We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but for the price...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solitude Cabins

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Solitude Cabins to your Saves list
Solitude Cabins
1885 Sketch Box Lane # 7, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel amenities
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice, but for the price...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Of course, these cabins are in a beautiful location. You'll likely see wildlife right beside your patio. The bathrooms are clean and some of the tubs have jacuzzis, which is great. The beds are decent and the cabins are roomy, depending on how many people you have in your party. There are items like extra sinks and large closets which really help.

However, for the price, the TVs should be more modern (flat-panel at least) and the kitchens should have nicer tables and chairs. Checkout is also at 10 am, which is a little early, in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about Solitude Cabins. We appreciate your honesty. We are trying to work with the individual owners to make the necessary upgrades to TV's and furnishings. We do try to offer late check outs when they are available. If you should stay with us again, please ask.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    13
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
62
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marion, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband, myself, and my parents stayed here for a week and we'll definitely return. We couldn't have asked for a better place. The resort is quiet and you'll definitely see wildlife while you stay here.

We stayed in a two bedroom cabin with one room downstairs, and the other upstairs. They were both spacious with their own bathrooms, and plenty of closet space. Just be aware that the walls are bit a thin and you can hear everything going on very easily. The beds were comfy, the towels were soft, and we had plenty of room for the four of us.

You're close enough to Estes Park, but you're still far enough away to feel like you're in the mountains. If you like to fish you can do so at Lake Estes, or I recommend Mary's Lake. It's not too far from the cabin, easy to find, and you'll definitely find fish there. Just note that when it's cold and overcast the fish will not be biting, so go when it's warm and sunny.

My only "complaint" would be that the deck is not very well lit, so if you plan to grill do so before it gets too dark.

We had a wonderful time and I HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone. We'll definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had reservations at this place,unfortunately we had to cancel due to health issues.I called and cancelled our reservations and later on recieved an mail saying they charged me a $75.00 cancellation fee. I had given them 2 months notice that i was cancelling,i called them and they said thats just their policy. i find that a little bit ridiculous.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
I am sorry you are disapointed in our cancellation policy. We do not "hide" our policy, it was available to you on all of the information we sent you. Regardless of the the number of days or months that you cancel a reservation, we do have a cancellation fee to cover the costs associated with making a reservation. We are not different than most businesses and must, cover our costs.
I did not just say "its our policy" and leave it at that. We would not be that dismissive to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We have stayed in Estes Park for many occasions throughout the last 40 years. We just discovered Solitude Cabins and we will be back. The cabin, 2 bedroom plus a full murphy bed, was cozy and comfortable. There was a fully equipped kitchen, gas fireplace, rain head shower, jacuzzi tub downstairs. The view sold us. We had the most gorgeous view! We had the blinds open the whole time and savored the different light on the mountains. The location was excellent, we ran into town to go to the Safeway for a New York Times every day. The staff (I believe the owner) was so nice. Don't miss this gem.

Room Tip: We were in 1890, excellent view. Don't miss it. I would not recommend this place for more than 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your first stay at Solitude Cabins. We hope to become a new tradition for you!! Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Blown away by the simplicity and style - short drive up form Boulder, needed to get away for a few nights, and seriously this is perfect! Not much to do up here in winter and it's really really cold so we are just hanging out enjoying being here and relaxing - we'll be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
So very glad you found simple pleasures at Solitude Cabins. We try hard to keep it simple and carefree. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just got back from staying at Estes Park with family for Thanksgiving. The cabins were well maintained and staff helpful and knowledgeable about the area. Plenty of room with great views. If you go make sure you go to the Golf Course a little up the road and check out the herd of elk that hang out around the 18th hole every morning.
Cabin was close enough to the activities downtown, but not in the middle of the crowds and noise. Extremely quiet and relaxing.
Have a toddler and so a washer and dryer in the unit were a great bonus. Also close to parks and playgrounds - can walk or easily drive.

Room Tip: Some cabins appear closer together than others. We were in the back of the property which meant we n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Thank you for the great review!! We think our staff is AWESOME as well!! Glad you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We love the location great veiws of twin sisters and longs, Short walk to lake estes trail and long walk or easy bike ride to Kind Coffee one of my favorite estes morning stops. They offer a crock pot dinner on arrival be sure to ask about it. Nothing like the smell of dinner when you arrive and enough food to provide a second meal. Nice two bedrom condos with washer/dryer so you can pack light. Well equipped kitchens beautiful decor and well kept and clean. Management leaves you alone once your in. A bit on th procey side but that is why it is often available for last minute trips. And if you can affor d the price it is really, realy nice. Great for two couples or a small family. Great for cyclist as you can ride into town easily as your just cross the street from the trail to the fairgrounds and the lake.

Room Tip: All pretty nice just visit with management about the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krugboy, Manager at Solitude Cabins, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for the kind review! Glad you enjoyed the crock pot meal. Keep an eye on our website, we are adding some new touches to always try and enhance your visits with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solitude Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solitude Cabins

Address: 1885 Sketch Box Lane # 7, Estes Park, CO 80517
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solitude. Not just a name, it’s a feeling you get! Enjoy the rustic mountain feeling with all the comforts of a new luxury vacation home. Sleeping for 6 with 2 master suites, premium linens, fully equipped kitchen, living room, queen sofa sleeper, gas fireplace, washer & dryer, deck with gas grill and patio furniture. For your comfort and safety of wildlife, no pets are allowed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Solitude Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solitude Cabins Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solitude Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.