky Mountain high note. Thank you, Dana and Peter!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Ron - I hope the rest of your trip went as well the first part! It was great meeting you two and hope that our insight on local activities kept you busy and made some great memories. One of the best parts about running an Inn is meeting all sorts of folks and truly trying to make a difference during their stay. Thanks again for the review, and we look forward to seeing you two again if you head out this way in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The location, accommodations, and guest service was phenomenal! Everything from the treat on the pillow to the free DVD library made me feel very much at home. We stayed at the Stanley Hotel in December and if I had to choose between the two, I would choose the Maxwell Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Angie it was a real pleasure working with you and your family! We try to make sure every stay is ideal and enjoyable! Whereas we certainly don't deliver the "Weston" experience (very predictable, etc), we have our own version of a unique and inviting décor. Most folks, yourselves included, have really enjoyed our small Inn. Thank you for taking the time to review us, and we can't wait to host your family again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Calhoun, NE
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

After looking at several places in Estes, I chose the Maxwell Inn and I couldn't have made a better choice. This place is newly remodeled and it is beautiful and welcoming!! The mattresses and pillows are extremely comfortable. My daughter loved the huge, soft bathroom towels and said they could soak up the Big Thompson river! The new owners are young, energetic, sweet people and will do anything for you. They offer a great continental breakfast, including oatmeal and yogurt. The location is great and just a short walk to town. We would definitely stay there again!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 19 and had a little table and chairs and a bench just outside our room and would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our Inn! The Hummingbird feeders, as well as soft towels, are two things we get pretty consistent feedback on, and I'm glad you appreciated them! It was a pleasure visiting with you and your family and we're happy that you enjoyed your time here in Estes Park. We look forward to seeing you again!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The owners are delightful--very helpful and just really nice. The location is excellent--close enough to town to walk (and the walk is along the river away from the highway for almost all the way), and four miles from the Fall River entrance to Rocky Mountain national park. The room (#11) is very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again! A great value too. Continental-style breakfast (cereal, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, tea) is included.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn. We have tried to make our Inn "One of a Kind" - and are glad you appreciated it! It was a pleasure visiting with you two. We would be pleased to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Nice place. Decent Price. Excellent location within walking distance of downtown. Breakfast is a little light for a big day of hiking. The room was a little dark. The people go out of their way to be helpful and are very friendly. We would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review on our Inn! We've ordered a few (well, more than a few, really) floor lamps for some of our rooms based on feedback, and after reading this, room 6 will be one of the first to get one! Some folks like the cozy feel of our rooms, but if you want it bright at night, you'll appreciate the lamps that we've added! Our breakfast is perfect for an on-the-go guest (very well stocked with Otis Spunkmeyer muffins (banana, chocolate, and blueberry), Quaker oatmeal (maple, apple/cinnamon, plain, and cinnamon/spice), fresh fruit (apples, oranges, bananas), Kellog's cereal (variety), Dannon Oikos greek yogurt, a variety of Nature Valley granola bars, milk, orange juice, bottled water to take on hikes and around town, Maxwell House coffee and all the Bigelow tea you could possibly ever want!), but if you want a full hot breakfast with all the fixins, we're happy to recommend a couple restaurants that are within walking distance! Thank you for staying with us and we can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The Maxwell Inn is THE place to stay in Estes Park. Peter and Dana are incredible! They totally know what it means to sweat the small stuff. Upon our arrival, Dana handed us some chocolate covered pretzels from a local shop (smart move, Dana) and then treats for both of our daughters. Our oldest daughter is so tickled with her new toothbrush that she would sleep with it if we let her. Dana walked us to our room and then asked us if we needed/wanted a pack-n-play for our 7 month old. We said we would be good without one, but she re-assured us to just ask if we changed our minds. Every improvement they made to the hotel (formerly the Mountain Sage Inn) was done with detail and the comfort of the guest in mind. In the morning I had a chance to chat with Peter and Dana while I filled a plate with complimentary breakfast items...total class acts! If you are in Estes and need a place to call "home" for the night, stay at The Maxwell Inn. Great value, super clean, and very professional!
Thanks for a great getaway, Peter and Dana!

Room Tip: The entire hotel has been renovated. Every room has new beds, new paint, new REAL wood doors and tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Matt, Thanks for taking the time to post your feedback. I'm happy the little ones enjoyed their gifts! We've done a lot to improve on the Inn, and it's great to know that it shows, that you noticed pretty much all of the little details that we set out to make sure our Inn was one of a kind. We look forward to seeing you again - and again, thank you for the input and we're glad that your trip was a great one!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park
Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, Rocky Mountain National Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Rocky Mountain National Park > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Inn is minutes from downtown, only three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. Breakfast includes coffee, juice, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and granola bars, and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.