We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maxwell Inn

Save Saved
You added The Maxwell Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Maxwell Inn
553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Friday Movie on the Patio
Ranked #1 of 29 hotels in Estes Park
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed in Room #3 on May 18, 2013 while visiting Rocky National Park for two days. I selected the hotel from a long list of options because this one's close location to downtown, its price, amenity, and friendly voice when I called and inquired about the Inn. The bed is very comfortable. The place is clean and thoughtfully decorated. They've got a mini-fridge and microwave which come in handy. There are lounge chairs outside for you to sit around. There's also a BBQ place on the property. The couple who owned the place really worked hard to take care of the place and the customers. They were innovative in renovating the hotel and offered good services to me. I have never written a hotel review before. But this time, I felt their friendly service earned a review from me, a happy customer. Their attitude and service really made a difference. I'm not sure how to say it but the couple cares about their customers and their business. If you decide to visit Rocky NP, check out this hotel. You will be pleasantly surprised.
By the way, in the last two weeks while I work in Colorado, I have stayed in Marriott Residence Inn for two weeks, another hotel for two nights during the weekend, and then this place. I have received friendly service from all these places but somehow, this couple made an impression on me. Try their place out if you look for reasonably priced room, good location, and friendly service.

To the couple who owned the place - Keep it up. You guys are awesome. Thanks! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
We were glad to be your choice in Estes Park - it was great visiting with you and I hope that the rest of your trip - without working! - was enjoyable as well. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    126
    13
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
45
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Colorado, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at the Maxwell Inn May 10 and 11, 2013. The room was 1930's updated with perfect painting, carpet, beds, and Mission styled furniture. The color photography on the walls was reminiscent of 1950's Rocky Mountain National Park style and the landscape painting of the mountains and rushing river was awesome. The breakfast was simple and well supplied in a neat, comfortable room. The proprietors are as nice as can be, as well. The owner and her daughter delivered a red rose in a vase for Mother's Day. All in all this place is clean, well kept, conscientiously maintained and the bed was very comfortable. It's close to town to walk. There are elk, deer and big horn sheep literally everywhere. Go for it. It's fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We put a lot of time and effort into the finished product, and we're glad it shows! Thank you for choosing The Maxwell Inn! It was a pleasure talking with you and we hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Good pricing, good location, and personal care by the owners made this stay exceptional. We loved everthing about this place and the couple who runs it. we will stay again and bring friends! There is a pizza place across the street and they are within walking distance of other restaurants. The complimentary chocolate covered preztels were a hit as well! We will be back and will bring friends!

Melissa

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We're so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Estes is a wonderful place to visit... we hope that your stay with us made it just that much better! Thank you for choosing The Maxwell Inn!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

So wow, a lot of great improvements to this place. I stayed here previously when the lesbian couple ran it, not so impressed then. I like the location to shopping and hiking, there is so much to do in close proximity. I checked out all the updates online and decided to give the new place a shot, wow was I impressed! First of all there is no weird hotel smell. I really hate staying places and feel like the smell is still on me when I leave. The rooms are very clean, I inspect everything when I first stay in a hotel; behind the bed, under the mattress, the glass ware, everything. I am a germaphobe and this place was clean. The bedding was very soft and comfortable. The mattresses were not to hard, not to soft, just right. The breakfast had a good selection of food, again I am picky about food. The staff was friendly and I was not creeped out by them like the last couple that owned the place previously. I enjoyed going back to the hotel at the end of a long day, relaxing in the hot tub and then winding down with a movie because there was a dvd player in the room and they provided dvd selections. The views from the hotel were beautiful and even got some great photos of sunrises/sunsets and wildlife. It was so easy to sleep with how quiet and peaceful the surroundings are. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We enjoyed having you and your husband staying with us. We always enjoy meeting fellow Cardinal fans! Thanks for choosing The Maxwell Inn and thank you for your kind words about our Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Great getaway destination! They did quite the extensive renovation and really paid attention to all of the details. From the not-too-squishy beds to the new duvets, pillows and carpet, you can really tell that the innkeepers care about the place. Speaking of the innkeepers, they're so accomodating. They were warm and welcoming to my entire family and even had a "present" for my little one upon arrival!

Location - Just a short walk to downtown Estes Park and right next to a little creek for the calming sounds of water on a great vacation!

Check them out!!!!

Room Tip: Upper level rooms provide a great view however the lower level rooms are just as great. For handica...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana M, Owner at The Maxwell Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thanks for spending the weekend at The Maxwell Inn! Most folks underestimate the value of a hot tub at the end of a long day! We enjoyed visiting with you and hope that you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maxwell Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maxwell Inn

Address: 553 W Elkhorn Ave, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Estes Park
#1 Family Hotel in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maxwell Inn is minutes from downtown, only three miles from Rocky Mountain National Park and is centrally located to experience the best Estes Park has to offer. Breakfast includes coffee, juice, muffins, oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and granola bars, and is complimentary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Maxwell Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Sage Hotel
Mountain Sage Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maxwell Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.