We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great accommodation close to heart of town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Misty Mountain Lodge

Save Saved
You added Misty Mountain Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Misty Mountain Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   232 E Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reading
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great accommodation close to heart of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

I was looking for a place to stay that was close enough to the centre of Estes Park that would offer parking and a short stroll to the bars and restaurants in this delightful town while not being too expensive. Misty Mountain Lodge seemed to fit the bill and certainly lived up to our expectations.

Right from the moment of arrival we felt right at home with the friendly welcome. We were guided to our cabin (no 15) past the elk munching on the lawn to its location close to the hot tub and nestling against the crag side. There was a comfy lounge area, two good sized bedrooms and a large kitchen with huge fridge. TV and WiFi were also available. The accommodation was perfectly adequate for our needs although I suspect those used to 5* hotel treatment might feel a little less comfortable. To me it was like a home from home.

Misty Mountain Lodge's location is a real plus point. You're just a short stroll from all that Estes Park has to offer and you can park right there in the centre of town.

There's no doubt where I'll be heading if I plan to stay in Estes Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    39
    10
    6
    4
See reviews for
55
56
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

On a 15 day motorcycle trip, this is day 5, Estes Park is pricey. Found this Mom & Pop with a good downtown location. Stayed here for two nights. Rooms were clean and quiet, bathroom shower a little small. Camp fire nightly with smores. Hot tub and friendly proprietors. Very competitive rates. Say HI to Pete.

Room Tip: Even the rooms right on the street are quiet between 10 and 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Loved that the Lodge is within walking distance of downtown. Nice clean room. The hot tub was great after hiking in Rocky Mountain National Park. The owners were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the nightly campfire and the s'mores were a nice touch. We plan on staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Very friendly innkeepers, sort of average room but super location. We stayed five nights and didn't get any room service i.e. vacuuming, clean towels or sheets. Easy access to Rocky Mountain National Park via a side road and yet walkable to the downtown area and grocery stores. Reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

clean, comfortable, wood burning fireplaces all being walking distance (1-2 blks) to downtown Estes. I have stayed here many times and the owners, who operate the place, are extremely friendly and very accommodating.

I highly recommend the Misty Mountain Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just spent Thanksgiving at Misty Mountain Lodge. This was our first stay and we really enjoyed it. The owners were very friendly, helpful and available. We had a cabin with a full kitchen (#14). It was very nicely appointed. The lodge is a short walk to downtown Estes Park. This was a great place to stay if you wanted to go to the Christmas Parade (Friday after Thanksgiving). If you've ever been there you know that the town fills up and if you have to drive to / from it's gridlock. We walked over, had dinner, stepped out to watch the parade and walked back. It was great!

The hot tubs were very inviting; the upper deck one is a great place to watch the stars & town lights at night.

Room Tip: Other than the hot tubs, while there wasn't a 'fitness center', EP is such a walkable to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed at the Misty Mountain Lodge in mid-October. We had a suite and found it to be just what we wanted. It was open and inviting without being overdone and located just one block off the main area of shops in Estes Park. It was great after a day of hiking to be able to walk somewhere for dinner on the days we did not cook in. The kitchen was minimalist and well worn but in keeping with the very reasonable rate that we paid. The owners were helpful and we also bought eggs from their daughter and firewood for the fireplace from their son. We come back to Estes Park every few years and we will definitely stay at this lodge the next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Misty Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Misty Mountain Lodge

Address: 232 E Riverside Drive, Estes Park, CO 80517
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Estes Park
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Specialty Lodging in Estes Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Misty Mountain Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocky Mountain National Park is only 2 miles away. Estes Park is a minute's walk along the Big Thompson River. Prospect Mountain IS the back part of our property. With 60' spruce trees, gas grills, hot tubs, our rooms, suites, and cabins are just a lovely place to hang out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Travelocity so you can book your Misty Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Misty Mountain Hotel Estes Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Misty Mountain Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.